We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #177 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great location! Very close to the metro station(A line), trevi fountain, Spanish steps and the pantheon are all within walking distance. The staff is not friendly. The room was adequate but the bed was uncomfortable, as I believe it needed a new mattress. A lot of restaurants nearby as well. The one thing I didn't care for was the black mold in the bathroom shower. All of that said I would recommend the hotel to others based upon the location. One additional note, the breakfast while not outstanding was acceptable and average for Rome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BreakingOut_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    452
    132
    38
    28
See reviews for
272
490
43
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to the metro, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, catacombs (across the street!), and not to mention excellent shopping and dining. The hotel is clean and the staff was extremely helpful with directions, suggestions for dining, etc. On our flight over, my husbands luggage was lost. The staff was great about keeping us updated on the status. They continuously called the airline for us and notified us immediately when it arrived - we were so thankful for their efforts. Also, leave your key with the front desk when you leave so you don't have to carry it while sightseeing.

The breakfast buffet is wonderful and we're so glad we took advantage of it. They offered pastries, scrambled and hard boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt, cereal, juice and coffee. Delish!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back. No view, but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsZazu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a family room (two rooms: one big for the parents and a smaller for the kids) on the third floor. The room was very quiet and spacious. It overlooked a courtyard so there was no real view, but no disturbance from the street either (which is a very busy street). The kids enjoyed the bath tub.

The hotel is very well situated in Roma, close to the Spanish steps and the metro. Within walking distance of most tourist sites (you need to like to walk though).

Decoration of the hotel is a little outdated, simple but very clean.

The breakfast was a "all you can eat" buffet but never varied, pity.

The staff was exceptionally professional and helpful, very friendly.

Thank you for that!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Very nice hotel, central to Ancient Rome, Spanish Stairs, Trevi Fountain. I would certainly stay and recommend to my friends. There are many restaurants nearby and an excellent cafe at the bottom of the hotel with good food and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gusv638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Alexandra hotel is very well located,it enabled you to walk to all important sight such as the Fontana di Trevi,the Piazza Navona,the Piazza di Spagna or the Campo dei Fiori.
The staff is really nice and helpfull and the breakfast buffet has a great variety of food.
I strongly recommend this hotel,you won't regret it!!
PS: The palazzo Barberini,which hosts an art collection,is not filled with tourists and is just around the corner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalamakia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Excellent Location,Courteous Staff, Great Breakfast (lady who is incharge of breakfast was always smiling, great way to start your day. Thank you. Since I did not get to see the other rooms
I can only comment for room 467. A very small room with french day bed which was comfortable, the room was clean but they must do something about the air condition which is taking up quite a bit space and the outside unit sitting on the window sill very dangerous. Because of this I could not open or shut the window completly. 24 hour traffic outside makes it impossible to get a good night sleep. I hope that they would have a better single room for my next trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Guldal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed just one night in August. Hotel staff is very kind and helpfull. Location is perfect. 5 minutes walk to Trevi fountain and Spanish steps. So close to metro station and hop on hop off bus stop. Price is much cheaper than the other hotels in Rome. Breakfast is good. Best for family vacations. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ugur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Imperiale
Hotel Imperiale
#264 of 1,257 in Rome
954 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Modigliani
Hotel Modigliani
#103 of 1,257 in Rome
1,269 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#169 of 1,257 in Rome
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#217 of 1,257 in Rome
1,171 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#111 of 1,257 in Rome
838 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Ottocento
Albergo Ottocento
#263 of 1,257 in Rome
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Property: Hotel Alexandra
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 18, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Rome
#201 Family Hotel in Rome
#235 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexandra 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Rome
Hotel Alexandra Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing