We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Rome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Locanda al Viminale
Ranked #28 of 3,645 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great stay in Rome!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place is great! The man and woman who run the place are super nice and very helpful. The location is super convenient- a few minutes from Termini and just off via Nazionale- and right across from a municipal building (very safe but no sirens!) It was a joy to wake up and look out on the peaceful piazzale. The rooms were spacious and clean, and the wi-fi was good. (A rare treat during our Italian vacation.) I will definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Rome. Thanks for such a great experience!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank haasie406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locanda5, Proprietario at Locanda al Viminale, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
dear Customer
I thank you for the time you have spent with your review and for having made ​​it known how pleasant the view of Piazza del Viminale Interior Minstry and how quiet.it is
Our strategic location for exploring on foot all the most important ancient sites.
We are also proud of the wifi because this is part of all the services that we offer to our guests, trying to continually improve.
Arrivederci a presto
Paolo e Carla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    100
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
196
371
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and couldn't of been in a more idle location. Walking distance from all the attractions in Rome, didn't need to take any transportation. The owners were very hospitable and were there to help with any queries or to give recommendations. The room was great! Clean, cosy and modern. Couldn't give a higher recommendation of this B&B, if your going to Rome and are unsure where to stay... This place is definitely a great choice.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kjcrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locanda5, Proprietario at Locanda al Viminale, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear customer, thank you for the time you have dedicated to us and again made ​​known to others users as Locanda is close to all the most important monuments of Rome, within walking distance.
The time we dedicate to our clients not for duty but for the pleasure of making them feel at home and to give them the best advice for discovering Rome.
Kind regards from all the staff
Paolo and Carla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasay, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the apartment along via nazionale for 4 nights. The location was perfect since it was near the sites like the trevi fountain, pantheon etc. The rooms were spacious enough for 4 people. The beds were comfortable. A/C was included, but the heater wasn't working. The wifi was fast. 2 bathrooms were included. However, we encountered a problem with the water supply. The heating system was not working. The hot and cold water was fluctuating and the water pressure was very weak. We tried asking for assistance, but to no avail, they weren't able to fix it.

Breakfast - the B&B partnered with a cafe two blocks away whose opening time was inconsistent. NO breakfast buffet, only limited to cheese, some cold cuts, 1 piece of bread, coffee and orange juice. So if you have an early tour, I suggest you skip the breakfast.

Staff - very accommodating. They showed us the points of interest that surrounded the B&B, but seemed unsure with their own apartments (we asked if there were english channels, then he said he will check - no english channels btw)

Housekeeping - EXTRA CHARGE, NOT included in the apartment

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locanda5, Proprietario at Locanda al Viminale, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Filipino family , thanks for the review. We are very sorry for any inconvenience . your apartment reservation .
heating works with a thermostat that measures the internal temperature. if it is warm the heating does not work.
we have explained many times how the water mixer hot / cold, obviously you have not understood , but it is very simple.
Breakfast is not included in the apartments . as it is written very clearly in the booking .
L ' apartment has a fully equipped kitchen for breakfast. however, we have offered breakfast in our bar.
Our bar opens every day in the morning at 07 am and closes at 11pm . I do not think a time inconsistent.
L ' apartment is delivered perfectly clean, additional cleaning is charged separately . in our staff we have a Filipina lady that helped a lot for the Filipino family tours of rome, because they did not speak English well. and we explained how it worked on the TV in English.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Traveled with my 14 year old son, and had an interesting time here. The fisrt night we arrived at 11pm and were met at the door by our friendly host, and shown to a lovely bedroom with a small balcony with a lovely view. Breakfast was served in the room.
We were then told, very apologetically, that we should have been put in the apartment we had booked. We returned after a day sight-seeing, to be lead up the road to a massive apartment with kitchen, bedroom, living area and bathroom. This was also great, although if pushed, we probably preferred our original room!
Each room was spotlessly clean and fresh, the welcome from the hots friendly and helpful. There is free, good quality wifi. The location suited us well - a 10 minute walk from the station, 20 minutes to the Colloseum, and a little longer to the Spanish Steps. A Metro Station is 5 mins walk away. Nearby there are restaurants and the main via Nazionale has many shops.
I would recomend Locanda al Viminale to friends and family

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cjtdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2014

My wife found this place for our 10th anniversary and it was excellent.
Very friendly and clean. The location is close to most attractions in Rome we were interested in and to the metro. The neighbourhood is clean and full of nice places to eat.
The hosts were both friendly and helpful. They even let us use a room to refresh before our night flight back home.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

This is a TRULY delightful place to stay in Rome. This was our first visit to Rome and what a lovely introduction to warm and hospitable Italy! The room was spotless and charming...most charming! My teenage son, my college-age daughter, my husband and I were VERY impressed with Carla's kind help and great suggestions for getting around and sight-seeing. The breakfast served in our room (lovely efficiency kitchen accomodations with a cute balcony and outdoor table) was delightful! Perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkiss993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in April 2014, and Carla was a great hostess. The rooms are just perfect, bigger than expected. The bed was very comfortable, even for me at 6' 5". We really enjoyed our stay here and the hosts couldn't help you enough. Breakfast was traditional and plentiful. 10-15 minute walk to Coloseum in one direction, a 5 minute walk to the Metro in another, or a 3 minute walk to the Main Street for a bus every 5 minutes each way. I know it is said a lot, but we WILL stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PCandKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Amaranto Romano
Amaranto Romano
#29 of 3,645 in Rome
380 reviews
Monti
Domus Alberti
Domus Alberti
#37 of 3,645 in Rome
279 reviews
Monti
Salotto Monti
Salotto Monti
#43 of 3,645 in Rome
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
1880 Atypical Rooms
1880 Atypical Rooms
#30 of 3,645 in Rome
253 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
La Piccola Maison
La Piccola Maison
#15 of 3,645 in Rome
822 reviews
Monti
Cardilli Luxury Rooms
Cardilli Luxury Rooms
#34 of 3,645 in Rome
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda al Viminale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda al Viminale

Property: Locanda al Viminale
Address: Piazza del Viminale 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 3,645 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOcanda al Viminale wonderful guest house with rooms for 2/3/4 people. 1 Bedroom apartment for family with private bathroom and kitchen for 4 people. 1 Apartment consists of 2 bedrooms, bathroom and kitchen for 4/6 people. We are close to the main monuments Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, etc ... With the Republic meter in 5 minutes to get to the Vatican (St. Peter). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing