We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful ending to a wonderful trip to Italy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Locanda al Viminale
Ranked #28 of 3,762 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
LA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wonderful ending to a wonderful trip to Italy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a wonderful room with a very private outdoor room attached to ours, where we ate our
breakfast, served in our room. Very pleasant decor - very clean. Cannot say enough about Carla's hospitality. She made our stay very welcoming and comfortable. Per her husband:"Our home is your home during your stay".

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mecoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    94
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
186
362
24
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Couldn't have found a better B&B. Carla and her husband are wonderful and totally accommodating. The room is very clean, modern. The breakfast was very good. They couldn't do enough for us and we hated to leave. It is about a 5 minute walk to the Termini and we also were able to walk to the Forum and Colosseum. It is right around the corner from Via Nazionale and right on a Piazza with the Ministry of the Interior - very centrally located. They also have Wi-Fi in the room, which was much appreciated. It made our visit to Rome perfect.

Room Tip: There are four rooms, three of which we stayed in. One has a balcony over the Piazza and another ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth22222002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed at this B&b for 4 nights recently. 3 nights before a trip to South Italy and one on the way back. If I was assessing the 3 nights it would come out as 4 stars. Good location, fantastic hosts, lovely clean rooms (I had one with a balcony area at the back of the hotel which was quiet). The only negatives were 1) the shower, which went hot and cold 2) the breakfast, whilst adequate, lacked variety over 3 mornings.

So the word of caution...... On the way back, even though I had booked the Viminale, I was lead to a room in a neighbouring hotel - the Mosaic. I had not been warned that my room would not be in the Viminale. This hotel was awful. The room was like a prison cell - no furnishings, no mirror, a nigh light in the room which was so bright I had to cover it with a towel, the shower tray was so small it kept on flooding, ineffective air conditioning. Noisy room (double glazing was poor). The only saving grace was that the bed was comfortable. The proprietors of the Viminale have built an excellent reputation - don't jeopardise it by using this hotel - and at least warn your guests before you use put them in it!

Not withstanding this, I would happily recommend the Viminale.

Room Tip: Make sure that your room is in the Viminale, and not a neighbouring hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locanda5, Proprietario at Locanda al Viminale, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
dear customer thank you for your review, we always accept the suggestions that help us improve. unfortunately we can not change our breakfast because it has a big hit with all our customers.
Sometimes customers ask us the changes that we make,
vegan or vegetarian breakfast.
It 's very important that the customer, during the stay, tell me if there are things they do not like.
occasionally use the rooms on the second floor.
new rooms, with private bathroom and a view of Viminale square.
when I showed the customer the room was pleasantly surprised.he said he like it very much.
I was very surprised of the review ,I can't understand why
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

It is about a 10min walk from Termini - about half cobblestone. It is near the Repubblica metro stop. There is also a full grocery store across the street on Via Nazionale. The hosts are very nice. The room was clean and nicely kept. It looked like there were only 4 rooms. It is located one floor up but there is an elevator. The breakfast was a nice spread of croissants, bread, yogurt, coffee. We never felt unsafe at night coming back. If you are up for walking, then you can easily walk to the Pantheon, Trevi, Spanish Steps, Colosseum. Rome is large and spread out but if you are up for the walk it's nice.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Euro_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed two nights. Our reservation through their website went smoothly and they sent us information on transportation options to get there. We emailed them that we were arriving by train from Sorrento via Naples and they were expecting us at the appointed time upon our arrival. Carla & her husband were delightful hosts. They are very friendly with good travel tips. The B&B is on the first floor of a building from the 1800's. It is located between Republica & Capitoline Hill - not far from Termini. We walked to & from Termini when arriving and leaving. Just a 10-15 min walk. Trevi fountain, the Colosseum, and many great restaurants near the Cavour metro stop are close by. Our room was spacious with a private bath, frescos on the wall/ceiling and a window view. Wifi worked very well. The building faces the Italian Ministry of Interior which includes the police. Facing the police department, we felt very safe in our room. At the time of our choosing, every morning a delightful breakfast was served in our room. With the metro stop at Republica just one long block away, and many buses going along Via Nationale, transportation options were plentiful. Overall, we were very happy that we chose to stay here!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Exactly what you read from the reviews, from big & clean rooms, good location to friendly owners. Rooms similar to the pictures you see on their website. I am particular with cleanliness and the room was very clean-high standard. Water from the tap has a layer of "floater" in Rome, we appreciated the water dispenser in the living room where we can obtain clean drinking water, hot and cold.

Am travelling to Rome for conference at Roma Eventi with hubby for 3 days. Before the trip, I used tripadvisor mobile apps and google map to calculate the distance and travel time between the conference centre and Locanda by foot and decided on Locanda, after reading the good reviews. Walk to conference center takes you only 10 minutes. Wifi was excellent and always reliable, so it was useful for me to access emails for work. Understand from colleague who stayed in hotel near trevi fountain that her wi-fi did not work very well. I have been on work trips in other European countries. Compared to hotels, Locanda B&B was more personal and offered a different experience. Highly recommended for you to stay here if you are going to Roma Eventi Fontana di Trevi Conference Centre at Piazza della Pilotta, if you don't mind a simple breakfast, for the value, quality and warmth hospitality. You can stock up more food from the supermarket nearby.

Carla was friendly and took good care of us, always attentive to our needs. Paolo was helpful and patient. He helped us book and print our tickets to the Vatican Museum so saved us the trouble of queuing. To sum up my experience, it was home away from home. i will recommend Locanda al Viminale to all my friends who travel to Rome. Thank you Carla & Paolo.

Room Tip: Ask Carla if you can have the room with a balcony. It was nice to enjoy the morning breeze there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We are two Australian couples in our 50's who had 3 nights to spend in Rome after touring Sicily and Southern Italy. We were last in Rome three years ago and wished to revisit key monuments and sites such as The Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, the Forum and surrounding ruins and so on. We also had to return a hire car to Termini Station so wanted accommodation nearby if possible. We used to have morning coffee at Piazza Viminale so knew this B&B would be perfectly located – virtually mid-distance between Termini and Trevi Fountain, and one block from the lovely shops on Via Nationale. The rooms at the B&B more than met our expectations, very spacious, spotless, and overlooking Piazza Viminale. The key monuments and city area of Rome are all easy walking distance – and for us this really is the best way to experience Rome and its people, It is also easy to catch the Metro or buses running along Via Nationale to more distance locations such as the Vatican. The owner, Paolo can assist with any directions and is extremely helpful. An added bonus is some lovely restaurants within easy walking distance nearby. Locanda al Viminale is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregAnneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Domus Alberti
Domus Alberti
#45 of 3,762 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Esquilino
Amaranto Romano
Amaranto Romano
#40 of 3,762 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Monti
Salotto Monti
Salotto Monti
#39 of 3,762 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
1880 Atypical Rooms
1880 Atypical Rooms
#25 of 3,762 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
La Piccola Maison
La Piccola Maison
#17 of 3,762 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Trevi
Arpinelli Relais
Arpinelli Relais
#13 of 3,762 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda al Viminale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda al Viminale

Property: Locanda al Viminale
Address: Piazza del Viminale 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 3,762 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOcanda al Viminale wonderful guest house with rooms for 2/3/4 people. 1 Bedroom apartment for family with private bathroom and kitchen for 4 people. 1 Apartment consists of 2 bedrooms, bathroom and kitchen for 4/6 people. We are close to the main monuments Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, etc ... With the Republic meter in 5 minutes to get to the Vatican (St. Peter). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing