We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Hotel Sant'Angelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sant'Angelo
Ranked #336 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in an apartment plus two hotels during our stay due to flying standby and not getting on the plane. This hotel was great. We were in the annex. Big windows, quiet, big room with a great bathroom. Only complaint was not very hot shower even though the sink got extremely hot water. The happy hour made my day! The staff was excellent, asking several times if we needed info about the city. You could tell they love living here and wanted to share. Wifi was excellent. Best in the city for sure. I would recommend this hotel! The reception is on the first floor and that is clearly marked, just take the lift up.

Helpful?
Thank icequeenrionna
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelSantAngelo, Proprietario at Hotel Sant'Angelo, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, all appreciate our complimentary aperitif and we are very proud of. Our rooms in the annexe - annexe building are furnished in style and more economic than the rooms of the main building, we invite you to see the photos of the rooms in the annexe in our official website. Our heating system has been enhanced and now it does not happen that there are more bubbles' air in the heating system. Our staff is friendly and always willing to help. Our powerful and free wifi is always on.
See you soon, Michela Capurso - Hotel Sant Angelo in Rome - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    368
    142
    48
    46
See reviews for
187
376
35
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Mixed reviews. Got to hotel and they didn't have a room, stated something was wrong with room so we had to go across street to Annex which really didn't have security other than a lock. Main door always left unlocked and seemed to be largely an over flow spot and/or students. We were told we had to come back to hotel for breakfast because we paid for that. Said they couldn't guarantee we would be back at hotel next night because it depended on how many new check ins they had. We said no - we were there first and would get next available room and then we would agree. Fortunately for us on this leg of trip we used travel agent and texted her. We moved into main hotel next morning and we were given two separate rooms for our inconvenience. I don't know if this would have happened without our travel agent. Breakfast was good but horrible scrambled eggs - very runny and wet. Basically had to scoop. Eggs out of liquid but lots of choices so no issue. Hotel hosted reception every night from 7:30 to 8:30 but last three nights when we got there at 7:35, wine was gone. They only had equivalent to one bottle to split among all guests, who poured their own, so most people got no wine but did have food to nibble on. Generally just that little bit of food was enough so we weren't hungry and considered reception just a perk and if there was no wine, it wasn't am issue. Good location and friendly staff. Saw quite a few people over our five days run into same issue where they were being sent to Annex and were not happy. Rooms were clean and neat and typically small but common for Europe. Would stay here again but only if I booked with travel agent because of the problem with Annex

Room Tip: Biggest issue is getting a reservation and then pushed over to their over fill space in another buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jmbierl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantAngelo, Proprietario at Hotel Sant'Angelo, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed the surprise of our free appetizer where we offer tastes of local food and organic wine. We are very sorry that our staff has made ​​a small mistake in the assignment of your room, giving you a room in annexe, unfortunately when bookings are made through the agency often there can be misunderstandings, so we advise you to book again with our official website .
See you soon, Michela Capurso - Hotel Sant Angelo in Rome - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

our family of 4 adults stayed here in August 2013.
The rooms were comfortable and clean -
The reception is upstairs and the lift is rather small but this was not a big issue. The staff were helpful at reception . Breakfast area is too small if you dont arrive early you have wait which is a bit inconvenient if you have a tour or appointment booked, However the food was good and the scrambled eggs were one of the best we have had. Coffee was very nice too.
The location is convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rameez S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantAngelo, Proprietario at Hotel Sant'Angelo, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, our hotel has a couple of bed rooms, comfortable for families, decorated in Art Nouveau style, we invite you to see the photo in our website. L 'hotel lift is an old elevator from the 900, with a slightly retro charm, our breakfast always plentiful and fresh products, not least our coffee and espresso rigorously prepared by expert hands every morning for each guest . Our location is within walking distance to all major attractions of the city, go see the interactive map on our website.
See you soon, Michela Capurso - Hotel Sant Angelo in Rome - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were very disappointed that the Hotel St. Angelo did not live up to its hype. On arrival, we were told that we had been updated to a triple room (not that we asked for or needed one) but this didn't happen. We were taken to the annex and given a dark double room with a dodgy shower door that fell off, a sink without a guard on the plughole, so that there was a gaping hole and the drainage was very poor, which meant the by the time you had finished showering, you were standing in 2 inches of water. The air conditioning was so noisy, we could not use it and the lift did not work, meaning that we had over 40 stairs to climb to get to our room. There was a small kettle with 2 sachets of coffee, 1 sachet of sweetener but no tea or milk. On the third day we were actually given one tiny tub of cream. Breakfast was nothing to write home about, with fresh fruit on only one day out of 3. I know that the management will say that we should have complained while we were there, but It's their responsibility to deliver a good service and perfectly functioning hotel. On the plus side, the bed was large and comfortable, sheets and towels were clean and the shower worked well. Great location in a decent neighbourhood and we didn't let the disappointment ruin a wonderful few days in this magnificent city.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boropanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantAngelo, Proprietario at Hotel Sant'Angelo, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed our new orthopedic mattresses to ensure peaceful sleep to our guests, bed linen and towels of good quality and showers with running water always hot. In addition, our location is perfect for exploring on foot all over the city, you can see the map on our official website. Sorry for the mistake made in the assignment of the room, it was a human error, unfortunately one of our receptionist was wrong to assign a room that was under maintenance.
See you soon, Michela Capurso - Hotel Sant Angelo Rome - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Excellent hotel. Very clean and comfortable and within walking distance to all major sights. Staff were friendly and helpful, provided MAPS and directions and gave advice on trips. Coffee, water and nibble were available free of charge in the reception area and nightly Wine and nibbles were provided in the breakfast area for a meet and greet. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone going to Rome

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantAngelo, Proprietario at Hotel Sant'Angelo, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, our hotel is cleaned every day by experienced staff, our location is very central, a few steps from "campodefiori," the vatican, spanish steps, our staff is always available to help customers with city ​​map and precise directions on what to visit and where to eat the best local dishes. During the day we serve coffee and water for our guests and in the evening we organize an excellent aperitif with local products, all free of charge and offered with a smile.
See you soon, Michela Capurso - Hotel Sant Angelo General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were there to celebrate our anniversary, and asked for a nice room with a double bed, and that it's exactly what we had.
Our room was large ( compared to other ones had in Rome in the past) with a high vaulted ceiling and a large french window to the outside, which made it feel even more spacious. It had a comfortable large double bed, it was beautifully decorated with original furniture and features and was immaculately clean. It also had a large LCD screen television. All in all, it felt like a boutique hotel room rather than a corporate one.
Not a large shower room but nicely appointed and perfectly adequate for most people, with great towels.
Nice little touches included complimentary drinks and cakes on arrival, and a free drinks and nibbles session every evening between 7.30 and 8.30, which was ideal to chat to other guests and staff members.
Add to all this the amazing location, next to piazza Cavour, near every major attraction, but outside the madness that is the Centro Storico, and you have a great little gem in Rome.
But what makes the Sant Angelo exceptional was the Staff. They were professional, friendly and always willing to help. Lots of smiles and interaction made us feel welcomed and valued everytime we walked through the door.
We would happily recommend the Sant Angelo, and hope to be back there sometime soon.

Room Tip: Pay extra and stay in the main building, because it is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank advisortedolita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantAngelo, Proprietario at Hotel Sant'Angelo, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, for your anniversary, we reserved a room more spacious, a triple, with all the most modern amenities such as a large LCD television, but decorated in Art Nouveau style with antique furniture, the sant angelo we always try to be a boutique hotel different from others. We are delighted that you enjoyed our complimentary appetizer evening, where we serve typical local products and organic wine. Our position is our strong point, we are centrally located, it is not necessary to take public transport and the city can be visited on foot walking in full, we are also close to the center but in a quiet residential area, with a beautiful square, go to see photos of cavour square in our official website. Our staff is always helpful and smiling, we are waiting.
Michela Capurso - Hotel Sant Angelo General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Had very limited time in Rome. Wanted a room within walking distance to the major sights and this hotel was great. We were also all women so wanted a safe location. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the annex which was a bit of a hassle as you have to go through 3 locked doors to get in but the rooms were comfortable. My only complaint is that the elevator is small (one person with suitcase and there were 5 of us) and didn't work when we left. Otherwise, great value.

Room Tip: Annex rooms are cheaper but no in house staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jet60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantAngelo, Proprietario at Hotel Sant'Angelo, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. Our area is very safe, in the center of Rome in the middle of two local police stations, it is a quiet residential area where you can walk the night. In addition, our location is very central, a few steps from the Spanish Steps, the Vatican and Campo de Fiori. Our rooms in the annexe just 50 meters from the main building are excellent and economical solution in style, we invite you to see the photos of the rooms in the annex to our official site, the three ports are three security doors to ensure the highest level of tranquility to our guests. Sorry, that when you leave the lift was under maintenance but they fixed it and now it works fine.
see you soon,
Michela Capurso - Hotel Sant Angelo - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Diplomatic
Hotel Diplomatic
#225 of 1,258 in Rome
793 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#193 of 1,258 in Rome
1,041 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Adriatic Hotel
Adriatic Hotel
#501 of 1,258 in Rome
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Infinity Hotel Roma
Infinity Hotel Roma
#62 of 1,258 in Rome
635 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#96 of 1,258 in Rome
1,476 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#72 of 1,258 in Rome
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sant'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant'Angelo

Property: Hotel Sant'Angelo
Address: Via Marianna Dionigi 16 | Vatican area, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#237 Family Hotel in Rome
#323 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant'Angelo 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sant'Angelo is a perfect venue for you to start exploring Rome. It is set in one of the best districts of the Eternal City and is just few minutes walking from many important touristic attractions, such as Castel Sant'Angelo, St. Peter's Basilica and the Spanish Steps. It is suitable for business travels as well since it is really close to Piazza Cavour, the square in which is located the Palace of Justice (called from local people il Palazzaccio).The Hotel is a perfect starting point also for those who want to explore the city centre for shopping: commercial streets such as Via del Corso, Via Condotti and Via Ottaviano are easily reachable on foot in very short time. Our staff will always try to be helpful during your entire stay giving you informations and advices on everything you may need. Feel free to ask them even where to go tasting tipical dishes of Roman and Italian tradition. You may also ask our clerks to reserve you tickets for museums, gigs, theatres and even guided visits of the most interesting venues of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sant'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Angelo Rome
Sant Angelo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing