We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel near Train Station”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cortina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cortina
Ranked #63 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great Hotel near Train Station”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2007

My 3 sisters and I stayed in the apartment adjoining the hotel. The apartment was large and clean. The two bathrooms were also modern and nicely appointed. A driver picked us up at the airport on time, and we were met at the apartment by helpful, friendly staff. There's an Irish Pub next door, and we enjoyed being able to enjoy a cocktail so close to the hotel. We would certainly stay here again and highly recommend the apartment to others.

  • Liked — Spaciousness of the apartment
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    201
    44
    11
    2
See reviews for
180
288
34
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
limerick, ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2007

beautiful old building, great room, very clean, friendly english - speaking staff, walking distance to all sites (trevi -10 mins), highly recommended, mary & john - limerick, ireland (jan '07)

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
10 Thank molly100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2007

A very clean and comfortable hotel in a busy city. We were a little concerned when we arrived outside but we were pleasantly surprised when we got to the hotel on the 1st floor. The staff were excellent. They happily made reservations for tours, dinners etc and were a font of local knowledge. The breakfast was very good and there was lots of it. We had a very early flight when leaving and the concierge made the effort to gather us some suitable food that we could eat because we were leaving before the breakfast availability. Its often the little things that make the difference and the Cortina is big on them. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — The heating was up too high
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank dingoQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2006

Not a bad hotel, but nothing special, especially when compared to our stays in Venice and Florence, all for around the same price. The room was a little small and too hot, even though we were there in winter. The location is good and the service very good.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank brucej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2006

The two of us stayed here Nov7-17 '06 and really could not have been more pleased with the location of the hotel(over an Irish pub) and the centrality(two blocks from Republica metro) on Via Nationale, thru the wonderfu old door and up the stairs. The room was fairly small but the bath was great as well as a truly comfortable large bed. Three days in the hotel and then we moved to their apartment around the corner. Now that was excellent, a large two bedroom, two bath, kitchen and livingroom with over 600 channels on the tv if you can figure it out. Load up on refreshments to put in the frig, meaning beer and wine and save a few euros. A microwave to warm your pizza too. Florian and Angelo were great help with almost any info you'd require. The breakfast is fair so you can either save a couple of euros with them or explore any number of places out on the throughfare. The side streets have any number of good restaurants but I highly recommend #16 via del Boschette, Vecchicco Trattoria(spelling?), just plain great and lots of wine to choose from. Anyhow, a great reasonably priced friendly hotel, well located and comfortable.

  • Liked — The comfortable rooms and the apartment option
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Save a couple of euros and stand at the counter to drink your espresso
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Travellcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2006

We were upgraded to the apartment around the corner from the hotel. The photos on the website do not do it justice. Its a beautiful large apartment with 2 bedrooms/bathrooms, we even stayed in one night and cooked our own meal which was really nice. It is on a very quite street so we heard no noise at night and it was beside an Irish bar so we didn't have far to go for a few drinks. We were in walking distance to most of the sites, and nearly all the buses stop on via Nazionale. Breakfast was good, selection of cheeses, meats, cereal, juice,bread and fruit and unlimited tea/cappucinos. I would highly recommend this hotel and its staff and would definately stay here again.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank LovesTravlling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2006

I stayed at the apartment offered by Angelo in the street around the corner to the hotel - Via Napoli. It was beautiful! It had recently been renovated and was very clean. I stayed there with my parents and my husband joined us later. There were two bedrooms each with their own bathroom, kitchen and living room. Angelo was very helpful and provided us with a map and some tips. We used the hotel's pick up service from the airport (for an extra EUR 55) and since I was with my parents (60 years old) it was definitely worth every penny. The first night we arrived the taxi driver gave us a nice tour of rome on the way to the hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — friendliness of staff, modern apartment
  • Tips/Secrets — go for the apartment!
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank hoosiers2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#97 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#124 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#68 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Esquilino
The Britannia Hotel
The Britannia Hotel
#131 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Esquilino
Residenza Cellini
Residenza Cellini
#27 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortina

Property: Hotel Cortina
Address: Via Nazionale 18, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Rome
#99 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cortina 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An excellent departure point to visit the city, the Hotel Cortina is situated in Via Nazionale right in the centre and a short walk from Trevi Fountain, the Coliseum, Piazza Venezia, Roman Forum and the Spanish Steps. You can easly reach the Vatican City and the most important monuments and the shopping district. The main bus and underground station are nearbay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortina Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing