We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break in Rome Eve West Yorkshire”
Review of Hotel Rome Pisana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rome Pisana
Ranked #645 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Short Break in Rome Eve West Yorkshire”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Hotel clean and modern. Room cleaned and towels changed daily. Not much storage space for clothes. Staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast is very good. Snacks in the bar good. Dinner menu poor. Yes it is a bit out of the centre but the 881 bus stops right outside. They run every 10 minutes and at £1.50 good value. Over all I would say the plus points outweigh the minus points. The staff make up for the shortfalls by giving 100 per cent. No problems, only solutions. Well done, keep it up.

A special thank you to Franco who sorted out our transfer problem and Valentina who made us feel so welcome and looked after us so well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eveisherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Rome Pisana, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear eveisherwood,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    227
    153
    55
    49
See reviews for
157
193
17
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Just spent 3 nights at this hotel and found it to be very good. The reception staff were very helpful and spoke good English. Rooms were very modern and clean and there was plenty to eat at breakfast. Yes the hotel is about a 20 minute bus ride to the Vatican but the buses run every 15 minutes and it drops you just opposite the Vatican. If you purchase the 3 day bus pass from the local shop you can use either the metro, tram or buses, it costs 15 euros and definitely good value for your money as you can jump on and off the buses for the full three days. We had dinner in the centre of Rome and found it to be very reasonable you just need to be careful re the price of your drinks.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186332Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinziaSaccani, Manager at Hotel Rome Pisana, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Dear 186332Annie ,
Thank you for your review and to have chosen our Holiday Inn Roma Pisana's.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Rome, very soon hopefully.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed there 22nd Nov 2013 for 3 nights, the hotel itself was clean, the room was also clean and tidy, but it suffered from not having an iron, no drawers and also the room I was allocated was noisey from the busy road outside the hotel.
The restuarant was ok but not a wide range of fare on offer, the steak I had on the first night was decidedly tough. The staff were friendly and polite and there is a good bus service into town which terminates near the vatican, its only a 30 minute walk from there to most of the historic sites in the old town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony_rJ3033MG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca A, Manager at Hotel Rome Pisana, responded to this review, January 14, 2016
Dear Anthony_rJ3033MG, thank you so much for your review after your stay. We hope to have the pleasure to host you in the new Holiday Inn Rome Pisana. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The only good thing is that the rooms are comfortable. The restaurant is poor very limited choice and expensive.it does not rate 4 stars even by European standards. There are no local restaurants or shops. The staff are all new and do not know what they are doing . It is difficult to get to from the airport. It is a bus ride to the Vatican but 2 buses to the central transport hub so if you fly in with Ryan Air it's 3 bus rides to the Airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brighton47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Rome Pisana, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear PhilDSomerset,

Thank you so much for the feedback provided from your stay. It is good to know you appreciate the comfortable rooms. I am sorry sorry to learn that your stay was negatively impacted by the hotel staff service, food selection and hotel location. We will certainly discuss your comments with the appropriate department. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services we have to offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for sharing your valuable comments. We hope to have the chance to provide you with a better experience.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

hyde
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

the staff are wonderful nothing is to much trouble for them, the breakfast was very good lots of choice for all nationalities, you will not go hungry, rooms nice and clean spacious. Corridors are cold but the temp has dropped rapidly.staff 10 out of 10. We ate in rome before returning to hotel

Room Tip: We had no problems here.it is a bus ride away, this is not a problem.we enjoyed the trip into rome a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyhtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinziaSaccani, Manager at Hotel Rome Pisana, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Dear tonyhtony,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback and to have chosen our Holiday Inn Rome Pisana's.
We appreciate the fact that you found our Hotel good and our staff very helpful.
It's our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.
With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Although this hotel was modern and clean, it was not our choice but our original hotel was flooded and we were relocated. The location was terrible- the urban route bus 881 was good, but the hotel shuttle was as much good as a chocolate poker....
There was one restaurant within walking distance and although the food was very good, it would have been nice to eat in town and come backlater, but the journey put us off. I would never book this hotel again on a location basis.
The hotel menu was vey limited, and the drinks at the bar seemed to be random prices depending on who served you. The rooms were too hot and the downstairs area too cold.
Pay a bit more and stay in the centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather12345672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Rome Pisana, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Heather12345672,

I certainly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. Please accept my sincere apology overall dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stay and we regret our location did not suit your travel well. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, I would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I'm leaving this hotel with mixed feelings.
On first impression it was a bit like being in a space ship. It's modern almost to the extreme. Very clean and tidy, which is obviously a big plus.

1. There are some weird inconsistencies about the standard like the individually wrapped and sealed throwaway plastic cups instead of glasses and the lack of a shower curtain in a spotless and very nice bathroom equipped with a bidet! The lack of shower curtain was very awkward.
The net curtain looked dusty not sure if it was meant to be grey in any case I didn't like having to handle it on opening the window, which was odd in the otherwise pristine and spotlessly clean room.
There was a very curious cone-shaped plastic lamp with a handle and a hook on top with a long cord on the desk. It looked like it was meant to be carried around the room in hand maybe in case you didn't find the light switch. Very odd contraption.

2. The staff was ok, helpful, if slightly frigid.

3. The breakfast was ok self service continental plus eggs bacon and wiener sausages. The jam was the best quality what in England we would call conserve as opposed to the boring single serving semi-transparent fruit flavoured jelly-like jam I'm used to in hotels.

4. They are obviously not putting much effort into catering there are about five different dishes on their menu so we went to the Schiavi d'Abruzzo where they send a car for you for free if you ask reception to call them for you. Excellent food and service although you need to pay attention because I believe we were over priced. (BUT then it was the same everywhere else. It seems like the tourists are massively being expoited in all kinds of ways.) We kept going back though because it was convenient and nice and really quite pleasant only paying more attention to what we ordered the second and third time around. The restaurant was full of local people every night.

5. The hotel is far out of town there's a shuttle service for €2 and local buses every 10 minutes that stop right in front for €1.50 and go straight to the Vatican. But it's not a pleasant part of Roman suburbia so you won't want to take nice quiet walks in the evenings not even to the restaurant and back. That's why once already here it was worth the high prices at the Schiavi with the free pick-up service included.

Having done a bit more research there are similarly priced nice hotels in town so next time I will look around more.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keravill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Artis
#391 of 1,261 in Rome
649 reviews
Hotel Pineta Palace
#439 of 1,261 in Rome
1,024 reviews
Scheppers Hotel
#1,036 of 1,261 in Rome
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Brand Hotel Roma
#1,054 of 1,261 in Rome
166 reviews
Black Hotel
#666 of 1,261 in Rome
853 reviews
Ostiense
Saint Paul Hotel
Saint Paul Hotel
#498 of 1,261 in Rome
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rome Pisana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rome Pisana

Property: Hotel Rome Pisana
Address: Via della Pisana 374, 00163 Rome, Italy (Formerly Holiday Inn Rome-Pisana)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Business Hotel in Rome
#236 Family Hotel in Rome
#296 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rome Pisana 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rome Pisana is located near the Vatican, in the Western area of the Capital a few minutes away from the New Fair of Rome, from the Big Ring Road (GRA), and from Fiumicino Airport (Leonardo da Vinci). The Hotel is entirely renewed: the Hall leads you to a living room decorated with an elegant and essential style, arranged into peaceful relax zones. From the 1st of October 2014 the Holiday Inn Rome Pisana offers a quick and convenient way by a shuttle service to reach the center of Rome (Piazza Risorgimento in proximity to Vatican). The service is on request and operates according to scheduled timetable. A fare is forecasted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rome Pisana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisana Palace Hotel
Pisana Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing