We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and affordable”
Review of Hotel Turner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Turner
Ranked #764 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Good price. Nice and new decoration in washroom. Location is not bad. Direct bus to Rome Termini and other places. Very helpful staffs. Breakfast time there are many people in restaurant, you have to be there before 8am. But internet service was not stable. Usually lost connection at night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (948)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

289 - 295 of 948 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

decent hotel, beautiful lobby and staircase, party of 12 with 6 different rooms..some were larger than others, along with the bathrooms.. can't complain - we were in Rome. We bought the Roma Pass which gave us unlimited bus/subway travel for 3 days.. the bus stop is right outside the door and brings you back across the street. Found a wonderful grocery across and down the street, also around the block, wonderful mom and pop restaurants behind the hotel. Breakfast was fine, carb overload.. but we did order the bacon and eggs 2 mornings ( 2.50 E pp ) great coffee... yogurt, granola, sweets, croissants, toast, cheese.... internet was free but was spotty except during the middle of the night when I couldn't sleep...great staff also...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foursquares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Me and my partner arrived at the hotel in July 2012. On first arrival we were impressed by the beautiful decor of the hotel lobby and stairs! After being shown to our room, we were shown where everything was etc.However we soon realized that the windows opened out onto an enclosed area and that the air conditioning was not working properly. We rang down and was told that we would be moved to a different room. The staff were very pleasant and friendly the whole time and throughout our stay. The next room was still the same lay out but it was a little cooler than the last but the heat was understandable for that time of year.
The hotel had a rooftop bar which was easily accessible and had a very friendly waiter. The bar was very sweet and romantic, especially at night.
It was quite a fair walk to Central Rome, around a 2 mile walk to the Colosseum, which was okay but the heat made it a little difficult (37 degrees). There were plenty of restaurants and eateries surrounding the hotel and a pharmacy only 2 doors down.
Would stay again but at a different time of year and would recommend paying more for a better room, we did this for our last night and it was much better! (We paid 40 euros to upgrade to a larger room which was much cooler).
The only real downsides for us were the location and the quality of the low budget rooms (not 4 star.)

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel itself was flawless; big room, decent shower, safe, (free) air con and reception staff speak good English and are very friendly. You can't take the key away from the hotel which saves the worry of losing it which is a nice touch. Breakfast was basic but enough to get you going for the day and is served from 7-10. I think you can buy a hot breakfast for €1.50 per day if continental is insufficient. We stayed for 3 nights and didn't have towels or bed linen changed once but I assume that's due to the short stay.

The nearest metro station is about 10 minutes walk which can get you across Rome in 5 minutes for only €1.50 per person. The Trevi Fountain is the nearest monument which is only a half hour stroll. We flew to Ciampino airport and got the Terravision bus to Station Termini for only €4 euro each way. The walk is only 20 minutes so not worth getting a taxi as we heard of some €90 euros one way.

Eating out is easy to do on a budget down the back streets but be warned that near attractions a pint of beer is €9 and food is pricey. Best food is down the side roads so have a wander (look out for Centralissimo which was our favourite near the Trevi).

Overall, great for couples who don't mind a walk but you can easily get there via the Metro.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Liam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel itself is nice. Rooms are clean and big. The style of the rooms is like old days 18 century. I strongly recommend it to those who are fed up with modern style interior and those who want to experience something else but Scandinavian simple design of furniture and interior.
Breakfast is not recommended for people from Northern Europe, it was very Italian with cakes and sweets for breakfast.
Otherwise very nice hotel, close to everything most of all to Spanish Stairs and Piazza della Republica.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serzyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Fantastic hotel stayed here to watch England vs Italy in Feb 2012. Staff were polite and helpful they arranged for us to be picked up by a driver from the airport who was very knowledgeable and told us some of the sites on our way to the hotel. Hotel is beautiful everything was clean and tidy. The only downside was that we found the room a little cold. However we stayed when it had snowed for the first time in 20 years! We walked everywhere from the hotel including to the Vatican city and to the stadium. This hotel is perfect for site seeing or a romantic break as the rooms are beautifully decorated. There is also a fantastic restaurant just 1 minute down the road. Would recommend it to anyone visiting Rome.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front of the hotel as there is no view at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankieR1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

That was the second best hotel I have ever stayed in all Europe.I liked it.I will prefer the same hotel for the next visit to Rome.The staff was very polite and helpful on every occasion.Its location was also very available in order to reach a lot of historic places.I visited a lot of World Heritage Sites on foot because the location of the hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caner U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Apogia Lloyd Roma
#312 of 1,271 in Rome
543 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Archimede
Hotel Archimede
#821 of 1,271 in Rome
511 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Luce
Hotel Luce
#1,050 of 1,271 in Rome
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Crosti Hotel
Crosti Hotel
#200 of 1,271 in Rome
877 reviews
Esquilino
Champagne Palace
Champagne Palace
#1,112 of 1,271 in Rome
645 reviews
Esquilino
Champagne Garden Hotel
Champagne Garden Hotel
#1,061 of 1,271 in Rome
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Turner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Turner

Address: Via Nomentana 29, 00161 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#325 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $59 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Turner 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Turner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turner Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing