We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Rome
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
  
Ways to Experience Parco degli Acquedotti
from $77.50
More Info
from $69.58
More Info
from $76.38
More Info
Reviews (469)
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveler rating
271
158
29
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
271
158
29
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews metro line ancient aqueducts roman road well worth the trip free park dog walkers dog park incredible site nice pictures both sides walk up taking photos centre of rome ancient times awe inspiring couple of hours picnic
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 469 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Most never see this historic gem, but its well worth the trip to see the amazing history of Rome's early water supplies. The park is on the edge of the city along the old Appian Way and is accessible from the A line of the Metro. I recommend getting off at the Lucio Sestio stop. A street map is helpful to get your bearings, but its a short walk from there to the entrance of the park on Via Lemonia which is on the left hand side of Via Lucio Sestio. You can walk from there to the other end of the park where you will find the largest section of the Acqua Claudia (1st century) standing. You can also see the water still flowing into a small pond from the Acqua Felice (16th century).

If you don't want to retrace your steps, you can return to the Metro at the Giulio Agricola station. That station can be found by walking down the street directly in front of the large church.

Besides the Acquedotti themeselves, you might consider bringing a little picnic or wine and cheese as the park is a nice place ot relax a bit. The weekends will find the park quite active with families, bikers and joggers. In one section of the park, there is a little restaurant and bar, kiddie park, and often on the weekends some kind of festival with all sorts of things being sold in booths. .

Date of experience: June 2013
19  Thank 322JoeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

On my first trip to Italy I just had to see this park. It's hard to believe it is only a few metro stops and a short walk from the hustle and bustle of Rome. Located tucked beside a Roman suburb, this park has numerous aqueducts that seem to come upon you from no where and continue forever! There are paths to walk on and on a warmer day this is a great area to have a picnic in the lush fields that surround it. The best part is that you can actually go right up to the aqueducts themselves. Like most ancient sites, you can't help but gaze at these in bewilderment as to how they managed to complete them. I went to this park in the early morning hours prior to most other sites opening. There was a little bakery on the way from the metro stop to the park where we had a small breakfast after enjoying the park. All in all it took less than 2 hours from start to finish but could easily be more or less depending on what your plans are. Another hidden gem!

Date of experience: November 2012
8  Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Arrive here after 20 - 30 minute easy walk from the Giulio Agricola Metro A stop. Great directions are in the "Rick Steves Rome 2012" book.

We visited here after spending the mid-day at the catacombs. It was a beautiful end to the day, very relaxing Saturday with locals playing soccer in the park, golf on the green and children running around with parents. It was very picturesque with the sun setting on the stone!

Date of experience: November 2012
4  Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We visited Aqueduct Park at the end of May on a Thursday afternoon. We had been in St. Peter's Basilica that morning and couldn't wait to get away from the crowds! (This was my fifth visit to Rome, and I don't remember ever seeing so many people, even during the Holy Year of 2000.). The park calmed our minds and refreshed our spirits. The aqueducts are so wonderful and awe-inspiring, and the park itself is just lovely to wander through. I particularly appreciated that they have mowed some of the land, but left much of it to just be itself and be wild. There were joggers, cyclists, readers, picnickers, lovers, thinkers ... And plenty of room for everyone!

If you visit the park on a warm-to-hot day, we would recommend that you go in the early morning of late afternoon. Bring sunscreen, a hat, and water, and be aware that there are no WC's.

Date of experience: May 2012
6  Thank Piccolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Although overlooked by most American guidebooks, this place is a wonderful. It's a huge sprawling park just outside a suburban apartment block area easily reached by a Metro ride (about 15 minutes, as I recall, from Rome's Termini station, on a pleasant clean train - seemingly used primarily by commuting suburbanites - which runs very frequently in both directions) plus a short walk of only two or three blocks.

In places (especially nearer the entrance) the park is beautifully landscaped - and even midday on a late March Monday there were families with young children walking about on the paths, people of all ages sprawled out on the grass picnicking or reading, children and adults biking or playing with one kind or another of ball, and even three young women practicing yoga on the grass next to one of the more close-by aqueducts.

Which brings me to the main attraction, after which the park is named: huge portions of a number of the aqueducts built by the ancient Romans - up to, around, and under which visitors may walk. Representing construction over hundreds of years, they are of several different styles - and exhibit varying degrees of ruin and preservation. Sometimes there's just an arch or two standing tall and majestic in a field, but there are also long long stretches of many-arched beauty - along which many local folks jog or bike. Only a tiny fraction, of course, of the huge system which brought the water which sustained ancient Rome. But enough to make a visitor truly appreciate the great accomplishment that system was.

As in the Forum or Colosseum one experiences in this park both the majesty of human achievement and the perspective- and humility-building knowledge of how even the highest technical and artistic human achievements eventually come to naught. But here, unlike at those other more well-known spots, the setting is quiet and lovely - making it more conducive to relaxed reflection and appreciation of what one is seeing. Also, again unlike those other places (which, by the way, I also like to visit), this park seemed essentially tourist-free (which, even in late March, the more popular spots are definitely not!): during my approximately three hours of wandering among the ruins I saw not a single person taking photographs other than a fellow laden with huge tripod and bags of camera equipment who was probably a professional. I shall try sometime soon to add to this review some of the many photos I myself took (not as a professional, but as just an enthusiastic amateur), which will give a real feel for the place. But the interested traveller can, with a bit of Googling - including using the satellite feature on a good maps program - find images which should make the attraction of the place clear. Mentioning computer images reminds me, by the way, that a small flock of sheep, watched over by a shepherd, which had been clearly visible in some of the online photos I found before I arrived in Rome, was, on the day I was there, grazing, just as in the photos, on the spring grass in the very shadow of the tallest and longest of the aqueduct segments - and just a few empty fields from the edge of the mass of apartment buildings. What a thought-provoking mix of old and new - just as was the whole park's mix of living human beings enjoying a lovely spring day with family and friends among the ruined remains of the accomplishments of other human beings now so long dead.

The one guidebook reference to this park I found was, by the way, was in Rick Steve's book on Rome. The short write-up clearly explains how easy it is to get there.

One other practical thing, there are, along the several residential blocks between the Metro stop and the park's main entrance, a number of little cafes or other spots where one can pick up food (and, a good idea, some water) to take into the park.

Date of experience: March 2012
6  Thank grandmaEthel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews