We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose it mainly for its location and its nice people”
Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #176 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Choose it mainly for its location and its nice people”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Hotel Alexandra is located in a very convenient place, i.e. in walking distance to many touristic attractions, such as Spanish steps, Fontana di Trevi, Pantheon etc. It can be also easily reached by public transportation (two metro stops) from Stazione Termini, the main transport hub of Rome. The rooms are quite small, as it is usual in European hotels, still they seem recently renovated and they are pleasant, spotlessly clean and well maintained. I am afraid that the pictures in the hotel website are not completely accurate. A pro of the hotel is the excellent front desk personnel who know how to deal with unexpected situations and leave their customers satisfied (they upgrated us to a front facing room because our first one was noisy).Thanks Carlo for the Prosecco, we wish many happy returns to you too. We will come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nina_auth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direttore-Alexandra, Direttore at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
first of all we do thank You for your lovely feedback and we really appreciate You had a lovely time in Rome for your Anniversary! As You noticed we did the best that was possible to make your stay fantastic, although there have been “unexpected situations”. We are renovating the Hotel and we hope that in Your next holiday in Rome You could like our rooms as you did in your last trip.
The next time You will return in Rome You will see a new Hotel with a very good service as You liked. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    452
    132
    38
    28
See reviews for
272
490
43
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Va
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I'm writing this review for my aunt and uncle who stayed at the hotel 8/27-30 based on my recommendation (from another friend). They loved the location near Via Veneto, hotel, spacious bedrooms, full breakfast, nearby restaurants, elevator, a/c and reasonable price. Their only compliant is the shower floods out of the stall which was annoying.
My aunt and uncle had a medical emergency while staying at the hotel. The afternoon /evening clerk on 8/29 was wonderful. He stayed with her until everything was settled and they got the care they needed. This was beyond his shift. My aunt is not a native speaker so he contacted authorities to assist her and was generous, compassionate and caring. She couldn't have gotten through the ordeal without him but she forgot to get his name. They had to stay an extra day beyond their reservation. The hotel management made every accommodation to assist them. Now this is service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpaGirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We chose this hotel to experience the old world charm of Rome, classic Rome. The rooms were full of the heavy old world and a bit worn furniture, I loved it. The bathroom was large and we liked it on the 5th floor. This way we had less road noise. As always the location was wonderful as it is on the once famous street of Via Veneto. We could walk everywhere, just minutes from the Spanish Steps and all the wonderful shopping and more wonderful restaurants in the same neighborhood. We bought some great hats there as well. The concierge was very helpful, warm and welcoming. And they offered a very good breakfast with lots of choices of fresh pastries in a light bright room. We may not go back there just to experience another hotel but you will not be sorry to stay there ever..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laflaflaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We found this to be a great little hotel. The location is within walking distance of many of the attractions of Rome. The staff were fantastic - very helpful with tips on seeing Rome and then when we were leaving the directions they gave to navigate our way out of Rome were spot on.

The room itself was large, nicely decorated with an Italian feel. We squeezed a family of four (kids: 8 and 6). The sofa bed was surprisingly comfortable. It was very quiet as it was at the back of the hotel. For some reason the room had an exercise bike in it, but because of the size of the room it hardly intruded at all.

The breakfast was adequate and again the staff were great.

About the only complaint we had was that we didn't have a clothes iron in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kell4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direttore-Alexandra, Direttore at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are happy You enjoyed your stay in Rome and that our Staff was helpul and fantastic as You wrote! The Junior Suite Room You had is confortable although there is one sofa bed that You liked it! Considering the space we decided to put one exercise bike in that kind of Room like other amenities to make Your stay wonderful as possible. We kindly ask to our Guests do not use their own iron because it is dangerous but our laundry service is available every day – except on Sunday – to make You fell like at home, also for iron only!
We thank You again for Your words and we are looking forward to see You in Rome next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel felt expensive when we booked it, but as it was the last stop on our trip we wanted an upgrade. It was enough off the main tourist areas to be quiet. The staff was amazing at making restaurant recommendations. The building next door was a govt building (parliament), so we could see protesters from out window view of the piazza ( a must). I felt special staying at this hotel and that is all I could ask for.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmktfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I travelled with my husband and 2 children to Rome and in Hotel Alexandra we found the perfect stay. The location is fabulous. Either by bus or metro we could reach any point within the city in a couple of minutes. The staff was extremely kind and helpful. The room was huge and presented a charming decoration that, along with the rest of the hotel transported us back to our grandmothers' houses and made us feel cozy at all times.The children loved it and we felt extremely confortable. The price of our stay combined with the confort we enjoyed will make this our home in Rome every time we return. And we will definetly recomend it to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raquel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a perfect location: it's in a walking distance to Trevi fountain, the spanish steps , pantheon, piazza de reppublicca etc. the metro is just 50 meters away! It has a very goos stuff , they are always ready to help you with everything! We had an ecomony double room, but me , personally I think that it was just like a standart double room, it was very cosy and comfortable !

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Imperiale
Hotel Imperiale
#265 of 1,258 in Rome
957 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Modigliani
Hotel Modigliani
#105 of 1,258 in Rome
1,269 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#173 of 1,258 in Rome
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#214 of 1,258 in Rome
1,174 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#111 of 1,258 in Rome
843 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Ottocento
Albergo Ottocento
#245 of 1,258 in Rome
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Property: Hotel Alexandra
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 18, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Rome
#201 Family Hotel in Rome
#235 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexandra 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Rome
Hotel Alexandra Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing