We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Locanda al Viminale
Ranked #28 of 3,762 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rosario, Argentina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is my first time reviewing a place and it really deserves it. We stayed 3 nights as from June 21 and I'm glad we chose this B&B.
It offers everything a traveller can possibly need, with the personal touch of the owners. Kind, helpful people who are there to help you reserve taxis, tickets so as not to queue to come into the different attractions and more.
The room: very clean, huge, full of light, enchanting balcony, fantastic air conditioning, very quiet. Huge bed, very comfortable and I'm not an easy person when it comes to beds!
The breakfast: more than what you can have in the morning, and delicious.
Location: easy walk to the Colisseum , Santa Maria Maggiore and Fontana di Trevi. Supermarket a block away. Metro nearby.
I highly recommend it. You get great value for your money and have a great stay. If I ever have the luck to go back, I won;t even waste a second looking for somewhere else to stay.
Thanks Carla and Paolo for helping us makie our stay in Rome an unforgettable one!

Room Tip: If 104 is free, don't miss it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elisa_Castan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    94
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
186
362
24
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed at the B&B with my wife in May 2013. Was greeted by the owners upon our arrival at the B&B ;) our room was already tidy up n ready for our arrival. We got a quick intro of Rome, places to go, suggested intineries from the very friendly n helpful owners ;) bedrooms are clean, wifi, shower, etc. the best thing, we even had bf delivered to our rooms every morning!! All in all, great value! Friendly owners, clean rooms. Will definitely go back to locanda B&B for my next visit ;)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hijacker9173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed with Paolo and Carla for 5 nights in late May. The room was spacious with a small table that we had breakfast at each morning. Bathroom was compact as you would expect in Italy.
The place was clean and well kept. Great central location and we walked to most attractions.
Easy walk to Republica Metro station and Termini station.
Both Carla and Paolo were very helpful with locations and booked our Vatican visit for us.
While we were there, the old timber windows were replaced with new double glazed windows that when closed provided excellent sound insulation. Definitely recommend this B&B for Rome visitors.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locanda5, Proprietario at Locanda al Viminale, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
it was a real pleasure for us to meet you and have you as our guests
thanks for the nice review. hope to see you again to confirm what you have said about us. Ciao Paolo and Carla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in the mini apartment on Via Nazionale for 3 nights. The apartment itself was superb, very well decorated and incredibly clean. Both the main bedroom and the bathroom were spacious, with high ceilings and lots of light. As reflected in the other reviews on Trip Advisor both Carla and her husband were welcoming and very helpful.

Breakfast is not included with the mini apartment and it does not have a kitchen area, but there is a fridge that Carla had stocked with milk, orange juice and jams, and a kettle with both coffee and tea provided. There is also a De Spar shop on the Via Nazionale (approx 5 minutes’ walk from the apartment) to pick up supplies.

The location of the apartment is good in terms of accessing the sites, with the Vatican a few stops on the metro and all other sites within walking distance. There are also various buses although we didn't use these. It is also only a 5 – 10 minute walk from the train station and I’d recommend contacting Carla in advance to ask where to meet.

My only comment is that the mini apartment is not in a quiet location. The Via Nazionale is a busy road and the traffic noise is noticeable in the room. For the most part we were fortunate to sleep through this, but I wouldn't recommend the mini apartment to a light sleeper. The main building in the Piazza del Interior Ministry seemed much quieter when we visited, and so if we returned to Rome I would try to stay in one of the B&B rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinC766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We've just returned from a four night stay here and cannot fault the hotel having picked it following good reviews on Trip Advisor.
We arrived late evening for a warm welcome from Carla and her husband. Our room and bathroom was kept spotlessly clean and was large and roomy. I'd requested a room with a balcony and was not disappointed. Our room was on the street front and we enjoyed our breakfast out on the balcony each morning watching the world go by. The windows are sound proofed and when closed completely block out any noise, although at night we found it it be a very quiet area.
Breakfast is served in your room each morning at a time to suit you and Carla was happy to accommodate our requests for a early breakfast when we wanted to make a early start.
The B&B is in a great location and we walked to all the sights easily, apart from the Vatican which we hopped on the Metro to. The Metro station is only a five minute walk away.
Carla patiently answered all our questions and requests for directions as well as providing recommendations of places to eat. (We highly recommend Est Est Est just round the corner for dinner, we eat there twice)
I'd also recommend requesting a taxi transfer through Carla, which is actually a private driver and nice Mercedes, very pleasant way to travel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locanda5, Proprietario at Locanda al Viminale, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
thanks for the nice and detailed review .
Our aim is that our guests have a pleasant holiday away from problems.
Our last change, soundproof windows all, to make the pleasant sleep.
we hope to see you again our guests if you visit again our beautiful Rome.
we will be delighted to give you more good advice
Ciao Paolo and Carla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We could not have wished for a better place to stay, and the breakfast delivered to the room was a very nice bonus. The room was very clean, with no frills but all the comfort you may need.
The piazza on which it is located is not very exciting but just about all major monuments are well within walking distance.
During our stay the balcony doors in our room were replaced (with no hassle for us whatsoever!) by soundproof ones. So the noisy road outside didn't bother us at night (and just try to find a place in Rome without noise!).
Carla is a very good host, she made us feel at home immediately, and provided us with tips and suggestions (like probably the best pizzarestaurant in Rome, which I keep secret here).
One little minus: mixing hot and cold in the shower was bothersome, but Carla told us that will be fixed soon as well. So in short: one of the nicest places we have stayed in in the last few years and a great place to relax after many hours of exploring Rome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our stay in Rome was delightful due to our hosts Paulo and Carla. Advice on resturants, faciliting ticket purchases and accomidation of special needs for breakfast were just a part of their gracious hospitality. The last day we had to leave for the airport very early so I told Carla not to worry about breakfast. Imagine my surprise to see Carly with coffee and a lovely breakfast tray. Paulo and Carla anticipated and provided for all our needs. Available resources included guidebooks and umbrellas. Their attention to details made our stay special. They are an engaging, energetic and personable couple. The location is also central to all the sites. We were able to walk to everything. I give Locanda al Viminale my highest recommendation!

Room Tip: We loved our room with a balcony. We had a glass of wine and people watched.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Domus Alberti
Domus Alberti
#45 of 3,762 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Esquilino
Amaranto Romano
Amaranto Romano
#40 of 3,762 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Monti
Salotto Monti
Salotto Monti
#39 of 3,762 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
1880 Atypical Rooms
1880 Atypical Rooms
#25 of 3,762 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
La Piccola Maison
La Piccola Maison
#17 of 3,762 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Trevi
Arpinelli Relais
Arpinelli Relais
#13 of 3,762 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda al Viminale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda al Viminale

Property: Locanda al Viminale
Address: Piazza del Viminale 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 3,762 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOcanda al Viminale wonderful guest house with rooms for 2/3/4 people. 1 Bedroom apartment for family with private bathroom and kitchen for 4 people. 1 Apartment consists of 2 bedrooms, bathroom and kitchen for 4/6 people. We are close to the main monuments Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, etc ... With the Republic meter in 5 minutes to get to the Vatican (St. Peter). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing