We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best location and excellent value for money”
Review of Hotel Sant'Angelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sant'Angelo
Ranked #350 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best location and excellent value for money”
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

When location and value for money are priorities, then you over look the tiny shower and basic but comfortable small rooms! The tiny lift added to the experience! Reception staff were friendly and helpful. We were able to check into our room early.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwiexplorer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    369
    142
    49
    47
See reviews for
188
378
35
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. Our 1st night was disappointing. Our 2 rooms were in a separate building. On arrival (7th August), we were told that the air conditioning had broken that day - which just happened to be between 40 and 45 degrees outside. So we had a fan in our room. Not great with those temperatures. Apart from that the room was fine. Basic but clean. We then moved rooms for nights 2 and 3. These rooms were very good. The hotel has a great location for Spanish steps, Trevi fountain, Vatican, Pantheon etc. Everything is walk able. There are also lots of nice restaurants, cafes etc nearby which are walking distance. Finally the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Thank you

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantAngelo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Sant'Angelo, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear guest,
we are really sorry for the inconvenience of the first night, we tried to solve it as soon as possible.
As air conditioning could not be repaired by the day, we decided to move you in two other rooms where everything was working perfectly. We are glad that apart from this "unpleasant beginning" you appreciated the service offered that was basic, but with a particular attention to the small details in order to gift you a very nice and comfortable stay.
We thank you again for your generous words about our professional, friendly and helpful staff.
We hope to see you soon,

Valeria Hotel Sant'Angelo Customer Care Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Hotel has a great location, 10 minute walk to the vattican, pantheon, trevi fountain and less than 10 minute walk to the spanish steps. The rooms are large enough yet the shower is small. The staff are extremely helpful with taxis or attraction directions. There is a bu stop 2 minutes aay that takes you to the colleseum and only costs 1 euro 50. Cheap and cheerful hotel, would recommend

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Lovely hotel within walking distance to a number of Rome's attractions. Very comfortable room with a kettle to make a cup of tea ( a rarity in some Italian hotels). Clean, very helpful staff , great location, safe . We would stay here again. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantAngelo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Sant'Angelo, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guests,
We are truly grateful for the positive comment You left about us and our structure.
Your words gratify and repay us for all the tough and careful work We do every day to gift You not only a wonderful and relaxing stay but above all an amazing travel experience which will be every time unique but repeatable.
Come to see us whenever You want, You will always find someone to welcome You.
We will wait for You with open arms.
My Best Regards,
Valeria Customer Service of Hotel Sant'Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

the location of this hotel was perfect. It's very easy walking distance to all popular spots: St. Peter's, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona, Pantheon. We even walked from Colessum and to Hard Rock Cafe. If you don't want to walk, there's a taxi stand about 2 minutes away at the Piazza Cavour. Our trip to the Roman Forum cost less than 10 euro for 4 people. There is a little cafe to get a pastry and coffee just across the street from the annex. It was closed on the weekend, but there was another one just down at the Piazza Cavour where the taxi stand was. It was very convenient. There are several places to eat in the area if you want something close to the hotel.

We had a triple room and a single room in the annex. The triple was big enough for the three of us to be comfortable. Surprisingly, the single was just as big! It was actually made up with 3 beds when we first go there, but the second day, the 3rd bed was taken down. The spacious bathroom was a surprise. Free wifi available in the rooms.The ac was fabulous.

The second day there our building experienced an electrical problem. We arrived back around 10:30 P.M. to find limited electricity (mostly no electricity with intermittent bursts of electricity...which effected our ac. We were told the electrician would come after the game or the next morning! (Italia vs. Germany) Guess he was happy with the win because the electricity was fixed around 12:30 am. Unfortunately, the next day we woke up to no hot water. So out of our 4 night stay, we only had hot water for the first night. The hotel did offer to give us a room to shower in at the main building. We chose NOT to do this since it would be really complicated to take all of our stuff over. However, they did give us a one night credit for both rooms. I have a feeling it happens often because I noticed another review that complained about the lack of hot water.

Although I would use the hotel again, I would book a room in the main building. Sounds like the annex building has more problems.

Room Tip: Both of the annex rooms had windows on a very quiet courtyard. No outside noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelleds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Figtree, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Good price, great location, very friendly and helpful staff. They even supplied a great take away breakfast when we had a very early start

Room Tip: the lift is concealed and small so access is a little awkward but everything else is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantAngelo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Sant'Angelo, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

we are grateful for the positive comment you left about us and our hotel.
Concerning the breakfast, as you have already paid for it, it was a great pleasure for us to give you a take-away one the day of your departure.
Whenever we can help providing an additional service, we do it with pleasure.
My Best Regards,
Valeria

Hotel Sant'Angelo Customer Care Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed in this hotel was not worth it aircon wasn't working in one of our rooms on day one next day shifted into room which was small for 3 people in comparison to the room on day one.there is only one small elevator a very old one for 2 people only .hardly any room service .people at reception understand English but are unable to fix problems .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashwani1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Diplomatic
Hotel Diplomatic
#220 of 1,261 in Rome
797 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#183 of 1,261 in Rome
1,049 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#99 of 1,261 in Rome
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Adriatic Hotel
Adriatic Hotel
#512 of 1,261 in Rome
528 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#266 of 1,261 in Rome
585 reviews
Colonna
Infinity Hotel Roma
Infinity Hotel Roma
#63 of 1,261 in Rome
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sant'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant'Angelo

Property: Hotel Sant'Angelo
Address: Via Marianna Dionigi 16 | Vatican area, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#237 Family Hotel in Rome
#323 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant'Angelo 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sant'Angelo is a perfect venue for you to start exploring Rome. It is set in one of the best districts of the Eternal City and is just few minutes walking from many important touristic attractions, such as Castel Sant'Angelo, St. Peter's Basilica and the Spanish Steps. It is suitable for business travels as well since it is really close to Piazza Cavour, the square in which is located the Palace of Justice (called from local people il Palazzaccio).The Hotel is a perfect starting point also for those who want to explore the city centre for shopping: commercial streets such as Via del Corso, Via Condotti and Via Ottaviano are easily reachable on foot in very short time. Our staff will always try to be helpful during your entire stay giving you informations and advices on everything you may need. Feel free to ask them even where to go tasting tipical dishes of Roman and Italian tradition. You may also ask our clerks to reserve you tickets for museums, gigs, theatres and even guided visits of the most interesting venues of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Sant'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Angelo Rome
Sant Angelo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing