We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hosts, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Locanda al Viminale
Ranked #28 of 3,762 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Hosts, Good Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

It is about a 10min walk from Termini - about half cobblestone. It is near the Repubblica metro stop. There is also a full grocery store across the street on Via Nazionale. The hosts are very nice. The room was clean and nicely kept. It looked like there were only 4 rooms. It is located one floor up but there is an elevator. The breakfast was a nice spread of croissants, bread, yogurt, coffee. We never felt unsafe at night coming back. If you are up for walking, then you can easily walk to the Pantheon, Trevi, Spanish Steps, Colosseum. Rome is large and spread out but if you are up for the walk it's nice.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Euro_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    94
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
186
362
24
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed two nights. Our reservation through their website went smoothly and they sent us information on transportation options to get there. We emailed them that we were arriving by train from Sorrento via Naples and they were expecting us at the appointed time upon our arrival. Carla & her husband were delightful hosts. They are very friendly with good travel tips. The B&B is on the first floor of a building from the 1800's. It is located between Republica & Capitoline Hill - not far from Termini. We walked to & from Termini when arriving and leaving. Just a 10-15 min walk. Trevi fountain, the Colosseum, and many great restaurants near the Cavour metro stop are close by. Our room was spacious with a private bath, frescos on the wall/ceiling and a window view. Wifi worked very well. The building faces the Italian Ministry of Interior which includes the police. Facing the police department, we felt very safe in our room. At the time of our choosing, every morning a delightful breakfast was served in our room. With the metro stop at Republica just one long block away, and many buses going along Via Nationale, transportation options were plentiful. Overall, we were very happy that we chose to stay here!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Exactly what you read from the reviews, from big & clean rooms, good location to friendly owners. Rooms similar to the pictures you see on their website. I am particular with cleanliness and the room was very clean-high standard. Water from the tap has a layer of "floater" in Rome, we appreciated the water dispenser in the living room where we can obtain clean drinking water, hot and cold.

Am travelling to Rome for conference at Roma Eventi with hubby for 3 days. Before the trip, I used tripadvisor mobile apps and google map to calculate the distance and travel time between the conference centre and Locanda by foot and decided on Locanda, after reading the good reviews. Walk to conference center takes you only 10 minutes. Wifi was excellent and always reliable, so it was useful for me to access emails for work. Understand from colleague who stayed in hotel near trevi fountain that her wi-fi did not work very well. I have been on work trips in other European countries. Compared to hotels, Locanda B&B was more personal and offered a different experience. Highly recommended for you to stay here if you are going to Roma Eventi Fontana di Trevi Conference Centre at Piazza della Pilotta, if you don't mind a simple breakfast, for the value, quality and warmth hospitality. You can stock up more food from the supermarket nearby.

Carla was friendly and took good care of us, always attentive to our needs. Paolo was helpful and patient. He helped us book and print our tickets to the Vatican Museum so saved us the trouble of queuing. To sum up my experience, it was home away from home. i will recommend Locanda al Viminale to all my friends who travel to Rome. Thank you Carla & Paolo.

Room Tip: Ask Carla if you can have the room with a balcony. It was nice to enjoy the morning breeze there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We are two Australian couples in our 50's who had 3 nights to spend in Rome after touring Sicily and Southern Italy. We were last in Rome three years ago and wished to revisit key monuments and sites such as The Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, the Forum and surrounding ruins and so on. We also had to return a hire car to Termini Station so wanted accommodation nearby if possible. We used to have morning coffee at Piazza Viminale so knew this B&B would be perfectly located – virtually mid-distance between Termini and Trevi Fountain, and one block from the lovely shops on Via Nationale. The rooms at the B&B more than met our expectations, very spacious, spotless, and overlooking Piazza Viminale. The key monuments and city area of Rome are all easy walking distance – and for us this really is the best way to experience Rome and its people, It is also easy to catch the Metro or buses running along Via Nationale to more distance locations such as the Vatican. The owner, Paolo can assist with any directions and is extremely helpful. An added bonus is some lovely restaurants within easy walking distance nearby. Locanda al Viminale is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregAnneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed here with my wife 4 nights and found this property to be perfect for our needs since it is close to termini (about 10 minute walk) and also within walking distance to many of the main sites we were visiting (Colosseum is 15 min. walking). The only place we took the metro to was the Vatican Museums from the Repubblica station which is 5 min from this B&B. Also, it faces the small Piazza del Viminale and it feels very safe at all times as it was at every place we went in Rome.
The B&B I believe has 4 rooms but I can only speak for the one I stayed at, which has a lovely balcony facing the piazza where we were trying to have breakfast every day although the rain forced us otherwise. This room has a good size especially for Europe and was clean and kept up to date with a nice bathroom and A/C. It is also soundproofed and the noise from the street did not bother me at all. You will have free Wi-Fi that works perfectly.
There is breakfast served in your room every morning at the time you request, this is a nice touch from the owners that gives an upscale feeling to your stay.
And finally Carla and Paolo, they are the nicest people you could find and will help you with anything you need. They gave us directions and tips to several places from big historic sites to small pizzerias or supermarkets and more importantly, I felt they were available for us in case anything would go wrong. They are hands down what makes this B&B so special.
My wife and I just can’t wait to go back.
Thanks Carla and Paolo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location, just two blocks from the main train station, easy walking distance to Trevi Fountain, the Spanish Steps, the Pantheon, the Colosseum, and many other of Rome's best attractions. The rooms are comfortable, impeccably clean, air conditioned, and nicely decorated. Only four guest rooms, each with their own bathroom, one with a balcony looking out over the piazza in front of the building. The owners live in the same property, and are always there if you have a question, to help with reservations, to make suggestions. They are *really* wonderful and helpful. Much less than you would pay at a hotel, and completely comparable to what you would get at a large tourist hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the balcony. Very nice for enjoying breakfast (which is included in the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AWCCWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I traveled with my wife to Rome and found this property perfect for our needs. Walking distance to many areas. Paolo and Carla were great with recommendations. The air conditioner, breakfast and rooms were great. I would recommend this property for anyone and will stay there on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bart k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Domus Alberti
Domus Alberti
#45 of 3,762 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Esquilino
Amaranto Romano
Amaranto Romano
#40 of 3,762 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Monti
Salotto Monti
Salotto Monti
#39 of 3,762 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
1880 Atypical Rooms
1880 Atypical Rooms
#25 of 3,762 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
La Piccola Maison
La Piccola Maison
#17 of 3,762 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Trevi
Arpinelli Relais
Arpinelli Relais
#13 of 3,762 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda al Viminale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda al Viminale

Property: Locanda al Viminale
Address: Piazza del Viminale 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 3,762 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOcanda al Viminale wonderful guest house with rooms for 2/3/4 people. 1 Bedroom apartment for family with private bathroom and kitchen for 4 people. 1 Apartment consists of 2 bedrooms, bathroom and kitchen for 4/6 people. We are close to the main monuments Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, etc ... With the Republic meter in 5 minutes to get to the Vatican (St. Peter). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing