We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Modern & Too Far Out”
Review of Hotel Rome Pisana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Rome Pisana
Ranked #652 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Too Modern & Too Far Out”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We arrived here November 2013. Our first impression was how ultra mod it was. We were shown to our room after a wait as wasn't quite ready. Our first impression was how wacky the furniture was. I have never seen so many lights in a room and trying to fathom out how they worked was an art. We were gasping for a cup of tea but found the kettle wasn't working at all. A maid was outside the room so we told her and she brought us another one. Then we found there was no milk so told her that but all they have are sachets of powdered milk which went all lumpy when added to the hot drink. Coffee and tea sachets were not replenished daily and we had to ask reception for these. I give credit where it is due, the reception did act promptly though. On a plus side there is a fridge in the room where you can buy milk etc and put it in there and the safety deposit box was free too. Breakfast was so so, and same every day. which consisted of cereal, tinned fruit, processed cheese, scrambled eggs and fatty bacon,. Also croissants and cake. For me this hotel was very clean but reminded us of a business man's hotel and too ultra mod, clinical and had no atmosphere about it. Also it was way too far out of town for us. Yes a bus stops right outside the hotel but took about half an hour into the town centre. If you do go here and are going into the town centre daily, then I would recommend a 3 day pass which you can get at the shop by the reception which lets you go on all the transport, ie bus, metro, tram etc. as much as you want. All in all, a very clean modern hotel but not for us as too clinical, no character and way too far out of town.

Room Tip: There are no stairs, only the lift and I think all rooms are more or less the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Rome Pisana, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Pam E,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    225
    153
    55
    48
See reviews for
156
193
17
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is a first rate hotel. The rooms were modern and clean. The hotel staff was extremely friendly, helpful, and spoke English very well. A public transport bus, #881, stops directly in front of the hotel, and will take you to St Peters and the Vatican. My wife and I are both disabled, using canes to get around, but had no trouble getting back and forth to the attractions we wanted to see. The Italians were very courteous about giving up a seat on the bus for us. Be warned if you arrive at Fiumicino Airport. Ensure you use only a white taxi with a meter. We made a mistake there and used a non-metered taxi, which costs 60 Euros. The costs should have been less than 40. The breakfast at the hotel was a pleasant surprise. I have spent a lot of time in Europe, during a 30 year Air Force career. The typical European continental breakfast is lean by American standards. This hotels breakfast included scrambled eggs, fruit, meats, numerous croissants, cheese, and coffee. It was much better than standard European fare, and was free. We stayed in hotels in Rome, Florence, and Venice during our trip. This hotel was by far the best of our trip. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim34550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

OK, so listen up I will tell you all you need to know about this hotel . :)

+ Great & modern rooms - clean, functional - nothing to complain about.

- Location.. YES you can take the bus but the buses are unreliable - italian style.. And even if you CAN take the bus to Rome center you want to land and do something on the night, it's just nothing to do around the hotel.. Sure there are some restaurant 1-2 km away but really, you cant be arsed. We rented a car, and I drove with destination set on Colleseum - HELLO TRAFIC, will never do that again.. If you drive in Italy just forget everything you know about trafic rules, crazy..

- Service: I didnt like it, not very friendly and really bad at english.

- Food & Breakfast: Crap, dont eat here and drop your expectations.

+ There is a great restaurant like 1.5 km from the hotel and if you ask in the reception they call a minibus for free to pick you up, I mean the minibus is free of charge, roundtrip. Very nice! And the food is just great over there. The restaurant is called Schiavi d'Abruzzo - go there if you decide to stay here!

Overall its kinda hard to rate since the hotel alone is good but everything around it, is basiclly crap so I had to give it 2-rating since it is MY overall experience of the stay that counts.

I hope this helps you to make your choice about this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vipdanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Rome Pisana, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Vipdanne,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Chico CA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. When we arrived at 8AM after 30 hours of travel, naturally the room wasn't ready for us yet. The hotel was nice enough to let us eat at the breakfast bar even thought they didn't have to. At first we panicked because the hotel is not near downtown where all the sights are and we were intimidated about using public transportation. The truth is it's not difficult. The bus across the street takes you right to the Vatican and the hotel has a shuttle that will take you to the metro, which is also easy to negotiate. I think it would help the hotel if the shuttle was free since location is the biggest downfall of the property. It's 2 euro per-person and it would seem a good business decision to make that free. The bottom line is the hotel is a little remote from where you want to be. That can lead to a couple expensive cab rides if you have reservations out at night, but you do have access to public transportation which will get you to most of the sights you want to see. The property itself is very modern and the staff is always willing to help. I think if they wrote up a real clear guide to getting around from the hotel, it would be very helpful (Our hotel in Venice had this). So really the one complaint I have about this hotel is the one thing they can't do much about. If you are comfortable using public transportation which in Rome you will probably use anyway this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allenpooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Rome Pisana, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear allenpooh,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

We regret that you did not find our location convenient to your needs. Nevertheless, it was real pleasure to learn that you had a pleasant overall experience with us.

Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a beautiful, sleek, hip looking hotel. Very modern and clean. The morning breakfast was extensive and delicious. The hotel is, however, way out of city center. I would not recommend it unless you are with a tour group, are driving or are VERY comfortable with public transit. There is a bus that stops right in front. The info on the hotel website and that's available at the front desk says the bus drops you off by a metro station (the metro line in Rome is fantastic - will take you to all the major sites). This is NOT true. The bus, in fact, will drop you in the middle of nowhere and you have to walk 10-15 minutes through winding Roman streets to find it, if you can find it at all. The hotel offers a shuttle, but they don't tell you that A. it's 2 euro per person per trip B. where the shuttle picks up at the metro station and C. the shuttle only runs until about 6 p.m. at night.

Room Tip: There's not a particularly nice view from anywhere in the hotel but surprisingly, the room we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSandIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We took the opportunity to visit Rome via a travel agents offer using this hotel. One review suggested the Vatican was 10 minutes drive, another stated it was 35 minutes bus ride into central Rome. The latter is correct - but the 881 bus stops just outside the hotel and is a very convenient way to get into Rome. The hotel website suggested they had a free courtesy bus to the vatican. It actually costs 2 euro's per person. The bus is 1. 50 euros each. We only paid this once as we then collected our Roma Passes which allowed free travel on buses and metro.
Rooms were as illustrated on the website. Clean and comfortable with modern bathrooms and good double sized shower (no bath). Hospitality tray provided but no milk. We bought a small bottle of milk and used the mini fridge.
Breakfast was not as good as we hoped. They offered ham and cheese, scrambled eggs, Plumrose style sausages, bread that never seemed fresh, cereals, tinned fruit, a variety of cakes and croissants. The juice machine delivered what seemed like powered juice and there were 2 coffee machines serving a variety of coffees and tea. All edible but could have been better quality.
Staff were friendly. The hotel did not offer the free cocktails we had been promised by the travel agent but provided it once I asked about it (prior to checkout). They apologised for the mistake but others traveling with the same company never got theirs.
On our third night I was kept awake by what I think was an air conditioning unit on the roof (we were on the top floor) but this had not been a problem the first two nights.
The interior of the hotel is modern if not a little stark.

Room Tip: Asking for a room at the back may save any traffic noise. Buses wait for excursion parties outside o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyYOrk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel seems a bit out of the centre but give it a go its worth it. The english speaking staff are friendly and the rooms are of a high standard for a budget hotel. Food about average in cost and quality for a hotel but there are cheaper local restuarants just up the road. The best bit is that the hotel is on a major bus route - Bus 881 goes from the hotel to the centre near St peters and The vatican . ( Frank gives his public address from his place of work on Wednesday mornings - very well attended!) If you are going to Rome give it a try but buy the Roma Pass for discount on the Museums and sites ( otherwise its 10-11 euros a go and it soon mounts up) also buy the 3 day public transport pass and you can hop on and off the buses and the metro with no problems. . Transfers back forth from the Airport can be dear but there are direct buses for 4 euros - they go to the Terminus and you then have the choice of buses or the metro - easy but get a map.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papworthian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca A, Manager at Hotel Rome Pisana, responded to this review, December 4, 2014
Dear Papworthian,
thank you for your review about your stay.
We hope to see you in the new Holiday Inn Rome Pisana's, entirely restructured last year.
Best regards and thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Artis
#378 of 1,261 in Rome
649 reviews
Hotel Pineta Palace
#445 of 1,261 in Rome
1,023 reviews
Scheppers Hotel
#1,036 of 1,261 in Rome
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Brand Hotel Roma
#1,053 of 1,261 in Rome
166 reviews
Black Hotel
#669 of 1,261 in Rome
852 reviews
Ostiense
Saint Paul Hotel
Saint Paul Hotel
#494 of 1,261 in Rome
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rome Pisana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rome Pisana

Property: Hotel Rome Pisana
Address: Via della Pisana 374, 00163 Rome, Italy (Formerly Holiday Inn Rome-Pisana)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Business Hotel in Rome
#236 Family Hotel in Rome
#296 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rome Pisana 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rome Pisana is located near the Vatican, in the Western area of the Capital a few minutes away from the New Fair of Rome, from the Big Ring Road (GRA), and from Fiumicino Airport (Leonardo da Vinci). The Hotel is entirely renewed: the Hall leads you to a living room decorated with an elegant and essential style, arranged into peaceful relax zones. From the 1st of October 2014 the Holiday Inn Rome Pisana offers a quick and convenient way by a shuttle service to reach the center of Rome (Piazza Risorgimento in proximity to Vatican). The service is on request and operates according to scheduled timetable. A fare is forecasted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rome Pisana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisana Palace Hotel
Pisana Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing