We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great until the final night....!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Locanda al Viminale
Ranked #26 of 3,620 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great until the final night....!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have just returned from our eventful break in Rome.

We had booked Locanda for 3 nights. At the time of booking we knew that we would have to switch rooms on the final night as the double room was not available for more than 2 nights when we booked. We therefore booked to stay in a more expensive room (Via Nationale) for 120 euros.

On arrival, we were greeted by the owners who were helpful and professional. They helped me book train tickets to Naples and printed out the e-mail confirmation. The room was clean and spacious. The fridge was handy as was the hairdryer in the bathroom. However, we would have liked a kettle in the room. The breakfast was really nice and we enjoyed the croissants, yoghurt and tea. The location was great and we had no major complaints. A great tripadvisor reviews was on the cards....

Then it all turned sour unfortunately. We returned from Naples on the final night at 11pm as our train was delayed and we decided to grab a bite to eat before we returned to the hotel. I became quite confused when I was told that we would be staying elsewhere and would have to have breakfast at this new place. I had assumed we were just switching rooms in the same b&b. We were taken to a 3* hotel called Hotel Paris by the owner. We were distraught when we went into the dark dingy room. It was awful- dirty and smelly. The shower was mouldy, there was hair in the bed and the bed covers were stained (looked like blood on them). The Wifi did not work. Having paid 120 euros for the nicer room at the time of booking, you can imagine we weren't best pleased. So we went back to Locanda and the owner took us back to Hotel Paris where we were shown 2 further rooms, which were as unappealing as the first horrible room. I asked why we couldn't stay in the room we had booked and was told "there's a problem with the room". He would not say further than that.

Anyway, we were tired and fed up. It was after midnight and it was now officially my birthday- what a great present! We refused to stay there and asked for our money back. The way we saw it, staying the night at the airport would be better than this. Check out the tripadvisor reviews for Hotel Paris to decide if you would stay there (with the insects in the bed, poor service, rubbish breakfast and crap shower!) We were given our money back thankfully and that was the end of it.

Luckily we didn't need to leave the city as the first hotel we randomly walked into (IQ hotel) had no rooms but the receptionist found us a room at their sister hotel - Hotel Artemide, a 4* amazing hotel which is rated in the top 10 hotels in Rome on tripadvisor. We were given the room at a great price with breakfast included and the holiday ended on a high.

We were left really disappointed by the way we were treated by the owners. They had not told us that the room we had booked was no longer available and that we would have to stay in a substandard hotel instead. We were not offered a hotel of the same quality or standard as Locanda and were not offered a discount/some money back. Maybe they thought 2 young women would not cause such a fuss but I am glad we did.

It could have ended badly for us but luckily it didn't thanks to the kindness and efforts of the man who arranged for us stay in the beautiful hotel on our final night. We can never thank him enough.

Would I recommend Locanda? Maybe, but check what you are going to get at the time of booking would be my advice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aysha25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locanda5, Proprietario at Locanda al Viminale, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are very sorry for what happened
especially with two Girls Alone
it is not our custom to leave customers without room
it never happened! It is the first time that happens
we had a problem at the room booked from the girls at 5 pm (a problem with bathroom exhaust)
we could not have time to repair
girls returning from the trip to Capri very late, tipsy
we tried another nearby room at the Inn at the hotel,
we moved luggage and at 11 pm we accompanied them on their arrival at the hotel ,
I strongly apologized for what happened
The Paris Hotel is a three star average, I personally checked the room was clean and comfortable
I accompanied the girls to the hotel at 11.00 in the evening and after a half hour I was informed that the room was not to their liking
We show them other two rooms and the suite but no that was fine.
I was very worried to leave two girls alone at midnight without hotel but they insisted to have the money they payed , € 120 , back and went away
We work every day to keep customers happy
It is the first time that happens !
we did not leave our customers alone but we have found an alternative room as required by law
we apologize if the room we got was not to their liking, but certainly not as described by the girls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    98
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
190
365
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a very nice B&B, which would deserve a much higher score if there was a better sound proofing. The noise from outside (traffic) and from inside the building (starting from 6 am, people seemed to drag furniture on the upper floor; also loud voices), made it almost impossible to sleep, even with ear plugs and closed windows. On top of that, the mattress was way too hard. Overall, the sleep quality was horrible. Which is a pity, because the rooms are nicely renovated, breakfast is good (served in your room), and the owners are extremely kind and helpful. Maybe they should invest a little money in double paned windows...

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artedicarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locanda5, Proprietario at Locanda al Viminale, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
thanks for the review
I remember that you was Italian, you should know that in Italy to change the windows in the center of Rome in a historical building, you have to ask the 'authorization to the superintendence of the Fine Arts and takes a long time
Unfortunately I APOLOGIZE and there were jobs to the floor above us that have lasted about 10 days
TODAY
however, the windows have been replaced, now the rooms are soundproofed and are very quiet, and the works have long been terminated
in 2012 have slept with us about 950 customers, and everyone was happy with the mattress-allergenic - surgical -
and only 3 people including you would prefer a soft mattress.
YESTERDAY
we bought a soft mattress
because our daily work is to make our customers feel good
and except you , we receive many compliments
thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
147 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is not a regular hotel, but is a floor of about ?10 rooms in a building that is mostly apartments. So, it's kind of a B&B run on one floor of the building. We were very happy with it. The room is as nice as a moderately priced hotel. Breakfast is fine. The owner, Carla, is very, very nice. She gave us a map and overview of things to do in Rome when we first arrived that is better than any other welcoming orientation that I have received from any other more expensive hotel in Rome. She will also give other tips, help you find transportation and the like. It's only about a 10 minute walk over to the train station and is plenty convenient to other sites and the Metro and busses. I think it is as good as a hotel, more personal, and for a cheaper price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerBobDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Location is 3-4 blocks from the main train station, the hop on buses and lots of shopping. Rooms are beutiful to say the least with 15 foot ceilings. Breakfast in room anytime you want and whatever you want. Very clean and even bedding changed daily. wow, say hi to alice for me. she even got us a great deal on a cab to airport and spoke quite good english. we will return.
The only negative is everything in roma is on a hillside.. And this is no exception. if you are in shape, the colesium, opera,palentine hill and the spanish steps are within walking distance. The secret must be out as when we were leaving 2 rooms were rented that day to cruisers also.

Room Tip: email them if you have any questions, very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas62_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stay at the hotel for 3 nights 8-11.5.13
Carla was just wonderful , very helpful - every question we had - she help(which bus\metro line to use , where there is a good pizza near...) - she is like a grandmother who take care of her grandsons.
the location is about 10 min walk from the train station , and 4 min from the metro of Republic
and 10 min walk to the travi fountain.
the room was just enough from a us - clean bed, hot water ,nice and cozy.

I think this is all you need from a hotel.

next time in Roma I'll return for sure to this hotel .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David123345466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We recently returned from a beautiful three night stay at Loconda al Viminale and were so lucky to have found this place. The room was HUGE for a european room with a lovely view over the adjacent piazza, high ceilings and nice decor. The entire place was very clean and the bathroom was spotless. The location is very convenient to Via Natzionale with all the bus lines you could want, Termini station and Republicca Metro which makes getting around the city very easy. It is also in a very safe area ( the Ministry of the Interior is right there) so we always felt good about coming and going even after midnight.
Our host and hostess were a joy and were helpful. We look forward to returning on our next trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ge0rgesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We recently stayed here for a week, in the wonderful room #104. We loved the sunny balcony because it extends the living area of the room and allows you to watch the activities of everyday life in Rome. As others have stated, the location is great - we walked to all the major points of interest (but the Republicca metro stop is only five minutes away, if your feet get tired). The room is equipped with a small refrigerator, TV, desk area, small table, two chairs, safe, and blow dryer. But most importantly, the room is clean, clean, clean! Not even one dust bunny. And the wifi signal was always strong in both the room and the common area. The common area has a microwave to heat water for tea, which we found very convenient. Breakfast is delivered to your room at the time of your choosing (8am-10am) and consists of beverage, orange juice, yogurt, toast, croissant, ham, and cheese - ample plenty to get you through the morning. Carla and Paolo are the perfect hosts and provide lots of helpful information. Carla arranged for our airport transport (both ways) and the courteous drivers picked us up right on time in clean, well maintained Mercedes vehicles. It's obvious that Carla and Paolo take pride in their property and business. So if you want lodging that is super clean, close to all the sights of interest, and run by owners who really care, then this is the place!

Room Tip: Room 104 has a sunny balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikita50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Domus Alberti
Domus Alberti
#43 of 3,620 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Esquilino
Amaranto Romano
Amaranto Romano
#28 of 3,620 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Monti
Salotto Monti
Salotto Monti
#38 of 3,620 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
1880 Atypical Rooms
1880 Atypical Rooms
#23 of 3,620 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
La Piccola Maison
La Piccola Maison
#17 of 3,620 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Trevi
Arpinelli Relais
Arpinelli Relais
#13 of 3,620 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda al Viminale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda al Viminale

Property: Locanda al Viminale
Address: Piazza del Viminale 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 3,620 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOcanda al Viminale wonderful guest house with rooms for 2/3/4 people. 1 Bedroom apartment for family with private bathroom and kitchen for 4 people. 1 Apartment consists of 2 bedrooms, bathroom and kitchen for 4/6 people. We are close to the main monuments Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, etc ... With the Republic meter in 5 minutes to get to the Vatican (St. Peter). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing