We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Dolce Vita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Dolce Vita
Ranked #682 of 1,067 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2008

We could not have been more pleased with this location. Ok... the bath was a bit small and the kitchen was tiny but who wants to cook when there are so many amazing places to eat?? We will make reservations early in the future so that we can enjoy La Dolce Vita again. We were at the Forum location and we were close to everything. Make sure to get VERY good directions... it is not easy to find especially if this is your first trip to Rome. We are so happy that we had Luca book our transportation from the airport. Thanks for EVERYTHING!!

  • Liked — Location Location Location
  • Disliked — -----
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tym2Pla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    4
    0
    5
See reviews for
6
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2008

92 Via Baccina #2

This was an interesting little place. It was not the apartments listed on their website. It is not a bed and breakfast and I don't know why it is advertised as such. It is not a motel. We felt a little deceived, but that seems to be the way in Italy. Watch out for those taxis! The staff was very nice and helpful. We loved the Mercedes ride back to the airport and the driver was early which the staff set up for us.

Pluses: It's right there in the center of old Rome. Very convenient to everything. We walked almost everywhere and felt very safe and comfortable. It was clean, except for the ants, which only came out when they saw food. It was certainly cleaner than Rome with the all graffiti and trash and beggers which was amazing to us this being our first trip to Europe. It was a quiet neighborhood. The food was terrific.

Cons: Very old and tired small kitchen and bath. Needs some decent towels, but they were clean. No decent place just to sit and read at night. Some kind of low foam couch. A decent couch would be very nice. No DVD as advertised on the website. There was no breakfast. The shower is not for large people, but it worked well. Don't plan on any serious cooking in the kitchen, but it was ok for cereal.

Inspite of the limitations we had a great time in Rome and can't wait to go back to Italy.

It was just a nice, slightly overpriced old place to sleep. So we went to bed early and got up early - which was not a bad thing. I'd show pictures but you've probably already have seen them.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Ata_Homa_Ina_Roma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkinge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
429 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,280 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2007

We are a family of 4 (2 teens) and we were visiting Rome for the week immediately before Christmas, returning home on Christmas Eve. Hotels with rooms that would sleep 4 were pretty expensive and hard to find and an apartment which gave everyone more space seemed the perfect idea.

Found these apartments on the internet and emailed for information. The responses were timely and written in good English, very welcoming. First thing to know is that there are two addresses and certainly the one we stayed at is not a b&b, it is a self catered apartment. We wanted to be near the Forum and the Colosseum and so we picked the location at 92 Via Baccina. It was literally 5 minutes walk to the Forum and the Colosseum and you could see the Forum from the apartment windows.
There was nothing to pay in advance and we were advised that we would pay in full on arrival - in cash. The owner is a pilot and he lives in the top floor of the building.
Via Baccina is a very quiet street, almost no traffic at all and yet there are great restaurants within a couple of minutes walk and the nearest metro stops ie Cavour or Colosseo are within minutes. Last year when only two of us visited we stayed at the Inn at the Roman Forum (wonderfully luxurious) which is about 50 yards away from the apartment, so its a good area.
Our flat was on the first floor and consisted of a large living/dining room, one twin and one king bedroom, a bathroom and a very tiny kitchen. The kichen is just about big enough for one person but it is perfectly adequate for what we needed ie coffee, tea etc. Having said that it had a large fridge/freezer, a washing machine and a dishwasher so was quite well equipped.
The furnishings are simple but antique and charming - quirky. I was worried that the apartment might be draughty and cold but the heating and hot water worked really well and we were thoroughly toasty throughout. There are free internet based phone calls to a lot of international locations as well as local (USA and UK for instance).
Some of the bathroom fitments need updating, there's some ants that need looking at in the kitchen but the bed was very comfortable, the sheets and pillows were good and we were very happy there. The location was so good. We could be at the Colosseum within about 7 minutes and the Trevi Fountain in about 10 and for such a great location it was just so incredibly quiet at night. We walked just about everywhere except the Villa Borghese and the Vatican.
There are a couple of little food shops close by, restaurants, excellent coffee shops and gelateria. Would definitely stay here again. We paid 870 euro for the week which seemed a good deal against what we would have paid in a hotel for 4 of us. If you want plush or fancy, this apartment wouldn't suit you. If you want a charming Roman experience in a fantastic location then have a look at it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — the kitchen
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank alliebdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2007

La Dolce Vita B&B is very centrally located around the corner from the Trevi Fountain. It is quite large and being that there were six of us, two bathrooms and three bedrooms were wonderful! The flat was clean and comfortable; the kitchen small but it worked out fine. Mario is more than gracious and very accommodating. We had a problem with the washing machine and after telephoning during a holiday weekend, Mario was there the next evening. He made sure everything was in working condition for us. I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Liked — location, size of flat and managers
  • Disliked — needs better pots & pans
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank katica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2007

Stayed for 5 night during week stay in Tuscany for a wedding.
Not the easiest to find if driving about Lucca by car through the narrow street swith shoppers on your first day!!!!!!

Up a tenemanet 1st floor next to a lovely cafe, good prices/food.
Coupld on top floor phoned owners to gain access as we missed msg on front entrance door as it was open.

Only problem was expecting towels/linen to be changed on 4th day, really needed fresh towels, but it didn't happen. Would have got them if i phoned owner probably though

Little cafe downstairs is excellent, friendly owner, good food and prices.

Would visit again if onbudget....

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no replacement towels
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROSSGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2007

This suite was perfect for our family of 7. Traveling with 3 children and 2 seniors is not easy and this apartment and its owners are wonderful. The simple yet comfortable accommodations made our time in Rome feel like we were at home. 3/2 apartment in Rome in such a neat neighborhood was perfect for our family. Only a 5 minute walk to Trevi fountain, grocery store, and restaurants. Affordable and comfortable for large groups.The owners (Luca and Mario) are helpful and so pleasant to deal with also, they even arranged for a driver to take us straight to the apartment after a long trip! Enjoy Rome but use caution while sightseeing, pickpockets galore.

  • Liked — Comfortable
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank triptimeFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2006

My wife booked this flat directly online for myself and my mother then was able to also join us. We had three adults in the two bedroom, one bath flat which also has a small kitchenette and a dining room/sitting room. The flat is very convenient to the Colosseum, Piazza Venezia, Palatine and Fori Imperiali area.

We really enjoyed our stay. The flat is of course like everything else in the area - very old. It was also very comfortable and safe. We enjoyed living among local Romans and experiencing Rome like they do. Leonardo, the owner, was very helpful and oriented us to the area when we arrived.

If old world charm rather than modern hotel facilities are your prefered way to travel, I highly recommend this flat.

  • Liked — location, charm
  • Disliked — lighting
  • Tips/Secrets — enjoy
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AR479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Domus Julia
Domus Julia
#656 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Boccaccio
Hotel Boccaccio
#600 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Julia
Hotel Julia
#327 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Azzurra
Hotel Azzurra
#463 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Trevi
Roma Resort Barberini
Roma Resort Barberini
#458 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
La Dolce Vita Roma
La Dolce Vita Roma
#3,007 of 3,734 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dolce Vita

Property: La Dolce Vita
Address: Via Rasella 21 | Via Baccina 92, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #682 of 1,067 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Dolce Vita Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing