We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antica Dimora de Michaelis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Antica Dimora de Michaelis
Ranked #342 of 3,732 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I liked everything! Great place!
But, a little bed for such a large number and poor sound insulation - from the street could be heard all the sounds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antichedimoreromane, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Antica Dimora de Michaelis, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Ms Jane and Mr Dave,

Thank you for your nice reply! Comments like yours always encourage our efforts!

Our first aim is to satisfy clients needs, and we are proud that you really enjoy your stay with us.

Hoping to see you again at Antica Dimora De Michaelis, we wish you

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    45
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
62
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had a fantastic time staying at the Antica Dimora de Michaelis. The rooms had a lot of character, were very clean and in a great location. We could have stayed in any B&B that looked like it could be anywhere in the world, but with the unique decor we definitely knew we were in Rome! Breakfast was typical Italian fare - croissants, bread, jam/nutella, yoghurt, fruit juice and coffee. You could pay a little extra (50c) for meat or cheese if you wanted.
We had no need of public transport at all during our stay, we walked to the vatican and colosseum and of course the pantheon and piazza navona are incredibly close. There are also some great restaurants tucked away nearby that aren't extortionate (la focaccia and da francesco stood out).
The only slight problem we had was finding our way inside, as the residenza domizia is on the first floor and their receptionist was pretty unhelpful in directing us! There is a private lift you can use but you only get the code once you see someone at the Antica's reception, so once you have been buzzed in the front door climb the stairs straight to the second floor!
All in all this didn't detract from our great stay, would recommend this place to anyone wanting a short stay in Rome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abitetley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

We found the hotel to be excellent the location couldnt have been better, the staff were helpful and the room was different to say the least, the only problem we had was the amount of noise from the street below which made getting a good nights sleep difficult

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank redvers1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

My girlfriend found this hotel through hours of searching the web. The location was superb, in a little side street full of charactor and antic shops, right next to the Plaza Novana, and walking distance to the castle and Vatican city. The room was amazing and without a doubt the most breathtaking room we have every stayed in. we had a huge room with so much charactor from huge paintings, to a throne chair, to our own corridor with telephone and sofa. the condition was fantastic, the staff were brilliant, very helpful and friendly. breakfast was served to us at the time we requested with fresh coffee and tea. I would recommend this hotel to anybody visiting Rome as it is truly a hidden gem filled with so much charactor.

Room Tip: Rooms off the side streets hold so much more charactor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklin, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

I travelled with my sister to Italy. The place was well located near the heart of Plaza Norvana - it was great. Service was great and room very spacious and extremely clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deb2522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

We found this property through a great website - www.b-b.rm.it which has a number of B & B's in Rome. All our dealings with them were handled professionally and courteously and I recommend it to anyone looking for smaller B&B's in Rome.
.
This suite is in a very old building which was once owned by the Vatican. It is part of the Church next door and was used by Priests as somewhere to stay. If you look at the pictures on the website (Cod. 076 Coronari - Navona you will see that the decor is different to say the least. While acknowledging that this isn't to everyone's taste we look for slightly quirky properties when staying in cities and the history and location of the place was a definite plus. The room is a good size for the location and price. The bathroom is adequate though nicely tiled. We would have liked more drawer space if we had been staying longer than 3 days. Free WiFi, TV and an A/C unit which we didn't need. Via Coronari is a typical street in the historic area, something else we liked. Very well positioned for major sites, most within walking distance.

On arrival you need to contact reception which is in a nearby property. Andy came within minutes and checked us in. There is a lift to the second (third if you are from the US) floor. Before you get to the rooms you will know that you are in an old building - don't be put off.
Breakfast is very basic - croissant, slice of bread plus jams and a hot drink. Additional items such as orange juice, ham etc are available at a small supplement which, bearing in ind the reasonable charge for the room we were OK with. Coffee was freshly made outside the rooms and a second cup served with a smile.
Pros: Location, price and atmosphere
Cons: Breakfast very basic,
We would stay here again if revisiting Rome.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LucyRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Antica Dimora delle Cinque Lune
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Coronari Courtyard
Coronari Courtyard
#260 of 3,732 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Casa de'Coronari - Design Rooms Library
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Al Senato
Relais Al Senato
#1,025 of 3,732 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Dulcis in Pantheon
Dulcis in Pantheon
#216 of 3,732 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Dimora de Michaelis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Dimora de Michaelis

Property: Antica Dimora de Michaelis
Address: Via Dei Coronari 14, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 3,732 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Antica Dimora de Michaelis 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Antica Dimora de Michaelis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing