We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on the room you get...”
Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #162 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Like other reviewers, I found your experience really depends on the room you get. I booked with a business group but arrived a day ahead of the others. My room wasn't ready when I got there, so they put me in room 223. If they try to give you this room, just leave and tell them you'll book at another hotel. I was too jet lagged to make a fuss, but it was a terrible, dingy, room with a window looking onto a wall, and horrible bath, rock hard bed, and dirty and decrepit amenities. The next evening, I'd had enough and asked to be changed. They didn't seem surprised and said that they had been fully booked and that's why I'd ended up there. And that while my business companions had much better rooms, their hotel was full, and my companions were getting better rooms than they should have. The thing is, I hadn't seen what my companions had booked. I was seeking to change rooms on the basis of my experience alone.

In any case, they didn't have a room to change to so I had to wait until the next day, upon which they moved my to room 555, which was fantastic: patio, small table, coffee machine, clean, amenities, space, etc.

So I have mixed to negative views about the whole thing. What gets me is that, in retrospect, the front desk knew they were giving me a crummy room, but didn't care until I complained about it. That's not how a hotel should operate. For those issuing good reviews, I think it was really the luck of the draw. For a bit more money, I would have preferred staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ottawatraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direttore-Alexandra, Direttore generale at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Ottawatraveller1,
we are very sorry about your opinion that you had regarding the stay in our Hotel! But at first we feel surprised because of is not in our policy to punish the Guests giving Them a "crummy room"!
As You remember You booked for a single room, and we gave You a double standard room, and as You kindly noticed the #555 room is a double deluxe room different from the one that it was booked. When is possible it is a pleasure and a must to change the room to our Guests, as you probably saw from the other reviews, we try to understand what it is the "problem" and then we solve it. We gave You that kind of room just to make your stay pleasant as possible, and to show you how we take care for all the Guests.
We hope to host You in the future and in case do not hesitate to contact us directly in order to make your next stay pleasant as possible!

Best regards

Andrea Silvagni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

524 - 530 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Alexandra, Via Veneto, Rome in late October. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Good quality rooms, extremely clean, very comfortable with attentive Staff. Well located for sight seeing, beside a metro stop, and only 2 stops from the central train station (Termini). Ten minutes walk from the Spanish Steps and the stylish shopping area in this vibrant part of Rome. Close to a great selection of Restaurants where at the Hotel's own Restaurant Alex, guests can avail of a 10% discount. If I was to improve anything I'd improve the WIFI signal in bedrooms. Other than that, this is a good quality, good value hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatMMornington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We just returned from a 4 day stay at this lovely hotel. It was recommended by a friend of a friend. We had 4 couples staying prior to a cruise. The staff was wonderful, helpful and spoke good English....we spoke no Italian, so that was appreciated. They gave us good ideas on where to eat, exchange money, take local tours, and assisted with so much. I will always recommend Hotel Alexandra. Very reasonably priced. There is no reason to pay higher rates just down the street. The location could not have been better. The daily breakfast was perfect. Tours were available 6 steps away from our front door. I wish other cities had such perfect hotels with good location, value and service.

Room Tip: I was not aware of a fitness center or pool, we were always busy sightseeing, shopping or dining. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirleyinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Alexandra for 5 nights in September prior to a cruise. The hotel is in a very good location near many places people want to see while in Rome and also near a metro stop for those places futher away. The staff is very accomodating and attentive to their patrons. We had a rather large room and bathroom (for european standards) and it was light and bright with a window that could be opened looking out over the Via Veneto. Many eating places nearby.

The free wifi was great to have and the daily breakfast was good and ample. We would definately return to this hotel when traveling to Rome again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinemom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in early September this year. We found it to be the perfect base from which to explore Rome. Walking distance to most of the major sights and the Metro only 50 metres away. Location around the corner from Piazza Barberini where there are many bars and restaurants was also fantastic. And further up the Via Veneto there are many upmarket shopping stores if that is your inclination.
The hotel itself lived up the expectations I had formed after reading previous trip advisor reviews and researching the internet. Although we did have some reservations when we arrived at 9:00pm as there was no room available for us. The desk staff were quick to explain that they would put us up in the at the 4 star Hotel Imperiale next door for the night. They also explained that our bags would be transferred to our allocated room at the Alexandra the next day without the need to check in again. And thats how it happened. We left the Imperiale, which was more than satisfactory, the next morning and set off on our days exploration. Upon our return we found that all was in order. Our luggage was in our nice comfortable room overlooking the Via Veneto. A big thank you to the staff at the Hotel Alexandra who made this happen with a minimum of fuss. I think it also helps if you go with the flow and not let the situation get the best of you. The rest of our stay was seamless, the breakfasts were good and it really set the hotel standard for the remainder of our trip.

Room Tip: You can hear a bit of music from restaurants from the room overlooking the Via Veneto but it really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The people in the front desk, bar or in the rest of the hotel have been very friendly. Without matter our language (we don't talk Italian), always have communicated with us in Spanish or English.
The location is perfect, you can get a metro to move the most important places in rome.
The breakfast had been wonderful and very good. The prices of their services are very well, are cheaper compared with the other hotels in Italy and you can get a bottle of water in price :), cool.
I will recommend this hotel to stay in Rome, you will be happy :)

Room Tip: I don't know other rooms, but the #325 is perfect to rest and sleep very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabián I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We travelled as a couple as part of a multi-city Italian self guided tour with Rome being our third stop. We had been super pleased with all our hotels along the way already and Hotel Alexandra kept the streak alive! We stayed August 29-Sept 1, 2013 and stayed in room 555.

Hotel Alexandra is centrally located on Via Veneto and is on the Metro line at Barberini station (2 stops from Termini). It can be walked in about 15-20 minutes from Termini but for those that plan on touring the streets the Rome during their stay take the opportunity to familiarize yourself with the Metro line and avoid wheeling your luggage through the streets of Rome on the way! Via Veneto has several restaurants along the stretch surrounding the hotel including the Hotel's own Café Alex. There is a BNL within a 3 minute walk from the hotel for those looking for an ATM (or Bancomat as they are called here).

The lobby access is up a flight of about 15 stairs from the street. The bellhop barely gave us anytime to open the door before appearing and insisted on carrying the bags up to the lobby. The lobby area is tight quarters with the majority of this level devoted to the sitting room (with couches and a large screen TV) and the breakfast atrium room. There is a small internet area tucked in behind the staircase leading to the upper floors. A small elevator is available - can fit 4 people comfortably with luggage. The hotel still uses the old metal room key that must be handed in to the front desk every time you leave the hotel during your stay. The front desk is manned 24 hours per day and by the end of our first day the staff recognized us and our room #!
The check in was great and we were provided a map with several of the key highlights circled and identified for us. This map was well worn by the end of our third day in Rome!

The hall had a small step up en-route to our room. There was a small foyer upon entering the room. Behind the door, to your left when facing into the room, accessible when door is closed was a small mini-bar and coffee maker. To your right there is a short wall about 3 ft. high by about 4 ft. separates the foyer from the rest of the bedroom and allows for a perfect space for your luggage (2 bags on suitcase stands). Bedroom contained a king size bed with 2 nightstands, a desk with glass wall shelving above it (empty and not really usable), a high dresser, TV, and an armoire to hang clothes, complete with ironing board plus iron, and a combination safe. The safe is tight and our IPad in its case barely fit in there along with the other items.

Bathroom was a great size although the stand up shower was rather tight and dark. It had body jets on the wall but these did not function well at all and were not used. Shower temperature and pressure were perfect. Sink had plentiful counter space, well lit, and mirrors galore. Shampoo, body wash, soap, shower caps were provided and well stocked daily. Bidet and toilet rounded out the rest of the bathroom fixtures. Towels were plentiful and satisfactory. A window in the bathroom opened although only partially and it had a view of a walled in enclosure that included an air conditioning unit and some piping. It did the job in providing some ventilation.

The bonus to the room which we both were surprised and ecstatic to see was the terrace. Double French doors (with shutters that would allow you to keep doors open if desired) opened up to the terrace which had some planters, and a table with two chairs. The view wasn't anything to look at, other than the rooftops of other buildings but having the outside space was wonderful both for eliminating the need to head down 5 stories to smoke outside (room is non smoking) and providing the ability to chill outside and enjoy the weather! This area also provided us the ability to string up some rope for a makeshift clothes drying line without having to do so inside the room itself. We never did find the light switch which turned on the terrace lights but we didn't really need them anyways. The one drawback to the terrace was we returned to the room one night to find the terrace with several puddles on it (and it had not rained). It looked like the planters on the terrace above us might have been watered and the excess splashed down onto ours. Not a big deal but without the lights on and it being dark it was a slippery surprise when stepping out in bare feet!

Being on the metro line was key for accessing some of the key tourist spots. A few stops away to Termini, The Vatican, and to the Coliseum (although this one requires switching lines at Termini). We only used the metro to arrive/depart from Termini, and to the Vatican. We elected to walk to all other attractions, including several trips to the Spanish Steps (5 minute walk), 15 minutes to the Trevi Fountain/Pantheon, and about 20 minutes to the Coliseum.

Wifi worked in the lobby and in some parts of the room (terrace being the best bet for us). Breakfast was ok, and of a typical standard we experienced in other hotels in Italy although timing determined everything. It almost seemed that the serving staff did not proactively start preparing items in the back as items were running out in the breakfast room. Often waited 15 minutes for fresh fruit to be brought out as the tray remained empty out front. The coffee was self service from a machine and it was wretched. It had a distinct aftertaste that was very unpleasing and never could finish a mug despite trying a different type each morning and hoping that today would be different. Juice was disappointing as well and a couple of mornings the markings on the jug did not reflect the type of juice it contained inside...

When returning to Rome we will definitely return to the Hotel Alexandra and to room 555. It was a perfect base for our endless walking of Rome and being so close to the Spanish Steps it allowed us to end each night on the Steps with a bottle (or several) of Prosecco and being a short safe walk back to our hotel!

Room Tip: ask for room 555 - perfect terrace on back of hotel - quiet and private. great sized room overall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellinggnome007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Imperiale
Hotel Imperiale
#234 of 1,269 in Rome
996 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#153 of 1,269 in Rome
789 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Modigliani
Hotel Modigliani
#130 of 1,269 in Rome
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Albergo Ottocento
Albergo Ottocento
#269 of 1,269 in Rome
624 reviews
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#219 of 1,269 in Rome
1,239 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#195 of 1,269 in Rome
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 18, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Rome
#201 Family Hotel in Rome
#235 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $77 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexandra 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An noble house in a fine building, renowned as an integral part of the city's artistic heritage and situated in a street famed all over for its elegance and its vibrant Dolce Vita. Hotel Alexandra is a two steps to American embassy, Hard Rock Café and Teatro Sistina. Experience the thrill of a unique atmosphere, that will guide you through the 20th century, with its noble passion and supreme beauty. An exclusive and refined style of hospitality that takes its values into a centuries-old experience of a family of hotel owners. In Via Veneto, between age-old sycamore tree sand exclusive clubs, the Hotel Alexandra is an exciting and convenient location. Metro stop is very close to it and the most beautiful monuments are within a walking distance. We know how to satisfy you, because we do it since 1910. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Rome
Hotel Alexandra Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing