We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great small hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel Dei Mellini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Dei Mellini
Ranked #58 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great small hotel in a great location”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my family and would definitely come again. The rooms were very big and very conformable and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. we really enjoyed a last drink of the evening on the roof terrace.
The hotel is just 10 minutes walk from Piazza Navona and 20 minutes from St Peter's Square. There a loads of great local restaurant nearby. we loved Restaurant Roma just 3 minutes walk away on via Paolo Mercuri with outdoor tables in a little courtyard. the service is quirky but the food was excellent and very reasonable

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Callymac5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    535
    102
    21
    12
See reviews for
285
764
28
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have just come back from a 4 day break in Rome with friends. After researching on TA, (as always!) we decided to book into the Dei Mellini.

We were not disappointed.

I had booked a taxi through them in advance and it was waiting at the airport meeting point on arrival. Very efficient and with 4 of us travelling, in was very good value at 75 Euro. Much easier and less stressful than going by bus/train!

We had asked for quiet, street facing rooms due to the inward rooms having windows opening onto the quad where smokers congregated. We were given exactly what we asked for – Rooms 401 and 406. The rooms were a good size with a safe, flat screen TV, fridge and good bathroom/shower.

The breakfast was better than we had expected. Although mainly continental, they did have scrambled eggs and bacon. On most days this was fine – but on one day the eggs were rather runny and the bacon undercooked. However, the croissants/cakes and cheese/hams made up for that. The only shame was that we would have liked some hot toast. Maybe a point for them – get a toaster of some sort so guests can do their own?

The reception staff were very helpful with maps/ places to see and restaurants to visit.

Our friends were celebrating their 25th Wedding Anniversary and I had mentioned this in advance. They were delighted to find, when entering their room, that the hotel had provided a bottle of sparkling Italian wine – a lovely touch.

The roof terrace was also very well used by us! We bought drinks in the local Spar (really cheap!) put them in the fridge and then took them up there every evening. We did check with Reception and they were fine with that – which was also very good of them. A lovely way to finish every evening.

If we ever went back to Rome, I would definitely stay here again as it was central to everywhere. We didn’t take any public transport at all apart from taxi to/from airport as most tourist places were between 10 and 25 minutes’ walk away.

Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Street side means you can open your window without smoke drifting in. Higher floors quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happylady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of August, beginning of September and would highly recommend it. The staff are really helpful and friendly, including the bar man. Make sure you find the rooftop terrace with sun loungers and patio tables and chairs, it's a great place to sit with a drink late afternoon when you are back from sightseeing and planning an evening out. We had a deluxe room 216, with tea and coffee making facilities, which was spacious. Breakfast was the same each morning and continental rather than a full breakfast as stated, but it's fine. Wi Fi is free in the lounge and bar, but not in rooms, but again, this is fine. We travelled in by train and tube, which was too hot and the pavements do not lend themselves to pulling suitcases, so we got the hotel arranged air conditioned mercedes taxi back - much better. We could easily walk to all the main sites and were very close to the Vatican. We had a lovely time.

Room Tip: We had 216 which was a spacious deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coggseys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in the hotel dei mellini for 4 nights last august and were very satisfied with our choice of hotel. The hotel is very good situated to visit room, almost every important touristic site is onw alking distance from the hotel (colosseum is a bit further, but the bus stops at 200m from the hotel).

The rooms are clean, spacious (for rome) and offer everything for a good night's sleep (very quiet and excellent bedding). The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. We used t he fitness room a couple of times, which have everything you need for a cardio workout and the equipment is brand new.

The only point of improvement is their breakfast: no fresh juices, fresh fruit was already gone when we arrived, low quality of bread.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel when you plan a visit to rome and would like to thank the staff for our excellent stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rambo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent the last two days of our vacation here. We arrived before noon and our room was ready with the extra bed in it. The room was large enough for three and very comfortable. It was clean and bright.

The front desk staff was great. it was our first time in Rome and we had no clue where to go or eat. We ate dinner at their suggestion and was very pleased. Great directions and advice. They even packed us breakfast since we had to leave before they opened.

I hope to return some day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

just returned after 3 nights, superb hotel staff very helpful service great. did all the main sight seeing places colloseum & Vatican Sistine chapel booked these tours online with "tickitaly " which saved queing & is cheaper, another tip transfer from the airport to rome city especially for this hotel when you come out of term 3 turn right head to the bus station and catch the "sit bus shuttle " at stand no.1 drops you off at the "piazza cavour ", about two streets away from the hotel , cost 6 euros each takes about 40 mins. we where in room 501 overlooking the main street which is very quiet, we treated ourselves and had breakfast in our room which was very nice. rome is full on and we where out all day it was our first time and found the map provided by the hotel really helpful and easy to navigate around rome. would return to this hotel in a heart beat.

Room Tip: 501 nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank garry t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent five days here & could find little to fault. As a family of 3 we booked a suite which was worth the extra money. The room we had was on the first floor, our daughter slept on a sofa bed in the living room area she found it very comfortable and also had her own toilet and washbasin with vanity area which gave her a bit of privacy. Our own bedroom was a good size as was the bathroom and hanging and drawer space was very good. In room safe provided. Tea and coffee were provided although I understand this is only in suites. The room faced onto small courtyard and because we were on a low floor there was practically no natural light. On the flip side this meant the room was cool and very quiet and with the addition of efficient air con meant we all had fantastic sleeps in what was very hot weather in Rome. Reception staff spoke very good English and we found them very helpful whenever we required help/information. Breakfast was reasonable but there was never any variation scrambled eggs,bacon were hot choices with the usual cold meat/cheeses. A toaster would have been appreciated but that's probably nit picking. In room wi fi was very expensive so we didn't use it although it is free in lobby area so we just used that. There's also a nice roof top terrace there with a few table & chairs which was great to relax after a long day walking round Rome. We also organised limousine service through hotel to and from Fiumicino airport which cost us 55 euros each way which was great and hassle free. We walked everywhere and thought the hotel was in a very good location especially close to the Vatican and Spanish Steps. This was our first visit to Rome and w would definitely like to return to the city and this hotel.

Room Tip: For larger groups book a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniem15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#75 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#45 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#69 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Mellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Mellini

Property: Hotel Dei Mellini
Address: Via Muzio Clementi 81, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#60 Family Hotel in Rome
#82 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#211 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Mellini 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Mellini, with his great location in the centre of Rome, only 10 minutes by foot to via Condotti (considered the best shopping area in tow),13 minutes to the Spanish Steps and the Vatican, is really the right address to be in Rome. In the quiet neighbourhood you will find many nice and cosy restaurants and bars.The hotel has a total of 80 rooms (superior, de luxe, junior suite and suite), 2 meeting rooms up to 70 people per room, a nice open terrace available also for private party, a cafeteria overlooking the inside patio and on the last floor of the hotel, overlooking the terrace you will can enjoy the "mellini gym". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Dei Mellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Mellini Rome
Dei Mellini Hotel Rome
Dei Hotel Mellini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing