We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our stay at st angelo”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sant'Angelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sant'Angelo
Ranked #332 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“our stay at st angelo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

we got rooms on the back side, small in size, one of the bathrooms quite small!! breakfast was so so! too much western actually in taste, bacons not so tasty, kept moist in some watery stuff. salamis not very tasty either, tased half done, egg options no good, juice no good. no kettle in the room, for hot water to make some tea in the room had to struggle to get a tea pot full which smelled weird! The staff in the breakfast room was not so good either. Not value for money @Euro 138/- per room per night!!
Location wise quite good. Staff was very helpful. The man in the reception was extremely helpful.
I will look for some other location next time and will not recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: find some other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDAS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    359
    141
    47
    44
See reviews for
185
360
35
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Sant Angelo for a family vacation this past June. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of many tourist attractions. There were nearby restaurants making eating very easy. The hotel is quaint and all of the employees are very friendly and helpful. They have a free happy hour every day from 6:30 to 8:00pm with wine and light food. You can get breakfast included in your reservation or pay 7.50 euros per person to eat at your choice. The breakfast was very nice with eggs, yogurt, cereal, pastries, juices, etc. and seemed to be reasonably priced for what you get. The hotel seems to be a converted old house. There is a small "lift", but the stairs are easier to use unless you have limited physical abilities. Our only complaint is that the showers are incredibly tiny and require getting used to. By the last day, I had mastered how to best use it. Air conditioning worked well. We would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: We had three rooms, all of which were comprised of different configurations of twin beds. Singles ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Cameron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Booked this last minute knowing it was about 15/20 mins walk away from most places really enjoyed the location so close to everything. When we got there the staff were warm and friendly giving us a map and circling places to see and they were very helpful throughout the visit helping us book taxis etc. The rooms were basic but clean and nice to stay in (you get what you pay for really). Overall nice atmosphere and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amritamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

If you want to equate this inn to a more familiar US chain I would think Fairfield Inn would be a good fit. But a lot lot more charm. Our room was super small. It was the standard room. I believe there were larger ones but we didn't ask for one. Breakfast and happy hour were served every day and had yogurt, cheeses and pastries they would fix your coffee to order or you could pour your own. As stated in previous posts the inn is centrally located. I specifically asked for a main building room. I know nothing of the annex other than what is written
on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memyrcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romiley
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on the 18th June for 4 nights. Our room was spotless and the bed very comfortable. The bed was made up every day and fresh towels supplied on a daily basis too. Good selection at breakfast. However I think they could do with one more staff in attendance, as sometimes you had to search around for cutlery or cups etc. Other than that, the staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is superb. 10/15 minutes walk to the Vatican City. 30/40 minutes by foot to the Colosseum on the other side of the river. Use only the white cabs and avoid using the buses if you can. Nobody queues for the bus...it's a free for all and not a pleasant one. Even if you manage to get on you are packed like sardines !! Rome is beautiful and not to be missed. We would definitely go back to the Sant' Angelo if we visit Rome again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Good hotel with the perfect location. Just between Vatican and Spain stairs. Good breakfast (for the Italy). Excellent staff. Normal free Wi-Fi. Excellent location for shopping. Present in the beginning - small bottle of wine.

Room Tip: 207 was too small - the first 2 nights, the same grade room 204 was much better and very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Дмитрий К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Two years ago we stayed for 3 nights prior to our cruise and one night after. We did the same thing this year. We stayed 2 nights prior to our cruise and one after. We overlooked small issues with air conditioning 2 years ago. Both visits 2 years ago we stayed in the main building. We requested it specifically because we had heard about the annex. This year on the visit prior to the cruise we had a few small issues but once again overlooked them. One of the rooms smelled so bad sewage that we called the desk. They tried to fix it but ended up moving my family out of that room. After that everything was fine. When we returned after the cruise we dropped off our luggage around 9 am and headed out for the day since check in is not until 3 pm. At that time the people at the desk never mentioned that they were having issues in the main building and that our rooms would be in the annex. Had they mentioned this we would have looked for another hotel based on the reviews about the annex. We returned at 3 pm and were informed that our rooms were in the annex. We were very upset because of everything we had heard. We told them we would check the rooms out. The first problems is obviously security. It requires hotel guests to go through 3 to 4 locks to get into their room. Why would you need all of these locks if the building is safe? The room on the 1st floor was fine. However, the room on the 4th floor did not have working air. We even tried to use one of the fans in the hallway (that should have clued us in) but it was still unbearable for the 70 year old and 61 year old in our group. I called the front desk and it took them several minutes for them to decide that they could move them to the 1st floor of the annex with us. We were extremely unhappy but due to the hour and the fact that we had already arranged transportation for the next day to the airport we stayed. Keep in mind due to the change we now had to drag our bags back to the main building for our transportation pick up. The longer we stayed in the room the more upset we became. The shower was covered with black mold. The end tables were so thick in dust that I could write my full name. We had a live bug in one bed and a dead bug in another. They were so disgusting that we didn't even crawl under the covers that night. One of the windows wouldn't latch so it required us to stack our luggage up in front of it to keep it closed. One of the rooms had mattresses so bad that my 61 year old mother woke up with marks and soreness from the springs in the mattress poking through. This was the worst ever! As repeat customers we should have been treated better. We booked our rooms almost a year in advance and specified that we wanted the main building. Even though they were now booked solid they should have adjusted things considering the fact that not only have we stayed with them several times but we specifically requested the main building. I will give the staff credit for adjusting our stay prior to the cruise because we had mistakenly only booked one night and didn't realize it until a couple of days before we left. This is the only positive thing I have to say about this stay. Our final morning was made worse by the treatment of the staff at breakfast. We gave them our room but they made us go and get a note from the front desk verifying we were staying at the hotel. This had never happened before. To top it off the woman in the breakfast area took the note and went back to the desk to triple verify. She returned to say, "You are okay." Really??
This is will our last visit to Hotel Sant Angelo. We had recommended it to friends but will never do that again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaCG116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Diplomatic
Hotel Diplomatic
#225 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Colonna
Infinity Hotel Roma
Infinity Hotel Roma
#57 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Prati
Roma dei Papi - Hotel de Charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Adriatic Hotel
Adriatic Hotel
#486 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Prati
Le Meridien Visconti Rome
Hotel Re di Roma
#162 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sant'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant'Angelo

Property: Hotel Sant'Angelo
Address: Via Marianna Dionigi 16 | Vatican area, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#237 Family Hotel in Rome
#323 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant'Angelo 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sant'Angelo is a perfect venue for you to start exploring Rome. It is set in one of the best districts of the Eternal City and is just few minutes walking from many important touristic attractions, such as Castel Sant'Angelo, St. Peter's Basilica and the Spanish Steps. It is suitable for business travels as well since it is really close to Piazza Cavour, the square in which is located the Palace of Justice (called from local people il Palazzaccio).The Hotel is a perfect starting point also for those who want to explore the city centre for shopping: commercial streets such as Via del Corso, Via Condotti and Via Ottaviano are easily reachable on foot in very short time. Our staff will always try to be helpful during your entire stay giving you informations and advices on everything you may need. Feel free to ask them even where to go tasting tipical dishes of Roman and Italian tradition. You may also ask our clerks to reserve you tickets for museums, gigs, theatres and even guided visits of the most interesting venues of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sant'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Angelo Rome
Sant Angelo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing