We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for families !”
Review of Bamboo B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bamboo B&B
Ranked #835 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Well, this was the only place in our family trip that we would not go back to.
Very hard to find parking near by, and when you arrive with kids it is not fun to spend 20 min to find garage.
The hosts are very welcoming, very nice, the rooms are big, clean and well designed.
However, the shower is tiny, but the main issue is the fact that in order to get to the shower you have to get out of the room, and move to the shower across the corridor, it is your private WC, but we found it very uncomfortable to see the other guest in underwear on their way to the toilet.
The location is good nearby public transportation, the breakfast is OK.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shemesh6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 154 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

Hallo, my name is Jiannis and i'm from Greece.

First of all i want to say im sooo sorry for writing a review after...2 years but better late then never, right??
About Bamboo B&B i have only good things to say. It is new and VERY clean, it is in a very quiet and lovely, sliglhtly uphill, territory of Rome (not in the centre but not that far away). Also, i liked the breakfast they have and the awesome Italian coffee they made!

The biggest "+" however are the people there. The woman who runs it, Claudia, is very kind and helpful and always with a smile. That goes for her house cleaning lady also...

Many Greetings from Greece, enjoy your stay everyone!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jiannis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had a 7 day great stay, Claudia was wonderful and welcoming. We had our daughter Lily with us, she especially liked the breakfasts.Felt like you were staying with friends rather than an impersonal hotel. We were visiting a friend at the American University so it was very close and convenient .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornelia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Claudia, Sol and Tim were all great. The B&B is very quiet, clean and in a great area. The team is so helpful, the breakfast was great, they really care, give you tips and advise and very atenttive. the beads are perfect... nice and homey. pick up service is wonderful and worth the money. will definatly come again and recomend everyone coming into Rome!

Thank you Claudia, Sol and Tim. Take care and hope 2 c u soon!

Shira

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blabla66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were in Rome to celebrate a very special birthday- thanks to Claudia and her team we had the most amaxing time. The room and bathroom we had was so lovely -(it eally was amazingly clean and spacious) . The bed was so brilliant - they have the Tempur mattresses and we slept the sleep of the dead. There is no passing traffic tospeak of so nothing to disturb us. Breakfast on the open air terrace was gorgeous and it was just a lovely in the breakfast room - Soll looked after us so well. It was great being met at the airport by Mr Tim -it took the stress right out of finding our way in a very strange and new city.

We totally agree with Chris from Boston that this can only be recommended. Do not worry that it is not bang in the centre of the city- I am sure there is no way we would have liked to be in the noisy centre - it only took 12-15 minutes by bus staight into Veneza (just by the side of theCapitol Museum ( can you fall in love with a building - I did) -go up the sloped stpes at the side where the bus stops and around onto the terrace at the back overlooking the Forum and down towatds the Colliseum -it's awesome -and only 5-10 mins walk.

From Veneza you can walk to the Pantheon in about 10 minutes - how much more central could you be. Buy a Roma pass it is well worth it. We ould recommend you buy a guide to the bus and metro routes as these seem a bit difficult to find and unlike most Europeam cities the routes whilst named on the bus stops there is no map showing of the routing- we were told even the locals find the buses a bit of a mystery!

Try the local eateries and the Trattoria's - the food is amazing.

We hope to return next year and will definately retrun to Bamboo - x

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onlovewithparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Proprietario at Bamboo B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you for your kind review and words of appreciation. We're glad to know you had a nice stay in Bamboo, and welcome you to come and visit us in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed at Bamboo for 5 days in Aug and I have to say my stay was wonderful. Ac works great in rooms. Very clean rooms and main areas, they take proud keeping the B&B up to date. This is not a hotel, you feel as if you have your own apartment in Rome. Yes it is a little outside the city but easy transportation is very close by. The 44 bus maybe a block or two away will take you to all major attraction (it drops you of in front of the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier), Also Quattro Venti train station is about a 5 min walk and that will take you to the Vatican/ St peters Square. Go all the way down the stairs (all the way down) I believe train 2 one stop will get you there. The staff at Bamboo were superb, every question we had or anything we needed bamboo staff was there to help. Remember this is a B&B in Italy so if you are checking in late afternoon let Claudia know ahead of time as there is sometimes no staff in the B&B. On the 5th floor no worries there is an elevator. Breakfast is typical for Italy but make sure you ask to have a cappuccino it will only make your day better. I will try and check back on this site if anyone has any question.

Claudia thanks again for a great stay and good Staff

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisboston15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Proprietario at Bamboo B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

We're really honored to read you felt welcomed and at home! This is exactly the type of compliment that motivates us in providing a better service, based on real and warm hospitality!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This was our fist visit. The pick up at the airport from Tim was awesome. Loved seeing his face after a long flight. Upon arrival to Bamboo, details of the area were limited. We felt a little lost without any concept of train, buses, walking routes, etc as no details were given, and Claudia was nowhere to be found. Essentially we were dropped in the middle if Rome-huge city, overwhelming!

The next morning we were greeted by Tim's wife, who makes a great cappacino and is lovely and helpful! Day 2 was much better. Breakfast is simple. A fresh croissant and packaged foods, maybe some fruit? Depends on the day it seems.

It is about a 30 min walk to the Vatican, but make sure you have clear directions before stepping out the door, and there is also a grocery store near by.
I wouldn't say " don't stay there" but just know its not "over the top" in any way, and maybe not as close to the site as you may expect.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlee81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Proprietario at Bamboo B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you for your review and for your opinions! I'm sure that we can always improve and I regret not having been present at your arrival but our beautiful and talented Sol replaces me very well. I hope I can host a next time and make you feel a bit 'in your home in Rome. See you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#449 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,924 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#215 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#110 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#355 of 1,271 in Rome
434 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo B&B

Address: Via Basilio Bricci 23, 00152 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monteverde , Gianicolense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #835 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $63 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Bamboo B&B 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamboo is not only a B&B, it is all a lifestyle. Bamboo means relaxation, cleanliness, hospitality and courtesy, luxury at affordable prices. Bamboo is a friend of nature as our mascot Puck. We are at the heart of the Eternal City without being in the chaos, in the heart of the old Monterverde district, near the Janiculum hill, Villa Pamphili, the baroque fountains and the marvels of the papal Rome. We are close to the city train station "Quattro Venti", 10 minutes from the Vatican, 5 minutes from Trastevere, the famous nightlife district of Rome and 15 minutes from the central train station where you can take any underground line to bring you to the Colosseum and other downtown destinations. Bamboo is convenient for those coming from the airport or those who must go to the hospitals of S. Camillo or Forlanini. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, all have a private bathroom and a terrace and are cleaned every day. The breakfast is served on the veranda or the terrace. We are happy to welcome you and provide you with all information to make your trip unforgettable. Private bathroom, Terrace/Balcony, Pay garage, Continental Breakfast included, LCD TV, Hairdryer, Internet fast free wi-fi, Water and soft drinks (payable), Free tea or herbal tea, Suite with terrace and kitchen, Car rental with driver, Laundry, Daily housekeeping. Languages spoken: Italian, English, Spanish, French. Agreements with restaurants, shopping, spa. Dogs allowed (max 10 kg). We practice on-request discounts for long stays. Children under 6 years stay free-of-charge if they sleep with their parents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bamboo B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing