We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great little Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Dei Mellini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dei Mellini
Ranked #67 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Really great little Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We had a fabulous 4 day stay to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. The staff at the hotel were polite, courteous and couldn't do enough to help. The hotel is very close to the Vatican and other sites. 15 minutes to piazza navona and 20 minutes to sant eustachio (best coffee in Rome) We will be back at some point.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HeadteacherGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    529
    102
    21
    12
See reviews for
281
753
28
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Fantastic hotel, lovely quiet location but close to all amenities, really easy to walk to vatican and over the many bridges into the main tourist centres. Hotel was quiet with lovely comfortable beds. The hotel staff were excellent, really helpful and very welcoming. Breakfast was continental and was plentiful. Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone. If I come back to Rome (threw coin into trevi fountain so hopefully will) I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minikitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wokingham uk
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Just stayed three nights. Lovely hotel, friendly, helpful staff. Our room (204 - a suite) was great, spacious, modern, quiet, great bed and pillows. Bathroom probably ready for a refurb/redecorate but other than that perfect. Hotel facilities top notch, good gym, delightful roof garden. Good central location nothing much more than a 15 minute walk away. Restaurant La Dispensa Dei Mellini 100 metres away, great food and wine and not expensive - much better than Vito's which the hotel seems to recommend. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: 204 is a suite but well worth the extra overlooks central courtyard so very quiet and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnWokinghamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed here for 4 fabulous nights from 26th May 2014 & it was truly amazing. We booked a superior room & we were given a top floor room with a Juliet balcony, right next to the Roof Terrace (an oasis of calm in a busy city with the wonderful smell of honeysuckle wafting in the breeze) Our room was spotless, plenty of space for hanging clothes including lots of hangers, comfy bed, a bath/shower and even toiletries which we didn't expect. Brilliantly located with the Vatican 20 minutes walk in one direction & the Spanish Steps/Trevi Fountain in the other. Am so glad we chose this hotel - the best of both worlds. A great location but also hidden away from the hussle & bussle of a very busy city. We asked receptionist for a recommendation of where to eat & she told us about Vitos which was in the same street. We went here for the 3 nights we were in Rome & the food was delicious. Definitely worth a visit at least once. All the staff in the hotel were welcoming, friendly & incredibly helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfast was fabulous, something for everyone whether you're in a healthy mood, want a british breakfast of bacon & eggs or you've a sweet tooth - croissants, pastries, cake & fruit tart. Definitely don't understand how anyone could make a complaint about this hotel. We will definitely stay here again :-)

Room Tip: We were given Room 609 - right on the top floor with a little Juliet balcony, right next to the Roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cclarke120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We arrived at the hotel & was greeted by the concierge, our bags taken directly to our gorgeous 6th floor room with balcony. The receptionist on arrival was a lovely very helpful lady. The hotel was very clean & modern with all the facilities to make your stay very comfortable. There was a roof top terrace which had plenty of tables and seats and was a perfect place to chill with an amazing smell of Honeysuckle. The hotel also gave you the use of a modern gym and solarium. The staff in the breakfast room every morning greeted you with a smile and lots of politeness. The breakfast was plentiful, from a healthy cereal, fruit & yoghurt to scrambled egg & bacon. The location was perfect, situated in the middle of the city and close to all the sights. For your return home for an additional 55 euros the hotel will arrange a chauffeur driven Mercedez E class to take you back to your terminal at the airport. We used this facility & it was perfect. Would we use this hotel again....an emphatic yes.

Room Tip: For the best view ask for the top floor at the front of the hotel, and for real comfort choose a sup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wayne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel dei Mellini for our four nights in Rome. The hotel is a quick 15 minute taxi ride from the train station (45 from the airport), far enough from the major tourist areas to not see any if you don't want to, but close enough to walk to almost all of the major sites in Rome.

The staff was professional, courteous, and beyond helpful providing directions, restaurant suggestions, and anything else you can think to ask for. The rooms were spacious and clean and fairly luxurious. Breakfast of fruit, cheeses, meats, breads, cereals, juices, etc. was included. The only complaint I can think of is that the coffee that came with breakfast was just so-so.

We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Staff very efficient, informative and very friendly. Beds extremely comfy ...never before have we had a sachet of facial night cream on the pillow, and little white mats at the side of the bed when we got back to our room after our evening meal out. We were expecting a continental breakfast but there was all sorts of tasty things, all topped up as soon as they started to go down. Very central position...have been to Rome twice now, but would love to go back again and will definitely stay here

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kelloggs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#76 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#48 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#69 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Mellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Mellini

Property: Hotel Dei Mellini
Address: Via Muzio Clementi 81, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#60 Family Hotel in Rome
#82 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#211 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Mellini 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Mellini, with his great location in the centre of Rome, only 10 minutes by foot to via Condotti (considered the best shopping area in tow),13 minutes to the Spanish Steps and the Vatican, is really the right address to be in Rome. In the quiet neighbourhood you will find many nice and cosy restaurants and bars.The hotel has a total of 80 rooms (superior, de luxe, junior suite and suite), 2 meeting rooms up to 70 people per room, a nice open terrace available also for private party, a cafeteria overlooking the inside patio and on the last floor of the hotel, overlooking the terrace you will can enjoy the "mellini gym". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dei Mellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Mellini Rome
Dei Mellini Hotel Rome
Dei Hotel Mellini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing