We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel with an excellent attitude of the staff”
Review of Hotel Sant'Angelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sant'Angelo
Ranked #349 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at that hotel for 7 nights, late Oct. early Nov. the Hotel is situated at the Prati quarter which is nicer and less crowded than the Centre of the city although it is located very close to both the Vatican and the attractions of classical Rome.
The Hotel has two non adjacent buildings. We stayed at the one without a reception. it made it much cheaper for the same quality of rooms.
Really exeptional was the attitude and the will to satisfy the guests by all staf members, from the reception staff to the bell boy to the cleaning ladies. really rare!
There was also "Happy hour" each evening were the guest were invited "on the house" for wine and refreshment.
I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a bigger room at the same rate, The rooms at the farther building are cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yigal m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 907 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently situated - just a stroll across the bridge to Via Condotti and the Spanish Steps. The staff were brilliant - made us feel very welcome and were always helpful and friendly. My only gripe is the size of the room, which was too small for 8 nights, but I think in order to get a bigger room in this part of Rome, it would have cost twice as much. I hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had a great stay at Hotel Sant Angelo. The comments from the other guests were quite accurate as you would expect and we were very happy to have chosen this hotel.
The hotel is in a very convenient location. It is probably about 15 minutes walk from the Vatican. We attended Mass in St Peters basilica with about 20 cardinals in attendance which was a truly memorable experience. Note that you can attend Mass in the St Josephs area of the basilica as well as in the main church of St Peter's basilica.
Near the Vatican there are very nice shops along Via Ottaviano and Via Cola di Rienzo.

The hotel is also very close to the main sights of Rome which we walked to including the Borghese gardens, Spanish steps, Trevi fountain, Pantheon, Forum and Colosseum. No need to use any public transport at all.

We used Rome Shuttle Limousine service for our trips to Fiumicino airport and they were fine.

I would have no doubts at all in recommending this hotel to other visitors to Rome.

Room Tip: Both of our rooms were quite small, but then we did request to be in the main hotel and not the anne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvanHatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We arrived Friday at 16:00 at the hotel by a chauffeur arranged by Sant'Angelo. The reception is on the first floor accessible either by steps or a tiny elevator. The hotel is located in a part of an old house, i e the house was not built to accomodate a hotel and this may be noticed in all areas such as reception, breakfast room or rooms as such.

The receptionist was very professional and we got a good presentation of the hotel, information and nearby areas of interest on a map. More than fair english spoken which is not always the case in Italy. We got help to walk us th short distance (50 meters) to the annex.

The annex requires a lot of keys; External gate, interior gate, door (into appartment) and finally the room key. The Annex is two rebuilt appartments that have approx 5 rooms each. There is a vending machine in the "lobby". Our room had a queen size bed but only one blanket, which was ok since it was 25 degrees during our visit...

The hotel and annex is on a calm street but very close to everything. It takes less than 10 mins to walk over the bridge to central room. The spanish steps is another additional 15 mins walk (it may be less but so many shops and windows to look at...).

The breakfast buffet is better the earlier you arrive. We arrived later Sat-Mon and early Tuesday. The difference in buffet was quite big.

One nice little thing was the 19:00-20:00 "welcome" buffet with a glass of wine and some small cocktail treats.

Room Tip: Rooms in annex are supposedly "better" than in the main hotel area. Annex are on either 2n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeeJay4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in an apartment plus two hotels during our stay due to flying standby and not getting on the plane. This hotel was great. We were in the annex. Big windows, quiet, big room with a great bathroom. Only complaint was not very hot shower even though the sink got extremely hot water. The happy hour made my day! The staff was excellent, asking several times if we needed info about the city. You could tell they love living here and wanted to share. Wifi was excellent. Best in the city for sure. I would recommend this hotel! The reception is on the first floor and that is clearly marked, just take the lift up.

Thank icequeenrionna
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelSantAngelo, Proprietario at Hotel Sant'Angelo, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, all appreciate our complimentary aperitif and we are very proud of. Our rooms in the annexe - annexe building are furnished in style and more economic than the rooms of the main building, we invite you to see the photos of the rooms in the annexe in our official website. Our heating system has been enhanced and now it does not happen that there are more bubbles' air in the heating system. Our staff is friendly and always willing to help. Our powerful and free wifi is always on.
See you soon, Michela Capurso - Hotel Sant Angelo in Rome - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Mixed reviews. Got to hotel and they didn't have a room, stated something was wrong with room so we had to go across street to Annex which really didn't have security other than a lock. Main door always left unlocked and seemed to be largely an over flow spot and/or students. We were told we had to come back to hotel for breakfast because we paid for that. Said they couldn't guarantee we would be back at hotel next night because it depended on how many new check ins they had. We said no - we were there first and would get next available room and then we would agree. Fortunately for us on this leg of trip we used travel agent and texted her. We moved into main hotel next morning and we were given two separate rooms for our inconvenience. I don't know if this would have happened without our travel agent. Breakfast was good but horrible scrambled eggs - very runny and wet. Basically had to scoop. Eggs out of liquid but lots of choices so no issue. Hotel hosted reception every night from 7:30 to 8:30 but last three nights when we got there at 7:35, wine was gone. They only had equivalent to one bottle to split among all guests, who poured their own, so most people got no wine but did have food to nibble on. Generally just that little bit of food was enough so we weren't hungry and considered reception just a perk and if there was no wine, it wasn't am issue. Good location and friendly staff. Saw quite a few people over our five days run into same issue where they were being sent to Annex and were not happy. Rooms were clean and neat and typically small but common for Europe. Would stay here again but only if I booked with travel agent because of the problem with Annex

Room Tip: Biggest issue is getting a reservation and then pushed over to their over fill space in another buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jmbierl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantAngelo, Proprietario at Hotel Sant'Angelo, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed the surprise of our free appetizer where we offer tastes of local food and organic wine. We are very sorry that our staff has made ​​a small mistake in the assignment of your room, giving you a room in annexe, unfortunately when bookings are made through the agency often there can be misunderstandings, so we advise you to book again with our official website .
See you soon, Michela Capurso - Hotel Sant Angelo in Rome - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

our family of 4 adults stayed here in August 2013.
The rooms were comfortable and clean -
The reception is upstairs and the lift is rather small but this was not a big issue. The staff were helpful at reception . Breakfast area is too small if you dont arrive early you have wait which is a bit inconvenient if you have a tour or appointment booked, However the food was good and the scrambled eggs were one of the best we have had. Coffee was very nice too.
The location is convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rameez S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantAngelo, Proprietario at Hotel Sant'Angelo, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, our hotel has a couple of bed rooms, comfortable for families, decorated in Art Nouveau style, we invite you to see the photo in our website. L 'hotel lift is an old elevator from the 900, with a slightly retro charm, our breakfast always plentiful and fresh products, not least our coffee and espresso rigorously prepared by expert hands every morning for each guest . Our location is within walking distance to all major attractions of the city, go see the interactive map on our website.
See you soon, Michela Capurso - Hotel Sant Angelo in Rome - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Diplomatic
Hotel Diplomatic
#207 of 1,269 in Rome
803 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#195 of 1,269 in Rome
1,066 reviews
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#104 of 1,269 in Rome
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Infinity Hotel Roma
Infinity Hotel Roma
#64 of 1,269 in Rome
663 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#254 of 1,269 in Rome
598 reviews
Hotel Re di Roma
#157 of 1,269 in Rome
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sant'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant'Angelo

Address: Via Marianna Dionigi 16 | Vatican area, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#237 Family Hotel in Rome
#322 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $68 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant'Angelo 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sant'Angelo is a perfect venue for you to start exploring Rome. It is set in one of the best districts of the Eternal City and is just few minutes walking from many important touristic attractions, such as Castel Sant'Angelo, St. Peter's Basilica and the Spanish Steps. It is suitable for business travels as well since it is really close to Piazza Cavour, the square in which is located the Palace of Justice (called from local people il Palazzaccio).The Hotel is a perfect starting point also for those who want to explore the city centre for shopping: commercial streets such as Via del Corso, Via Condotti and Via Ottaviano are easily reachable on foot in very short time. Our staff will always try to be helpful during your entire stay giving you informations and advices on everything you may need. Feel free to ask them even where to go tasting tipical dishes of Roman and Italian tradition. You may also ask our clerks to reserve you tickets for museums, gigs, theatres and even guided visits of the most interesting venues of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Sant'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Angelo Rome
Sant Angelo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing