We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Astrid
Ranked #263 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel Astrid. Our room had a lovely view although the street was quite noisy with traffic. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was delicious. The hotel was quite a bit out of the city centre but easily reached by the train and tram.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    307
    101
    18
    13
See reviews for
115
278
23
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The Best western chain is generally reliably corporate.
The Hotel Astrid is part of an apartment block - with a curious mixture of dentists, medics and private apartments mixed in with the hotel.

The staff were friendly and attentive, but they could not mask the tired fixtures and fittings.

Air con was noisy and poorly functioning

Breakfast was crowded and limited

The hotel is in a quiet part of Rome - slightly distant from the tourist attractions - this carries plus and negative aspects.

Room Tip: try to get one with zircon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAFF_ASTRID, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Astrid, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to write a letter about the accommodations you
received at our hotel. I am deeply concerned that our room condition did not meet
your expectations; please accept my sincere apology. Guest satisfaction is the goal of
our management. We will do our best to meet that goal by improving and maintianing
our hotel in its best conditions.
I am sorry you found our "fixtures and fittings" tired, because we renewed all our rooms 3 years ago and we constantly do manteinance for our air cons and averything else.
We hope to continue to meet the standards of Best Western and thereby take pride in our membership in that chain.
We look forward to a future opportunity to better serve your lodging needs

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
202 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

10 minutes by piazza del popolo by train #2, walk another couple of minutes and behind the corner this lovely spot for a nice rest in Rome.
Rooms are very quite and comfortable, service is of a superior class hotel and everything is perfect.
But the most interesting feature to discover is in the morning, when going up till 5th floor, where a beautiful veranda lets ythe guest having breakfast watching over river, churches and all the roofs of the city
Croissants, juices, cheese, ham....everything for a perfect kick off
Rooms are comfortable and bathroom is pretty nice - pity for the shower (the one I had in my room was extremely small...but very very!!)
Staff is kind
Probably I would prefer to go to a more center located spot but this is a very nice place if you are looking to relax far from the overcrowded streets of Rome city center

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank backpacker_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel whilst my husband was attending a conference at the nearby auditorium, but if you like walking, it is also well placed for seeing the sights. it is adjacent to the River Tiber, which has peaceful towpath walkways on each bank, and i spent my days walking from the hotel to all the major sights, including the Vatican. it was pleasant to come back to a quieter area in the evenings, and the nearby tram stop made going back into the centre for a meal out easy. the hotel has a lovely breakfast terrace, which is open all day for coffee , a real bonus, as it is a charming place to sit and relax whilst lookingover the river. the best thing of all, though, is the attitude of the staff; they cannot do too much for you, and it felt like staying with friends! the breakfast staff even remembered my favourite rolls and kept some back for me when i was late down, and the reception team knew everything needed to advise us about local transport etc. when i lost my room key, needed to order a cab to the airport, and many other small requests they made light work of it, and were just charming in every respect. we would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Rome, and very much hope to return

Room Tip: we requested a room over looking the inner courtyard, as we wanted a peaceful sleeping environment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Astrid, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Sir,
We want to thank you for finding time to write this review about our hotel. Let me tell you that we are very glad to know that our structure gave you a good experience. We look forward to a future opportunity to serve your lodging needs.

Sincerely

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near London, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

First, a word of praise for the staff, all of whom, without exception—chambermaids to reception—were cheerful and friendly throughout my longer-than-average stay.

I suspect the problems I encountered were partly *because* of the nature of my stay: 11 nights and a working visit that involved returning late every evening. One comfy chair in the room, or to be able to order a glass of wine or a snack, would have made a lot of difference. But the bar/lounge in the description is not really that at all. It is the breakfast room with help yourself bottled water, coffee and tea. Nor would I call it a terrace: there is only a small corner where you can get outside to admire the admittedly lovely view across to St Peters in the far distance. And the minibar in the room isn't your usual sort: it just contains water and biscuits.

The first room I was given was quiet, overlooking the inner courtyard but very small. If my husband had been able to join me for part of the stay, as originally planned, we would really have struggled. No drawers, no shelves, a very small desk, no hooks to hang up bathrobes or coats...

There was no problem getting a room change—again the staff were very helpful—except that to get more room meant overlooking the road, with a lot of traffic noise from before 6 am to after midnight. Swings and roundabouts, I suppose. Still no drawers, only one desk chair, and I had to edge into the shower sideways because the opening was so small (I'm not tiny but I'm not huge either!).

The whole storage issue could certainly be improved: I hope they may look into adding hooks, shelves, a couple of drawers (even in the desk) which would make a surprising difference, I think.

All that said, it was very clean, fresh towels and sheets, adequate breakfast, and of course wi-fi, which was essential.

For visitors to the tennis at the Foro Italico, it's a very easy walk. I also walked easily to the Villa Borghese. And I would agree with one of the other reviewers that it's worth paying €55 for the private car to the airport. The taxi in from the airport cost the same and was a much less pleasant experience!

Room Tip: If you want to avoid traffic noise, a room overlooking the courtyard. But as far as I could see, all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is a Best Western hotel so has all the usual features of a chain hotel. Our room was small but smart, clean and had everything we needed. Plenty of Sky sport channels. We asked for a quiet room and were given one on the 3 rd floor overlooking a court yard which had no road noise at all. We were there to see the ATP International tennis which was just a 15 min walk away. However it was also possible to walk to the Vatican and we found several local restaurants which were OK in the evening. There is a supermarket nearby. Choice at breakfast was Ok but no hot options, it also got very busy at peak times when hotel was full.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAFF_ASTRID, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Astrid, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Sir,
We want to thank you for finding time to write this review about our hotel. Let me tell you that we are very glad to know that our structure gave you a good experience. We look forward to a future opportunity to serve your lodging needs.

Sincerely

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff. Be prepared to use mass transit or taxis. We were in a front room and had quite a bit of street noise. The other members of our group were more in the back so their rooms were quiet. Free wifi didn't work in all rooms. Breakfast was good with a great view of St Peters Basilica dome. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Best Western Globus Hotel
Flaminio
Villa Glori Hotel
Villa Glori Hotel
#226 of 1,257 in Rome
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Best Western Hotel Rivoli
Best Western Hotel Rivoli
#518 of 1,257 in Rome
419 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Astrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Astrid

Property: Best Western Hotel Astrid
Address: Largo Antonio Sarti 4, 00196 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Flaminio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#225 Family Hotel in Rome
#227 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Astrid 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Hotel Astrid is located in Flaminio district, in a historic building that combines modern comfort with an exceptional view of St. Peter's Dome. Ideally located between Piazza del Popolo and Olympic Stadium, the hotel is situated in a small square overlooking Tiber River, just a stone's throw from Rome's historical centre. It is a family-run hotel which perfectly blends the warm Roman hospitality with the highest international hotel standards. Best Western Hotel Astrid offers a rooftop terrace with beautiful panorama view overlooking the city, including the Tiber River and St. Peter's Dome, and where every morning a rich breakfast will be offered to each guest, to start at best your day. Modern and comfortable, all rooms are decorated in warm colors giving to rooms a warm and welcoming atmosphere. All rooms have a private bathrooms and they are equipped with modern comforts including free WIFI, telephone, air conditioning and soft minibar for free. On top of that, the hotel's attentive staff will be pleased to help you for any need you might have, for a memorable stay in Rome. Best Western Hotel Astrid enjoys an exceptional location, thanks to the proximity of the Auditorium, Foro Italico and MAXXI museum, it is the ideal choice both for business travelers both for those who visit the city for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Hotel Astrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Astrid Roma
Astrid Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing