We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel, not English lovers”
Review of Hotel Le Petit

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Petit
Ranked #998 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I went with my Mum for a city break, on arrival we waited 10 minutes for them to come and unlock the door and were then taken up 3 flights of stairs to reception by a sweet old Italian man. He took us to our room and was very helpful providing us with maps etc.

For the rest of the weekend we did not see this man again but instead different Italian men all of which were not so friendly. Breakfast is served by the cleaners who stand in the cornor talking in Italian whilst watching you eat your 1 croissant or slice of dry bread.

The hotel is right next to a tube station which is convenient though.

The room was very small yet was always kept very clean and constantly beds were made by the cleaners/waitresses every day.

The bin men come round at about 3am every single day and wake you up without fail which can be slightly annoying.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Petit
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 300 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

I loved this hotel, they were soooo sooooo nice at the front desk and the room was small but thats what you get but very nice. However, one thing.... the bed!! I would have had a better night sleep on cardboard and to be honest i think it messed up my leg for a few days. By no means do I what to come accross as mean, this is more of a message to Le Petit to get a new bed :)
ps - great location..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taffyscare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is - staff, who is very friendly and lovely.
Rooms: disgusting, dirty and small, particularly our didn't lock from inside. Breakfast: cereal, coffee (which is nothing in common with italian true coffee), bread and jam.

Room Tip: Only 100Eur for total price more and You can book normal hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AnthonyBauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

A really good location, close to the train station, metro, bus stops, any kind of shops. It is easy to walk to any turistic location, 10 minutes to Fontana di Trevi.
The room was big enough, very clean, the bathroom really nice. The staff ( Gianni, Vito, Gaetano, Dorina, Andrea and a very nice old man ) is very nice and helpfull. Good advices to where to go and how to walk around. They make you feel like home.
Overall, it was the best location for the best vacation. Rome is amazing

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pity_gan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Actually i knew that the hotel was not that great.... but what you gonna do when you have only several hours before the plane's landing?

To be short - there are a much better hotels in Rome in which I have stayed over the last years. It is not a stand alone hotel actually, the hotel is only several flats within a building... there will be advocates, doctors and etc among your neighbors. So it's more like an apartment or a "pansion" i'd say.

The best way to get a great Rome advantage is to Rome on a unpopular tourist dates - it's the only way to have a descent hotel and to avoid millions of tourists on the streets. Otherwise you get a worse type of experience.

Room Tip: There is one room with a big balcony, located at the hotel's corner
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kostarico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. On our second day (5/27/2012), we were waiting in the hotel lobby on the second floor to be pick-up for a pre-paid tour (for Tivoli-Hadrian's Villa and Villa D'este tour.) In order to shorten the bus's waiting time, we decided to take the hotel elevator down to the street for pick up when the tour bus came at 2:30pm. Very unfortuntely, the hotel elevator stopped completely with a very loud sound as soon as we got in. We got stuck in their hotel elevator (just like the movie story.) We push the help button, the hotel staff, Gaetano Consini, came to tell us he would call for help. We waited for 45 minutes before we were free from elevator. By that time the tour bus had left. Gaetano Consini (hotel staff) told us he already communicated with the tour company (Vastours Company) and the company told him that Vastours would give us refund. I asked for his written statement about this and he refused to do so (even though I tried many ways, it did not work.) Worse it all, when I said to Gaetano, their hotel was responsible for our missing tour, he said that was not their fault at all. What a nightmare! So, I wrote an email to inform our travel agent at AAA in Sacramento, CA and copying to the hotel contact email about this incidence that afternoon. On the third day, when we were checking out to board a bus for a cruise, the hotel staff, Gaetano Consini, told my husband that we had to pay 8 dollars uro in cash because the city tax. We were surprised because our hotel stay was pre-paid and our travel agent told us that tax and service charge were included. We asked for receipt, and he refused. We were in a hurry, so, we did not argue and pay him. We did not think this extra payment was truth. What a rip off. By the way, neither Gaetano, nor any hotel staff had apologized to us for the elevator incidence or any unpleasant encounter with them. Our AAA agent already wrote a letter to their travel arrangement company two weeks ago, but she has not heard anything from anyone yet. Thus, we have not received our refund yet. I like people to know -- Not to trust Le Petit Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We recently stayed at Le Petit hotel on Via Torino about 8 blocks from the train station. However,
it is very close, about a block, to the Piazza Republica metro staion which takes you quickly to all the main attractions including the spanish steps, Piazza del Popolo, and the Vatican. The regular
room they gave us was very basic, small, and kind of drab. I had asked for a balcony room. We asked and they moved us to the larger and more attractive corner room with the balcony. It was a very nice, private balcony room for 20 Euros more per night. It's worth the extra and we used the balcony for drinks, reading, light snacks extensively. We were there 3 days, went down to the amalfi coast for 2 days, and then spent the last night back in Rome at the same hotel.
The staff ranges fro OK to great. Johnny is great! Internet generally only works near the front desk router. However, because the hotel seems to be only on the compact second floor it's only a few steps from the rooms with two comfortable chairs. The downside elements are the soap dispensers in the shower and bathroom sink. Awkward to use. Very strange toilet tissue dispenser dispenses one small sheet at a time. I would bring bar soap, shampoo and probably a roll of tissue next time. Other issue is noise. I know Rome is a big city but do they have to very loudly collect the commercial trash in the neighborhood between midnight and 1 A.M.? Not anything the hotel can do about that I'm sure.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#463 of 1,267 in Rome
348 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Mondial
Hotel Mondial
#320 of 1,267 in Rome
1,208 reviews
Esquilino
Floris Hotel
Floris Hotel
#230 of 1,267 in Rome
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#222 of 1,267 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#105 of 1,267 in Rome
828 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Dorica
Hotel Dorica
#349 of 1,267 in Rome
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Petit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Petit

Address: Via Torino 122, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #998 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $80 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Petit 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Petit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Petit Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing