We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing”
Review of Bamboo B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bamboo B&B
Ranked #847 of 3,705 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Rome is a complex and complicated city. It has spots of calm and silence and incredible outbursts of noise and traffic. Bamboo B&B is a safe haven and a garden of peace.
Located in a silent, residential area of Rome, near one of the biggest parks of the city, it's the ideal choice if you want to have the chance to hop by the near Trastevere nightlife with a 10 minute walk and then return to the calm of the big, relaxing rooms of the BB. Bathrooms are really clean, private and right outside your room door.You even get free Wi-Fi connection, and that's an excellent service if you consider you get 4 star hotels that will have you pay for it!
Breakfast is Italian style, so prepare for some excellent Cappuccino.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

We really would like to thank you for your beautiful words. Our aim is exactly to offer a high quality service along with some sincere hospitality, and we're very glad you found this during your stay. We hope we can see you again soon in our beautiful Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Bamboo B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 153 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

bamboo b&b was a really nice place. it is located in a quiet & safe neighborhood. I liked that it was located slightly further away from the city. I felt like I was staying among the Italians instead of with other tourists. there are a couple of nice restaurants around (Eden & the kosher place as recommended by claudia. all at reasonable prices!), and fruit stalls and your little odd & ends stalls. there were buses all around the area that takes you to all the important places. however, one needs to note that the buses can sometimes be unreliable. there was once we had to wait for more than 40 mins for a bus that takes us to the colusseum. but if you've got time on your hands, location is not a problem. we even walked from Vatican city all the way back to bamboo. with a map in one hand and sunglasses in another, that was quite an adventure! the room we got was nice. it was spacious and had a cozy feel. after a long and weary day, we felt like we were coming home. there was also a balcony you sit out on and watch the sunset. bathrooms were not a problem, although it wasn't located inside the room, it was a mere half a meter away right outside your door. and it was your own. we didn't get to see Claudia much although I must say she gave us all the information we needed on the first day we arrived. and I knew that if we needed anything she was right upstairs. would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmineeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Jasmine, we really would like to thank you for your beautiful words. Our aim is exactly to offer a high quality service along with some sincere hospitality, and we're very glad you found this during your stay. We hope we can see you again soon in our beautiful Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Let me start by saying you should purchase Rick Steve's book and read prior to going to Rome. He warned that Rome can be jarring and intense for first timers. This was especially true for me since I was travelling solo. Rome turned out to be my least favorite of all of the cities I visited in Italy. It's like NYC on steroids with gypsies thrown in for good measure.

Pros: The owners and staff are very nice. Case in point, after my first full day in Rome I was lost for several hours and was frustrated that nearly every taxi claimed they couldn't locate the B&B. Once I finally made it back I couldnt get my key to unlock the front door and Claudia and Eduardo came to let me in and took time to calm me down and asked what they could do to make my trip better. They even took me out for gelato and showed me the Monteverde neighborhood. I also met some great people that were staying at Bamboo and we now keep in touch.

Cons: I booked the only room in the B&B with a bathroom inside of the room. Initially I thought this was an advantage. However, because the walls are paper thin and my room shared a wall with the hallway bathroom of other guests, I always heard when someone was using the restroom and my room smelled like urine the entire time. The B&B is housed within an apartment bldg and the person above me had a dog that barked incessantly at night making it difficult to sleep. After the first night I requested a flat sheet to place between the heavy comforter and my skin and was told that bedding would be changed on Friday. I've stayed at B&B's and one of the best things about them is the homemade breakfast (hence the name Bed & Breakfast). What was disappointing was that the breakfast was a hodge podge of thrown together store brought pastries which lacked freshness and that "homemade" feel. It would have been nice to have something that was actually made in the kitchen. I found only 1 restaruant that had good food. It was suggested by Eduardo and was a Sicilain place a few blocks away. Other than that, the area lacks good places to eat. Housekeeping was hit or miss. Sometimes my wet towels (the one for the floor when you step out of the shower) was re-folded and placed back in the bathroom and outside of the bed being made my room never looked or felt clean. The urine smell could also have attributed to my feeling like that. After the first two days at Bamboo, I never saw the owners again until the night before check out so you really are on your own at this place which could be fine for some people but again, for first time visitors I think you would probably feel better staying someplace with a concierge. If the things I mention in my "Cons" section do not bother you then by all means, for the price it is a bargain. If you prefer something more true to a Bed & Breakfast I would not suggest Bamboo. It all depends on your personal needs.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jadab97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Proprietario at Bamboo B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Hello, good to hear you appreciated the gelato!
We recognize Rome is a chaotic city but it's great to know you also found its upsides. Although it is true that since we are a B&B we don't have a concierge, you know we live right upstairs and are always willing to help, for taxi reservation and all other services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The hostess, Claudia, was great. Welcoming and accommodating. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The location was perfect for me because it was in the neighborhood I used to live in and close to all my friends. It is also a fairly short walk to the Janiculum Hill for one of the best views of the city. It is about a 20 - 25 minute walk from St. Peter's. It is very close to Villa Pamphili, one of Rome's enormous beautiful parks. Great restaurants in Monteverde, too.

If you want to be right in the center of all the Rome attractions night and day, this may not be the best place for you. But if you don't mind a walk or a bus ride in to the center in exchange for a VERY quiet and peaceful night in a nice neighborhood, then this is a great place to be.

NOTE: Don't be put off by the graffitti as you walk through the neighborhood to the B&B. Rome is absolutely plagued by graffitti, unfortunately. Monteverde is a great neighborhood and VERY safe. I lived there for years. The B&B is very quiet and clean and the hosts very nice. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisonv11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Proprietario at Bamboo B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

We really would like to thank you for your beautiful words. Our aim is exactly to offer a high quality service along with some sincere hospitality, and we're very glad you found this during your stay. We hope we can see you again soon in our beautiful Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

As someone who has spent quite a bit of time in Rome, I can tell you this is a great find. I will give them my business every time I return. It is clean, in a great location, and unlike similar places they do not gouge you on the price. I highly recommend the Bamboo B&B for your next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emh369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Proprietario at Bamboo B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you for reporting your opinion on Tripadvisor; we're happy to know you appreciated our B&B, our services and found our staff professional. We hope we'll have a chance of welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Bamboo B&B is an absolutely superb "home away from home," with friendly and accommodating staff who provide excellent service. You just cannot do better than this location - Monteverde is welcoming to travelers and ex-pats, but yet is so very peaceful! No wonder the neighborhood is so beloved by its Italian residents. I loved that Bamboo B&B is located near the Villa Pamphili - the gorgeous park is a great place for a jog or an afternoon picnic. The hotel itself is incredibly serene, and I was quite impressed with the modern decor and soothing aesthetic. I quite liked my room - such a great place to relax after a long day exploring - the beds are so cozy, I slept better than I do at home! Bamboo B&B also serves a delicious Italian breakfast, with cappuccini that are lip-smackingly good. I genuinely enjoyed my stay at Bamboo B&B - thank you to Claudia and all the staff for such fine service and lovely accommodations!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Proprietario at Bamboo B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thank you for your kind words! Hospitality means everything to us and our doors are always open; we're glad to hear you had a nice time. Come and visit us anytime you want!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Bamboo was everything that was promised and so much more. Outside of the hustle of Rome's city center Bamboo offers refuge to travelers with impeccable service and amenities for such a fair and affordable price. The hospitality and quality of service extended to us while we stayed at Bamboo was a dream come true. Having had the peace of mind of coming home to rest in the comfortable and clean room provided by Claudia and staff made our holiday all the more enjoyable. Following that up with a wonderful daily Italian breakfast and marvelous terrace views made the Bamboo a slam dunk choice.

Thank you so much for a marvelous stay guys! We shall return!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baylorboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Proprietario at Bamboo B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

All the staff of Bamboo thanks you for your kind review and words of appreciation. We're glad to learn that you spent a good time in our home, and hope we'll soon be able to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monteverde
Honey Rooms
Honey Rooms
#2,367 of 3,705 in Rome
20 reviews
Monteverde
Casa Cibella
Casa Cibella
#1,891 of 3,705 in Rome
40 reviews
Oasi Verde a San Pietro
#733 of 3,705 in Rome
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monteverde
B&B Carini 58
B&B Carini 58
#1,073 of 3,705 in Rome
28 reviews
Monteverde
Dhome B&B
Dhome B&B
#268 of 1,131 in Rome
9 reviews
Trastevere
B&B When in Rome
B&B When in Rome
#1,641 of 3,705 in Rome
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo B&B

Address: Via Basilio Bricci 23, 00152 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monteverde , Gianicolense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #847 of 3,705 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $66 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Bamboo B&B 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamboo is not only a B&B, it is all a lifestyle. Bamboo means relaxation, cleanliness, hospitality and courtesy, luxury at affordable prices. Bamboo is a friend of nature as our mascot Puck. We are at the heart of the Eternal City without being in the chaos, in the heart of the old Monterverde district, near the Janiculum hill, Villa Pamphili, the baroque fountains and the marvels of the papal Rome. We are close to the city train station "Quattro Venti", 10 minutes from the Vatican, 5 minutes from Trastevere, the famous nightlife district of Rome and 15 minutes from the central train station where you can take any underground line to bring you to the Colosseum and other downtown destinations. Bamboo is convenient for those coming from the airport or those who must go to the hospitals of S. Camillo or Forlanini. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, all have a private bathroom and a terrace and are cleaned every day. The breakfast is served on the veranda or the terrace. We are happy to welcome you and provide you with all information to make your trip unforgettable. Private bathroom, Terrace/Balcony, Pay garage, Continental Breakfast included, LCD TV, Hairdryer, Internet fast free wi-fi, Water and soft drinks (payable), Free tea or herbal tea, Suite with terrace and kitchen, Car rental with driver, Laundry, Daily housekeeping. Languages spoken: Italian, English, Spanish, French. Agreements with restaurants, shopping, spa. Dogs allowed (max 10 kg). We practice on-request discounts for long stays. Children under 6 years stay free-of-charge if they sleep with their parents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bamboo B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing