We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location - Stay at the Annex (Hotel Angel) not reliable”
Review of Hotel Sant'Angelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sant'Angelo
Ranked #342 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location - Stay at the Annex (Hotel Angel) not reliable”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

THE ROOMS IN THE ANNEX
1. When booking our room, we selected the main building. Upon arrival, we were informed that our room was located "in the other building", situated "right across the street", where we would have a "very nice room".
2. The room on the 1st floor was clean enough BUT there was a bad mildew smell in the bathroom. In addition, the bathroom door would not open/close properly.
3. After we stayed for 4 nights, there was an electricity problem and we were told we should move to another room, because a failure might occur during the night. We were assured that the new room would be “a very beautiful room”
4. The second room (on the 4th floor of the "other building" had no hot water. When we tried to call the reception, the telephone was not working. In order to contact the reception, we had to walk back to the main building! Problem was not solved. So we had a bath at our old room on 1st floor and slept on the 4th!
From conversations with other clients and from other reviews we understand that electricity / water problems are common and lead to moving in other rooms. Hotel offers a small compensation (i.e. 20% for the night we had to move).

THE LOCATION
Very Good. Within a walking distance from ALL attractions. Max distance 30 minutes from the Colosseum.

THE BREAKFAST.
Good. Scrambled eggs, 3-4 types of cheese / salami. Croissants / pastry & bread.
Coffee was not drinkable, but you could order an espresso / cappuccino at extra charge.

THE SERVICE
We were able to use a public computer with internet connection and do our print jobs by mailing our files to the reception.

THE BOTTOM LINE
The hotel is not reliable. I understand that problems may happen very often, but my personal experience is limited to our stay in the Annex (Hotel Angel instead of Hotel Sant’ Angelo).
We were disappointed by the feeling that the stuff is aware of the problems associated with the buildings, but just tries to calm customers by promises and room movements.
But the price and the location are attractive. I might go back in the future if I could get a guarantee that my room would be in the main building.
And I would be prepared to complain against any modifications / inconvenience.

Room Tip: I might go back in the future if I could get a guarantee that my room would be in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greek Voyager G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    363
    142
    48
    45
See reviews for
186
365
35
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a bad start. We were given a room with no A/C during a heat wave. We found out only when we came back around midnight. And it looked like this was actually a single room. This one was in an extension of the hotel, few doors away, on the same street. Next day we were moved in another room, different floor, but there was no hot water. The room was larger. Next day we were moved again, this time into a 2 bedroom apt., in the actual hotel. The bedrooms were maybe twice the area of the bed, but this can't be a reason to complain, as we were just sleeping there. Breakfast was awsome and the personnel was friendly. Location is close enough to everything. We walked to almost everywhere. We would stay again in the same place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourist10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamar, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is one of the worst hotel I've ever stayed on, powerless for 3 days and without hot water for 2 days, I got a new room after the second day without power and hot water, after one day the new room was out of power too

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stisag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This small hotel had the advantages of reasonable price, enjoyable breakfast, excellent staff and great location. Stayed here three nights in December and it was quite comfortable. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and since this was the Christmas holiday it was very much appreciated. Breakfasts were varied and plentiful - delicious. On Christmas morning one person wasn't there on time to help serve breakfast, but remaining person did a great job until she could come. Loved the capuccino every morning!! The hotel provided tea with snacks mid-afternoon - they really went above and beyone to be hospitable. Initially hot water wasn't working but when it was fixed, shower was fine (small but not a problem). Location made it possible to walk almost everywhere (used metro for Coliseum) and with the wonderful weather we took full advantage of the great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bucketlisterfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

3 of us stayed here in June 2012 for our 1st trip to Rome.

The location was fairly good once you got to know your surroundings. Probably best to get a taxi there - we got a taxi from the main bus depo...but you could get the metro to the Spanish steps and get a taxi from there which is much closer.

The hotel is about a 10/15 minute walk to Vatican City and Spanish steps so quite central.

We had a triple room which was big enough for the 3 of us. There was air conditioning which is a must as it was 30 degrees!! and free wifi which is a bonus!!!

We had breakfast one morning - this was a buffet with quite a large variety to chose from...very nice.

There are quite a few restaurants around town that have the 10/15 Euro menus which are good value for money.

I recommend you buy a 3 day pass (if your there for 3 days) http://www.romeandvaticanpass.com - this is really good value for money - use of the tour buses, metro and line jumping!! it was a bargain. I think you can buy the pass for 1 day also.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank em989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is reasonably priced. The location is good, close to the Vatican and other major attractions. 20 minutes walk to the metro. Breakfast is good. Rooms are okay. My bed was not so good, we booked a room for three. I had the impression it was a room for two with an extra bed added. The bed was of inferior quality.

Helpful?
Thank Jury A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked this Hotel as a Birthday trip for me through Neckermann.
Upon arriving here we were greeted with a make shift front desk, which was literally a desk with two teenage girls sitting there.
The room was okay, however this is where our real problems started.
The shower only had cold water and we could hear the next door room like they were sitting next to us. Furthermore there was constant operatic music being played in the hall way right next to our room, which was not plaseant up until 23:00.
Wanting to make use of their tea facility, upon switching the kettle on, the electric in the room was tripped. We went downstairs to tell "reception" and the lady looked at us in dismay and asked whether we had switched on the kettle. Answering with yes, she said that this was normal and the electricity would come on again as long as we do not use the kettle again.

Can not fault the location though!!! Would NOT stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Diplomatic
Hotel Diplomatic
#222 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Colonna
Infinity Hotel Roma
Infinity Hotel Roma
#57 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Prati
Roma dei Papi - Hotel de Charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Adriatic Hotel
Adriatic Hotel
#515 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Prati
Le Meridien Visconti Rome
Hotel Re di Roma
#164 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sant'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant'Angelo

Property: Hotel Sant'Angelo
Address: Via Marianna Dionigi 16 | Vatican area, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#237 Family Hotel in Rome
#323 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant'Angelo 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sant'Angelo is a perfect venue for you to start exploring Rome. It is set in one of the best districts of the Eternal City and is just few minutes walking from many important touristic attractions, such as Castel Sant'Angelo, St. Peter's Basilica and the Spanish Steps. It is suitable for business travels as well since it is really close to Piazza Cavour, the square in which is located the Palace of Justice (called from local people il Palazzaccio).The Hotel is a perfect starting point also for those who want to explore the city centre for shopping: commercial streets such as Via del Corso, Via Condotti and Via Ottaviano are easily reachable on foot in very short time. Our staff will always try to be helpful during your entire stay giving you informations and advices on everything you may need. Feel free to ask them even where to go tasting tipical dishes of Roman and Italian tradition. You may also ask our clerks to reserve you tickets for museums, gigs, theatres and even guided visits of the most interesting venues of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Sant'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Angelo Rome
Sant Angelo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing