We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful suite, best service”
Review of Hotel Dei Mellini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dei Mellini
Ranked #70 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

As an employee in the hospitality business I know first hand the importance of great service. Our experiance with their front desk personnel was perfection. They went above and beyond expectation. Placing dinner reservations, securing cab service, giving us directions
The accommodations were equally impressive. I highly recommend the Dei Mellini!

Room Tip: The suite is a great value.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,534)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dei Mellini
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

778 - 784 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

Staff are very helpful & the hotel quiet & relaxing.
Staff go out of their way to make themselves useful. We asked for reservations and they were made while we did other things. Amazing service.

Good position. Easy to get to subway, close to many places of interest by walking.







  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

First time to Rome and a great find with this hotel. Very clean and modern with all linen changed daily and friendly staff. Situated in a quiet residential area - 20 mins easy walk to the Vatican and similar time over the river to the Spanish steps and the hub of Rome. For good food in the evening at a reasonable price try Vitos just down the street and also try the coffee bar on the same side of the road as the hotel for coffees and snacks. We use Romacabs for our airport transfers and they were fantastic. Courteous and helpful with good safe drivers and comfortable cars.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorkshireLad28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

For my first time in Rome I was very pleased with Dei Mellini. It was very clean, and modernized. The bellman and concierge staff were excellent, helping arrange pickup from the airport, a guide for the vatican, opening the gym after hours, and they hustled for many other requests; more attentive than some Four seasons'. My room was very clean and A/C powerful. Similar to other reviews, a second pillow would have been nice and perhaps, for the sake of the romantic couple next door, some sound proofing with the adjoining suite. The breakfast was great, everything you would expect in Europe. The eggs and bacon are often prepared different in Europe. In terms of location, it was well situated near the Court House, Vatican and the major shopping areas. It is about 30-40 min walk from the Coliseum, but not a problem if you prefer a quieter location and do not mind nice walks. If you prefer more restaurants and tourists you might try one of the many Piazzas. Overall, a great hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 3 years ago and we were quite satisfied, so we thought we would stay there again. We booked the room via the Internet and prepaid. When we arrived at the hotel, we were greatly disappointed. First of all, the room was in need of a good painting, carpet cleaning, and overall upgrading. The closet smelled so bad we never put our clothing in it.
The bathroom was not clean when we arrived, as there were hairs on the chair and floor. There was no soap and no hand towels. the hair dryer only worked for a few minutes, then shut off until it cooled down. So you had to wait 20 minutes to finish drying your hair! The Internet says free wifi. It neglects to tell people that it is only free in the lobby........very inconvenient. And the rates for use in the room are way to expensive. They should tell people the truth.The booking ahead of time said it included all taxes, only to find out at check out that there were still more taxes! Their rate of exchange on my charge card was 1.3547, way over the current rate! We asked for 2 pillows since I have a breathing problem at night. We were told there weren't any more pillows. What kind of 4 star hotel says things like this?The breakfast food made us sick. The eggs were too watery and the bacon was raw! There are some ladies at the front desk that are just plain RUDE!
There is no place to print boarding passes. I tried to use the hotel computer, but it told me that I had used up all my FREE time, when in fact I had never used it prior. I was told by the front desk person that I had to email my passes to them and that they would then print them. What an inconvenience, and the computer still wouldn't let me get online to do that. Our travel agent wanted us to stay at a different hotel, but because our prior visit was good, we thought it would be fine. We should have listened to our travel agent. There are far too many hotels in Rome to ever give this one a try again! This is in NO WAY a 4 star hotel!

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelFamily122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel in a great location, it was clean and the reception staff were more than helpful, only negatives was that the aircon in the room was not very powerful and only one pillow on the bed was disappointing but only minor things really. I wouldn't recommend paying the tour charge for the colesume tour it was very rushed! Make your own way there and take in the magnifsant views in your own time

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikki2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at the Dei Mellini for our first wedding Anniversary for four nights. My wife and i were impressed from start to finish. The reception staff were fantastic on our arrival providing us with a map and excellent information for our trip. All staff were very friendly and always had a smile no matter what time of day. We stayed in a superior room on the fith floor at the front of the hotel the room was fantastic and street noise was not a problem. The room itself was very clean and bathroom facilities were also very good. The bed was a littlie hard ( but you cant beat your own bed , can you) . Breakfast buffet with eggs, bacon and the usual continental, all fresh and well presented. A tip ask for toast or fried eggs special coffees and the staff will oblige.
All in all a fantastic hotel and great friendly staff.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front on the fith floor ,quiet and close to the roof garden.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart19106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#67 of 1,267 in Rome
1,201 reviews
Prati
Le Meridien Visconti Rome
Prati
NH Collection Roma Giustiniano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
#78 of 1,267 in Rome
791 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#47 of 1,267 in Rome
667 reviews
Prati
Hotel Farnese
Hotel Farnese
#120 of 1,267 in Rome
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Mellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Mellini

Address: Via Muzio Clementi 81, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#60 Family Hotel in Rome
#82 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#211 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $181 - $597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Mellini 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Mellini, with his great location in the centre of Rome, only 10 minutes by foot to via Condotti (considered the best shopping area in tow),13 minutes to the Spanish Steps and the Vatican, is really the right address to be in Rome. In the quiet neighbourhood you will find many nice and cosy restaurants and bars.The hotel has a total of 80 rooms (superior, de luxe, junior suite and suite), 2 meeting rooms up to 70 people per room, a nice open terrace available also for private party, a cafeteria overlooking the inside patio and on the last floor of the hotel, overlooking the terrace you will can enjoy the "mellini gym". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dei Mellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Mellini Rome
Dei Mellini Hotel Rome
Dei Hotel Mellini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing