We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Three Nights' Stay at One of Roma's Cosiest Little Hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sant'Angelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sant'Angelo
Ranked #332 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Three Nights' Stay at One of Roma's Cosiest Little Hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Couple a strategic location on a peaceful street in the middle of the city with a cozy atmosphere and a lovely staff and you get a pretty good idea of the experience Hotel Sant'Angelo offers.

The Colloseum is the farthest major landmark from the hotel within the city, and it's only 20 minutes away by foot! The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from two excellent trattorias... Penne at La Francescana was simply great.

Breakfast is served at 7:30 and is wholly delicious, from the masterfully crafted cappuccino to the mezmerizing chocolate cream-filled cake. The hotel also serves free wine and bites during the afternoon, and free wifi all the time.

Modestly decorated yet with a sensibility for the antique, rooms are comfortable, clean and practical, with all the basic amenities covered. A minor inconvenience, though: bathrooms in our 3 rooms were fairly cramped.

What truly made our stay at the Sant'Angelo a memorable one, however, was the wonderful staff. Friendly, polite and professional, their advice was invaluable, their presence welcoming and their company much appreciated.

Thanks for everything, and arrivederci!

Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelSantAngelo, Proprietario at Hotel Sant'Angelo, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Joseph,

thank you for your review, you described all the main points of our hotel,
we have a good location for the main sights, easy walking distance, and delicious restaurants, good breakfast with fresh pastries, cakes and salumi and cheese, we have a retro liberty style with ancient furnitures, we offer a free wine testing in the afternoon, it's a nice time together. Our bathrooms are small, that's real, but we hope that this is a minor fact, you can check our rooms and bathrooms photos in our official website.
Kindest Regards - Michela Capurso - Hotel Sant Angelo General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    359
    141
    47
    44
See reviews for
185
361
35
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here with my partner and had a wonderful few days in Rome. The price we paid was staggering considering Rome has such a reputation for being expensive. If you want 4 star independent quality hotel for travelodge money then here is the place. The rooms were spotless, and very large. The service was just superb. Whilst it was a while ago that we went, we recommended the hotel to friends, they've stayed recently and had a similar experience. The types of things which make me think the service was great:

- provided recommendations of local decent restaurants (which turned out to be good)
- helping with luggage
- no issues with language barrier
- cleanliness
- assistance with directions.

Room Tip: The rooms in the "annexe" opposite the hotel are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavW1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantAngelo, Proprietario at Hotel Sant'Angelo, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your nice review, our staff is always helpfull to provide informations about restaurants, because you are in Italy and in Rome, so you have to try the best local dishes as carbonara and amatriciana pasta, we suggest you the best quality/price restaurant, they are 1 minute walking from our hotel. We have two bellboy that help our guests with luggage, we are a 3 star hotel but we try to give to our guests a 4 star service. Our receptionists speak two language each one so we can make conversations with our guests. Our rooms are cleaned every day carefully to give our guests spotless rooms. Our staff always give information and directions to reach all the main sites, you can check our good location in our official website.
Kindest Regards - Michela Capurso - Hotel Sant Angelo General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very good hotel, nice and friendly staff. Good location near Vatican, Piazza Cavour, Piazza Spanga, little walk until Fontana de Trevi and Piazza Navona.
Good Happy hour free and sweets at the reception.
Eu recomendo !
Abraços a Valeria, Andrea and all others.
Soon we will be back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReginaSantelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantAngelo, Proprietario at Hotel Sant'Angelo, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

a special thank you from Valeria and all of our staff for your nice review. We have a good location, perfect for a stay in Rome, every place it's a distance that you can walk to it. We offer a happy hour to our guest to lete them taste some of the italian flavours, some sweets some wine, it's nice to drink something together after a long walk in the city. Check our location in our official website, and discover all the places you can easily walk to.
Kindest Regards,
Michela Capurso - Hotel Sant Angelo General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

With our last stop in Rome, Hotel Sant'Angelo really made the final days a grande finale! We had a room for three persons, the room was divided into two different rooms with own bathrooms including showers!! -Heaven! Sant'Angelo is in a very good location, it was easy to walk down town and close enough to the subway. The hotel staff were nice and helpful, we were also offered a free wine tasting at the bar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanhHoang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantAngelo, Proprietario at Hotel Sant'Angelo, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear HanhHoang,

we want to thank you for your nice review, you had one of our special triple, the one with two rooms divided, a single and a double, very nice solution for 3 people, you can book it in our official website. Every day we offer a free wine tasting to all of our guest is our happy hour and everyone like it very much, you can drink some good wine and have some snack.
Waiting for your next holiday
Michela Capurso - Hotel Sant Angelo General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We booked Hotel Sant Angelo as it was close to being the only vancant hotel in Rome. It is located close to the Castello di Sant Angelo and Piazza Cavour and within walking distance of many of the sights.
It can be hard to find the reception when you first arrive, but follow the sign for the lift and take the lift to the first floor of the building, you will find the reception there.
The interior of the hotel and the rooms is very dated and worn, but relatively clean.
We had booked a room with breakfeast. Don't do that. The breakfeast is among the worst I've seen: stale bread and pastries, undescribable scrambled egg (looked seriously weird), and awful coffee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantAngelo, Proprietario at Hotel Sant'Angelo, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Danois,
we thank you for your review with some good but also bad points. Our location is very good, it's true, our reception is set in a big room on the first floor of an ancient building, with a comfortable sofa, high ceilings and nice ancient pieces of furniture. Take a close look to the new photos posted on our official website. We apologize for the breakfast, but you actually are the very first guest that didnt' like it. It is a continental breakfast with varied fresh delicious food changed every day, and we try to improve it continuously.
We would really like to have you as our future guest,
Michela Capurso - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying at the Hotel Sant Angelo, or should I say "Angel Hotel", which is where we have ended up? It's an annex building diagonally across the street. We found out we would be staying at the annex rather than at the Sant Angelo via email, two days before we arrived.

The location is really good. It's a short walk to the main shopping street and most attractions are within reasonable walking distance. Staff are friendly and there is a nice cafe across the road for coffee and a cornetto in the morning, which is very reasonably priced.

The room itself is spartan and not horribly dirty but not clean either. I had to laugh when I tried showering this morning and found that one of the shower doors are missing. Lots of water on the floor, reception have told me they are aware of the missing door but won't be able to resolve it today but I'm not sure it will be fixed within the next three days either.

Would I recommend this hotel for friends or family? I have to say no, which is sad. The price would provide value for money if the basics were right. So, a "poor" rating it is then.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantAngelo, Proprietario at Hotel Sant'Angelo, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear David,
when you booked our hotel you choosed our dependance - annex room, we send a summary mail some days before arrival to give useful information, when you book our hotel in our official site you'll find better information to explain exactly the room booked. We have a very good position and very good staff, our breakfast is delicious we invite you to taste it next time. You had a problem with our box shower, the previous guest broke it and we need some time to change it, now you can find a new shower box, we are sorry for this problem but it needs some time to fix.
We hope you'll stay with us next time in rome,
Kindest Regards - Michela Capurso - Hotel Sant Angelo General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira Beach, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was a great hotel near the Tiber River so very convenient. The hotel was clean and the staff was very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. We spent 4 nights and left the hotel on a Sunday for the Port of Civitavecchia to board our cruise ship. When we arrived, we realized that we had left Euros and our passports in our hotel safe. The woman at the front desk went to our room and collected our money and passports and called a taxi. We received our items and were able to board the ship on time. We appreciated her willingness to QUICKLY help us out of a very stressful situation. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Nice AM breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantAngelo, Proprietario at Hotel Sant'Angelo, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear JJwtir,
thank you for your nice review, we are doing a our best to have a clean hotel and welcoming staff, we are on the Tiber River, so a very central and good position, we always help our guests as best we can do. In 4 nights in rome you can view a lot of things, and we suggest you to check our special offers available in our official website, pay less money in the hotel and spend more money outside for shopping restaurants and museums.
Regards,
Michela Capurso - Hotel Sant Angelo General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Diplomatic
Hotel Diplomatic
#225 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Colonna
Infinity Hotel Roma
Infinity Hotel Roma
#57 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Prati
Roma dei Papi - Hotel de Charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Adriatic Hotel
Adriatic Hotel
#486 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Prati
Le Meridien Visconti Rome
Hotel Re di Roma
#162 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sant'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant'Angelo

Property: Hotel Sant'Angelo
Address: Via Marianna Dionigi 16 | Vatican area, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#237 Family Hotel in Rome
#323 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant'Angelo 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sant'Angelo is a perfect venue for you to start exploring Rome. It is set in one of the best districts of the Eternal City and is just few minutes walking from many important touristic attractions, such as Castel Sant'Angelo, St. Peter's Basilica and the Spanish Steps. It is suitable for business travels as well since it is really close to Piazza Cavour, the square in which is located the Palace of Justice (called from local people il Palazzaccio).The Hotel is a perfect starting point also for those who want to explore the city centre for shopping: commercial streets such as Via del Corso, Via Condotti and Via Ottaviano are easily reachable on foot in very short time. Our staff will always try to be helpful during your entire stay giving you informations and advices on everything you may need. Feel free to ask them even where to go tasting tipical dishes of Roman and Italian tradition. You may also ask our clerks to reserve you tickets for museums, gigs, theatres and even guided visits of the most interesting venues of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sant'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Angelo Rome
Sant Angelo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing