We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Mascagni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mascagni
Ranked #160 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
182 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Hotels in Rome are weird...they either cost a king's ransom, or are truly dire. Finding something that is affordable and great is a challenge. This place ticks all the boxes. It won't break the bank, it's centrally located, the staff are extremely helpful, the rooms well-appointed, the sleep really comfortable. Breakfast was, as with so many places, a bit average but it was included in the price. The only minor problem with this hotel is its lift. It only has one, it's tiny, so you can find yourself losing the will to live as you wait interminably for it to arrive. That minor quibble aside, I recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megahose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    329
    84
    33
    18
See reviews for
249
380
28
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Very nice 4-star hotel well located, within walking distance of all the major sites and near Termini train station. Staff very friendly, helpful and charming. Breakfast delicious - Marco the Head Waiter extremely friendly and knowledgeable.Bedrooms spacious and well-equipped. Lift is small and bit slow but who cares - take the stairs and get some exercise. We would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter than at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Mascagni is in a perfect position for discovering Rome.Buses and triains nearby, but we walked everywhere, with ease, other than our tour to the Vatican, It is near the Place Republica surrounded by a good range of restaurants to suit all pockets.
The hotel staff were very friendly and extremely helpful ,booking tours and giving local knowledge of restaurants.Lovely bed rooms with extremely comfortable beds,tea and coffee to hand..A small bar opens in the evening where the Bar Staff were again very friendly.It was our first time in Rome and this hotel helped us have a really great holiday.We wouldnt hesitate to return. Thankyou Mascagni.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iansonmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
2 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The hotel Mascagni is ideal!It is next to the centre so you can walk or take the bus or the metro! The rooms are very clean and comfy!Finally,the staff is friendly and very helpful!Of course we will stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank athanasiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic hotel that has a great location for exploring Rome. It is beautifully decorated and the room felt very luxurious. A little work needed doing on the bathroom but everything was clean. We had a back room which was very quiet, especially for a city. Thankyou to all the staff especially to the waiters at breakfast who ensured our flask was filled each morning!

Helpful?
Thank Baggage76
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We originally had reservations at Hotel Stendhal, but unfortunately our reservations were entered into their system incorrectly, so we couldn't check in until the next day. Damiano (concierge at Hotel Stendhal) graciously made reservations at Hotel Mascagni, which is their sister hotel, for us, called a cab and paid for it! When we got to Mascagni we were pleasantly surprised. The concierge was very understanding of the mix up and they gave us an upgraded room with an adorable balcony facing a quiet street. There was an in room coffee/tea maker, which was convenient since we like to drink tea at night. Everything was crisp, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious! When friends ask for hotel recommendations I will gladly have this hotel on my list.

Room Tip: Splurge a little for the Superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had a great 3 night stay, close to termini station 5/7 min walk - 2 mins to metro stop, very safe area to walk even at night. The friendly, helpful staff made this hotel 4 star quality, every member played their part to make your stay comfortable, excellent service at breakfast, reception desk, bar. We stayed at front overlooking street, some traffic noise but double doors so didn't find this an issue. Room was superior with lots of space, bath room spotless , small but ample, room cleaned and fresh sheets everyday. Easy stroll downhill to Trevino fountain 15 mins and Spanish steps 20 mins - Used the metro to go further and tour bus which were only 2 min walk away. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you want to stay in this area of Rome. Breakfast was more than expected , in lovely quiet dining room with excellent service from very attentive staff.

Room Tip: Loved our room with balcony at front 206 - but may be noisy for some - we loved to watch the bustle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lids64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Mascagni Luxury Dependance Rooms & Suites
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#168 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Stendhal
Hotel Stendhal
#151 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Britannia Hotel
The Britannia Hotel
#132 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#131 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Esquilino
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#158 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mascagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mascagni

Property: Hotel Mascagni
Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando 90, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#116 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#132 Family Hotel in Rome
#159 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mascagni 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Mascagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mascagni Hotel Rome
Hotel Mascagni Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing