We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“And the water still flows here!”

Parco degli Acquedotti
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.71*
and up
6-hour Bike Tour: Appian Way and Aqueducts Park
Ranked #95 of 1,490 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“And the water still flows here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Most never see this historic gem, but its well worth the trip to see the amazing history of Rome's early water supplies. The park is on the edge of the city along the old Appian Way and is accessible from the A line of the Metro. I recommend getting off at the Lucio Sestio stop. A street map is helpful to get your bearings, but its a short walk from there to the entrance of the park on Via Lemonia which is on the left hand side of Via Lucio Sestio. You can walk from there to the other end of the park where you will find the largest section of the Acqua Claudia (1st century) standing. You can also see the water still flowing into a small pond from the Acqua Felice (16th century).

If you don't want to retrace your steps, you can return to the Metro at the Giulio Agricola station. That station can be found by walking down the street directly in front of the large church.

Besides the Acquedotti themeselves, you might consider bringing a little picnic or wine and cheese as the park is a nice place ot relax a bit. The weekends will find the park quite active with families, bikers and joggers. In one section of the park, there is a little restaurant and bar, kiddie park, and often on the weekends some kind of festival with all sorts of things being sold in booths. .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    106
    21
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A gem that leaves behind the bustle of Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

On my first trip to Italy I just had to see this park. It's hard to believe it is only a few metro stops and a short walk from the hustle and bustle of Rome. Located tucked beside a Roman suburb, this park has numerous aqueducts that seem to come upon you from no where and continue forever! There are paths to walk on and on a warmer day this is a great area to have a picnic in the lush fields that surround it. The best part is that you can actually go right up to the aqueducts themselves. Like most ancient sites, you can't help but gaze at these in bewilderment as to how they managed to complete them. I went to this park in the early morning hours prior to most other sites opening. There was a little bakery on the way from the metro stop to the park where we had a small breakfast after enjoying the park. All in all it took less than 2 hours from start to finish but could easily be more or less depending on what your plans are. Another hidden gem!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice walk, beautiful antiquity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Arrive here after 20 - 30 minute easy walk from the Giulio Agricola Metro A stop. Great directions are in the "Rick Steves Rome 2012" book.

We visited here after spending the mid-day at the catacombs. It was a beautiful end to the day, very relaxing Saturday with locals playing soccer in the park, golf on the green and children running around with parents. It was very picturesque with the sun setting on the stone!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We visited Aqueduct Park at the end of May on a Thursday afternoon. We had been in St. Peter's Basilica that morning and couldn't wait to get away from the crowds! (This was my fifth visit to Rome, and I don't remember ever seeing so many people, even during the Holy Year of 2000.). The park calmed our minds and refreshed our spirits. The aqueducts are so wonderful and awe-inspiring, and the park itself is just lovely to wander through. I particularly appreciated that they have mowed some of the land, but left much of it to just be itself and be wild. There were joggers, cyclists, readers, picnickers, lovers, thinkers ... And plenty of room for everyone!

If you visit the park on a warm-to-hot day, we would recommend that you go in the early morning of late afternoon. Bring sunscreen, a hat, and water, and be aware that there are no WC's.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Piccolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Although overlooked by most American guidebooks, this place is a wonderful. It's a huge sprawling park just outside a suburban apartment block area easily reached by a Metro ride (about 15 minutes, as I recall, from Rome's Termini station, on a pleasant clean train - seemingly used primarily by commuting suburbanites - which runs very frequently in both directions) plus a short walk of only two or three blocks.

In places (especially nearer the entrance) the park is beautifully landscaped - and even midday on a late March Monday there were families with young children walking about on the paths, people of all ages sprawled out on the grass picnicking or reading, children and adults biking or playing with one kind or another of ball, and even three young women practicing yoga on the grass next to one of the more close-by aqueducts.

Which brings me to the main attraction, after which the park is named: huge portions of a number of the aqueducts built by the ancient Romans - up to, around, and under which visitors may walk. Representing construction over hundreds of years, they are of several different styles - and exhibit varying degrees of ruin and preservation. Sometimes there's just an arch or two standing tall and majestic in a field, but there are also long long stretches of many-arched beauty - along which many local folks jog or bike. Only a tiny fraction, of course, of the huge system which brought the water which sustained ancient Rome. But enough to make a visitor truly appreciate the great accomplishment that system was.

As in the Forum or Colosseum one experiences in this park both the majesty of human achievement and the perspective- and humility-building knowledge of how even the highest technical and artistic human achievements eventually come to naught. But here, unlike at those other more well-known spots, the setting is quiet and lovely - making it more conducive to relaxed reflection and appreciation of what one is seeing. Also, again unlike those other places (which, by the way, I also like to visit), this park seemed essentially tourist-free (which, even in late March, the more popular spots are definitely not!): during my approximately three hours of wandering among the ruins I saw not a single person taking photographs other than a fellow laden with huge tripod and bags of camera equipment who was probably a professional. I shall try sometime soon to add to this review some of the many photos I myself took (not as a professional, but as just an enthusiastic amateur), which will give a real feel for the place. But the interested traveller can, with a bit of Googling - including using the satellite feature on a good maps program - find images which should make the attraction of the place clear. Mentioning computer images reminds me, by the way, that a small flock of sheep, watched over by a shepherd, which had been clearly visible in some of the online photos I found before I arrived in Rome, was, on the day I was there, grazing, just as in the photos, on the spring grass in the very shadow of the tallest and longest of the aqueduct segments - and just a few empty fields from the edge of the mass of apartment buildings. What a thought-provoking mix of old and new - just as was the whole park's mix of living human beings enjoying a lovely spring day with family and friends among the ruined remains of the accomplishments of other human beings now so long dead.

The one guidebook reference to this park I found was, by the way, was in Rick Steve's book on Rome. The short write-up clearly explains how easy it is to get there.

One other practical thing, there are, along the several residential blocks between the Metro stop and the park's main entrance, a number of little cafes or other spots where one can pick up food (and, a good idea, some water) to take into the park.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank grandmaEthel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parco degli Acquedotti also viewed

 

Been to Parco degli Acquedotti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing