We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel shame about the location”
Review of Hotel Rome Pisana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Rome Pisana
Ranked #663 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel shame about the location”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in March. On arrival we couldn't work out which part of Rome we were in or how far from the centre we were so we ventured out for a walk to try and find somewhere to eat. We turned left and wandered up the road and immediately realised we were in a residential area with very little amenities available. Consequently after walking for a mile we turned around and returned to the hotel to dine in the restaurant. Beware the meals are not cheap about 18 Euros for a main course and you need to order extra veg etc. Later we managed to find a map on a table in reception but couldn't find the hotel on there either. We eventually found out that we were about a half hours bus ride from the Vatican and the bus stop was right outside the hotel. The hotel does offer a free shuttle bus to the metro but we decided to use the bus service as you see more of the city and it was cheap 1.50 Euro each way.

The room at the hotel was fine. Clean and modern. The bed was very comfortable and we had a room facing away from the busy main road so it was very quiet.The bathroom was a little small but adequate. Beware the light above the door it is on a sensor and stays on for sometime after you switch the lights off or if you get up in the night to use the facilities! We had a maintenance man to come and have a look at the light as it wouldn't go off. There should be some info in the room about this as everyone must have the same problem. We ended up turning the sensor up to the ceiling to stop this happening.

The breakfast on the 3 mornings was fantastic with plenty of choice. Cereals, fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, bacon, eggs sausages etc. The restaurant staff were also very friendly.

The hotel is used by a lot of coach trips and the lifts are very small so at check out time there can be a long wait for a lift so we ended up using the stairs most of the time.

To make the guests stay more enjoyable, as many only stay a few days it would be useful to have some information in the rooms e.g. map, bus time tables, good place to eat etc.

I enjoyed my stay in Rome shame about the location of the hotel, as otherwise it was a good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel to get away from the noise of the traffic on the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelewehden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinziaSaccani, Manager at Hotel Rome Pisana, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Dear Michelewehden,
thank you for your comments about your stay.
I'm glad to read that you found our hotel nice, breakfast fantastic and restaurant staff very friendly.
Thank you very much for your words expressing exactly our concept of hospitality.
Come back soon to visit us!
With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    215
    151
    52
    47
See reviews for
149
186
17
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We have just returned from a 4 day stay at The Holiday Inn and we would.definately recommend
It. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, always very helpful and cheerful. The breakfast
Was very good lots of choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 207Jen444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinziaSaccani, Manager at Hotel Rome Pisana, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thanks Jen ! Your review makes us really happy!
We always aim to be helpful and professional so that each guest feel at home away from home.
We hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night break , looked at this Hotels reviews before we booked so had an idea of what to expect , it was great.....,The position is out of the City centre by at least 20 minutes , but after spending all day in the city its a retreat from the noise & traffic fumes ...., The 881 bus is a simple straight ride into the city , we bought our tickets from the shop in the Hotel foyer.
The Hotel itself is clean with helpful staff..... we only ate in the Hotel restaurant once but food good The only faults i have is that for 2 nights there was no tonic at the bar so no G&T night cap ....and lastly being on the top floor when it rained the metal window sills resounded inside which did annoy at night..

Room Tip: Not top floor.. or ensure no rain !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodnaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinziaSaccani, Manager at Hotel Rome Pisana, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Rodnaly,
we really appreciate your kind feedback, thank you!
We are really sorry for the tonic… Be sure that next time you’ll get a perfect Gin Tonic!
See you in Rome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We had a most enjoyable few days here. The staff were very welcoming the whole time, and made us very confortable. Transport to and from Rome was straight outside the hotel, door to door for the Vatican. The lovely receptionist also recommended a good, reasonable eating area. We would definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinziaSaccani, Manager at Hotel Rome Pisana, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Linda,
it is a pleasure to read that you’ve really enjoyed your stay.
Our staff always try its best for guests! Do not forget to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this fantastic hotel. Check in faultless...we even had a complimentary glass of Prosecco as it was one of our party,s birthday (thank you Omar). Rooms were so comfortable with tea/coffee making amenities!!! Bar and dining room staff were so friendly and helpful, always smiling - especially Elena (tall with fair hair) and Francesco - they made our stay extra special , a credit to your hotel!! Breakfast on the 1st floor was the best one we have ever had in a hotel.....you were able to squeeze your own blood orange juice!!!! Eggs, sausages, bacon, tomatoes as well as fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurts, cheese, cold meat, selection of delicious bread etc etc!!!!! Bus 881 took us into central Rome for one euro fifty!! They run every 10 mins until midnight. We took a trip to Frascati by train one day.....highly recommended!! Check out the Villa At the top of the hill....amazing!! I know the hotel is not in the centre of Rome but I would definitely recommend this amazing hotel for your trip to Rome. Annie and Stan Pugh.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam552025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinziaSaccani, Manager at Hotel Rome Pisana, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Annie and Stan,
what a wonderful review for us !
Thank you very much for your words expressing exactly our concept of hospitality.
Come back soon to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burscough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
417 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I've just returned from a 3 night stay at this fabulously chic hotel a 20-30 minute bus ride away from the city centre and I can't fault it. Check-in was seamless and our room was bright and spotless with comfortable beds and tea and coffee making facilities in the room (not common in Italy).

Breakfast was included as part of our package and included everything you could possibly want - bacon and eggs, cereal, yoghurts, cold meat and cheeses, a variety of fruit and fruit juices and a selection of breads and pastries.

The restaurant was open in the evening, but we didn't eat there.

The 881 bus stops right outside the hotel and takes you straight to the Vatican end of the city, it does not go to the Termini bus station though if you are arriving (or leaving) from there. The quickest way to that end of the city is to catch the 881 for 2 stops (or walk) and change to the 892 to Cornelia or Baldo degli Ubaldi metro stations and take the red A line. For the Colosseum you will then need to change to the the B blue line at Termini.

The staff were always friendly and greeted us with a smile.

When we checked out, we left out bags in a locked room while we spent the day at the Vatican, before returning to collect them later.

Yes, it is a bit out of the city centre, but I challenge you to find another hotel of this standard at this price closer to the centre. The bus ride also gives you a chance to see other, less touristy parts of Rome.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jellybellydancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinziaSaccani, Manager at Hotel Rome Pisana, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Jellybellydancer,
Reading your review is really a pleasure! Your words confirm that we are doing a good job with our guest!
Here prices, friendly staff, good room, good food, good bus connection, mean happy customers : that’s our main goal.
We want our guests to feel at home when they are away from home.
Thank you very much and come back soon to the Eternal City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My friend and I have just returned from a 3 night break,buffet breakfast was very nice and plentiful, there are a choice of items for example omelettes that you can order from the menu. We had one meal in the restaurant which was of good quality.
The bar staff were friendly and the snacks provided with our drink were very nice.
Hotel room was clean and beds comfortable, we would definitely return.
The shuttle bus is free this will take you to the metro. Train fares and bus fares are very cheap, however the only downside is taxi fares, on the way to the hotel a taxi driver tried to charge us 90 euros, the price is normally 40-50 euros standard fares.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinziaSaccani, Manager at Hotel Rome Pisana, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Julie

Thanks for your nice review!
See you at your next visit in Rome !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Artis
#389 of 1,257 in Rome
636 reviews
Ostiense
Saint Paul Hotel
Saint Paul Hotel
#507 of 1,257 in Rome
729 reviews
Black Hotel
#657 of 1,257 in Rome
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Brand Hotel Roma
#1,030 of 1,257 in Rome
158 reviews
Hotel Pineta Palace
#456 of 1,257 in Rome
984 reviews
Hotel Roma Aurelia Antica
#1,027 of 1,257 in Rome
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rome Pisana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rome Pisana

Property: Hotel Rome Pisana
Address: Via della Pisana 374, 00163 Rome, Italy (Formerly Holiday Inn Rome-Pisana)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#181 Business Hotel in Rome
#236 Family Hotel in Rome
#301 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rome Pisana 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rome Pisana is located near the Vatican, in the Western area of the Capital a few minutes away from the New Fair of Rome, from the Big Ring Road (GRA), and from Fiumicino Airport (Leonardo da Vinci). The Hotel is entirely renewed: the Hall leads you to a living room decorated with an elegant and essential style, arranged into peaceful relax zones. From the 1st of October 2014 the Holiday Inn Rome Pisana offers a quick and convenient way by a shuttle service to reach the center of Rome (Piazza Risorgimento in proximity to Vatican). The service is on request and operates according to scheduled timetable. A fare is forecasted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rome Pisana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisana Palace Hotel
Pisana Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing