We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but that, I am afraid, is where it ends”
Review of Hotel Sant'Angelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sant'Angelo
Ranked #336 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location but that, I am afraid, is where it ends”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying at the Hotel Sant Angelo, or should I say "Angel Hotel", which is where we have ended up? It's an annex building diagonally across the street. We found out we would be staying at the annex rather than at the Sant Angelo via email, two days before we arrived.

The location is really good. It's a short walk to the main shopping street and most attractions are within reasonable walking distance. Staff are friendly and there is a nice cafe across the road for coffee and a cornetto in the morning, which is very reasonably priced.

The room itself is spartan and not horribly dirty but not clean either. I had to laugh when I tried showering this morning and found that one of the shower doors are missing. Lots of water on the floor, reception have told me they are aware of the missing door but won't be able to resolve it today but I'm not sure it will be fixed within the next three days either.

Would I recommend this hotel for friends or family? I have to say no, which is sad. The price would provide value for money if the basics were right. So, a "poor" rating it is then.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantAngelo, Proprietario at Hotel Sant'Angelo, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear David,
when you booked our hotel you choosed our dependance - annex room, we send a summary mail some days before arrival to give useful information, when you book our hotel in our official site you'll find better information to explain exactly the room booked. We have a very good position and very good staff, our breakfast is delicious we invite you to taste it next time. You had a problem with our box shower, the previous guest broke it and we need some time to change it, now you can find a new shower box, we are sorry for this problem but it needs some time to fix.
We hope you'll stay with us next time in rome,
Kindest Regards - Michela Capurso - Hotel Sant Angelo General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    368
    142
    48
    46
See reviews for
187
376
35
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madeira Beach, FL
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was a great hotel near the Tiber River so very convenient. The hotel was clean and the staff was very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. We spent 4 nights and left the hotel on a Sunday for the Port of Civitavecchia to board our cruise ship. When we arrived, we realized that we had left Euros and our passports in our hotel safe. The woman at the front desk went to our room and collected our money and passports and called a taxi. We received our items and were able to board the ship on time. We appreciated her willingness to QUICKLY help us out of a very stressful situation. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Nice AM breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantAngelo, Proprietario at Hotel Sant'Angelo, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear JJwtir,
thank you for your nice review, we are doing a our best to have a clean hotel and welcoming staff, we are on the Tiber River, so a very central and good position, we always help our guests as best we can do. In 4 nights in rome you can view a lot of things, and we suggest you to check our special offers available in our official website, pay less money in the hotel and spend more money outside for shopping restaurants and museums.
Regards,
Michela Capurso - Hotel Sant Angelo General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

After reading mixed reviews of the hotel, we were anxious about our stay as our room was at the annex building. We were prepared for the worst, but were pleasantly surprised. Location was not bad. Our room was at the corner of the building, with high ceiling and large windows. It was clean and bright. Staff were friendly and eager to help. It far exceeded our expectation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looniewise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantAngelo, Proprietario at Hotel Sant'Angelo, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Iooniewise,

Thank you for your nice review, Our dependance rooms in the annex building are only 40 metres from the main building, and they have all the services of the main rooms, large windows, clean, high celing very ventilated, decò furnitures, and a good price. You can see all the rooms photos in our official website.
Waiting for your next trip,
Michela Capurso - Hotel Sant Angelo General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed for 4 nites in total with my wife and 4 yr old daughter. The staff was super helpful right from the welcome. They helped plan our stay, explained in length abt the touristy things we cud do. Mr Gabriel Tomei was very helpful in particular. We had not got the stroller along and during the long walks in Rome we missed it sorely. Gabriel came to our rescue and he immediately found 1 in the lost n found which he loaned to us for 4 days (including taking it along to our 3 day to Amalfi Coast..)
If i go back to Rome i will surely stay there again. The location is very good. Walking distance range from 3 min - Piazza Cavour / 10 min - Spanish Steps / Vatican / Piazza Novona / 15 min - Trevi Fountain / 20 min - Colosseum.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikram t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantAngelo, Proprietario at Hotel Sant'Angelo, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Vikram,
thank you for your nice review, and we want to spend some words for our new receptionist Mr. GABRIELE TOMEI, he is graduate in economics, he worked as personal trainer in some of the most famous Gym in Rome, and he is one of the best personal shopper you can have, he loves his job and he loves all the guests. About our location, walk to Piazza Cavour five min - Spanish Steps / Vatican / Piazza Navona / 15 min - Trevi Fountain / 20 min - Colosseum 25 minutes. All the distances you can CHECK the truth in our official website location page.
Kindest Regards,
Michela Capurso - Hotel Sant Angelo General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed my staying for 3 nights. Good location to explore Rome! Price/quality rate was OK for me. At the same time there are dozens of such hotels in the centre. This one is not the best, but good enough to stay in and not to waste time reading brochures and recomendations in internet about lots of similar hotels in the city.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabakhov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantAngelo, Proprietario at Hotel Sant'Angelo, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Tabakhov,

we thank you for your nice review, we are a very good price/quality hotel, good position, clean, friendly staff. You booked through our website, for a 3 nights stay you had a 7% discount, better solution for a better price/quality ratio. We hope to have you as our guest in the future.

Regards - Michela Capurso - Hotel Sant Angelo General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a pleasant one week stay at this hotel. The staff were kind and helpful and it's a bit hard to imagine the same people being so unwelcoming as some other reviewers have experienced. We stayed in the main building in a spacious triple room (it was two rooms in fact because there was a separate side room with an individual shower+toilet for a third person). The rooms were clean and it was nice to have a free communal computer in the corridor.
The beds were comfortable, however, we couldn't open the windows during the night because of the noise from the street.
The location is excellent as it is not too far away from the main attractions either on the west or the east side of Rome, and the area is not overcrowded with tourists.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 87626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantAngelo, Proprietario at Hotel Sant'Angelo, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear EightSevenSixTwoSix,

thank you for your truly review, one week in Rome is perfect to have a good holiday, and not only a "few days bite", you took our 7 days special offer of 10% discount in our official website, nice shoot! Now we have a very nice staff, all smiling all helpfull, all people that loves theier work, you had one of the best triple room, a spacious one, some of them are smalle, but they are all nice rooms with quality furnitures from the first '900th, we have a very good cleaning staff, a clean room is a good room for us. We change all the beds with new mattress and bedding to give to all of our guests a wonderful sleep. We have a improved FREE WIFI in all the hotel, and if you need a computer we offer you two free internet point. We have a good location because we are a few minutes walking from all the major tourist attractions but non in a crowded area, so you can live che Rome center as a tourist but you can sleep and eat as a local.
The journey is not only broadens the mind: the shapes. "Bruce Chatwin"
Kindest Regards - Michela Capurso - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just returned from our Italy vacation and 2 couples had the pleasure of staying at this great little B&B! We stayed in the main building...NOT the annex...and the full hot breakfast was included in the price! And it was great food too! We stayed in a room facing the main street and it was noisy at night. Our friends stayed in a room facing a courtyard and it was quiet. The location is great...within walking distance to most of the major sights you want to see in Rome. We walked kms around Rome and it was an easy walk to St Peters and the Vatican, the Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain, and many piazzas. The rooms are small and the bathrooms tiny but hey! you only need to put your head down for the night as you are on the go all day long! There are many great restaurants close by too. We totally enjoyed our stay here and we will return for sure! PS - I left my electrical convertor in my room...did anyone find it?!

Room Tip: Stay in the main building and try for a room not facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyandKelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantAngelo, Proprietario at Hotel Sant'Angelo, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Wendy and Kelsey,
thank you for your nice opinion, our BREAKFAST offers: pies, ham, mortadella, salami, cheese, cheeses, ovoline, caprese, olive pate, eggs, bacon, croissants, cream bombs, home-made ​​pies, cake, biscuits, yoghurt, fruit juices, Italian coffee , cappuccino, coffee, tea, fruit juices, fresh fruit, etc. ..Our guests can ask for a quiet rooms on the courtyard or a nice rooms with a view on the streets. Some rooms are smaller, because our hotel is a hitstorical bulding from the first year of '900. Our area is local and there are many non-touristic resturants, hosteria, trattoria, with traditional food. We invite you to check our facebook page or official website to view all the photos of our breakfast. We hope you'll return asap.
Kindest Regards - Michela Capursco - Hotel Sant Angelo General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Diplomatic
Hotel Diplomatic
#225 of 1,258 in Rome
793 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Adriatic Hotel
Adriatic Hotel
#501 of 1,258 in Rome
525 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#193 of 1,258 in Rome
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Infinity Hotel Roma
Infinity Hotel Roma
#62 of 1,258 in Rome
635 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#96 of 1,258 in Rome
1,476 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#72 of 1,258 in Rome
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sant'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant'Angelo

Property: Hotel Sant'Angelo
Address: Via Marianna Dionigi 16 | Vatican area, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#237 Family Hotel in Rome
#323 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant'Angelo 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sant'Angelo is a perfect venue for you to start exploring Rome. It is set in one of the best districts of the Eternal City and is just few minutes walking from many important touristic attractions, such as Castel Sant'Angelo, St. Peter's Basilica and the Spanish Steps. It is suitable for business travels as well since it is really close to Piazza Cavour, the square in which is located the Palace of Justice (called from local people il Palazzaccio).The Hotel is a perfect starting point also for those who want to explore the city centre for shopping: commercial streets such as Via del Corso, Via Condotti and Via Ottaviano are easily reachable on foot in very short time. Our staff will always try to be helpful during your entire stay giving you informations and advices on everything you may need. Feel free to ask them even where to go tasting tipical dishes of Roman and Italian tradition. You may also ask our clerks to reserve you tickets for museums, gigs, theatres and even guided visits of the most interesting venues of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sant'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Angelo Rome
Sant Angelo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing