We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My eyes still on those Spainish Steps and in my heart !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Howard Guest House Rome
Ranked #1,629 of 3,620 Rome B&B and Inns
LaJolla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My eyes still on those Spainish Steps and in my heart !”
Reviewed December 19, 2008

Casa Howard Thank you we had a lovely stay in a quaint room with toile black and white bedding , very tiddy. The bath was down the hall with the most fragrant italian soap that I brought home because I loved it so much and the small bar lasted 6 month..savored of course.We were within moment to the famous SPAINISH STEPS wish we found a cafe directlly across the street which was bustling but we slipped up stairs to a room with only one other couple and two big picture windows like postcards of the view..fabulous! What more could you want beside a cafe late and a sweet pastry, Ahh! Within moments of our departure down the street we could pick up the double-decker bus (which you can buy two and I think maybe three day passes) and off to see the whole city. You can get off and on at site all over. Back to our hotel to freshen for dinner, our hotel host who are most helpful with retaurants and also have internet access. She will call and make reservations for you. Help direct you and give you maps etc. The retaurants are all within walking and are great. Once we got our bearings we were pros. The Trivoi fountain is mouments away , I could go on and on about the good reasons for why to stay there. the only negative experience we had was we caught a downfall of rain and we had a bad experience with a cab driver on our arrival who scamed us so be careful when arriving ,know the distance and cost prior. Love to travel your friend Lynette Dunn

  • Liked — Location, comfort, quite hospitality, felt safe
  • Disliked — Room was lil smaller than we like bath being down the hall
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank annmargaret007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    80
    26
    17
    29
See reviews for
29
156
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2008

We only stayed one night, our last night in Italy, on our way home. We came from Florence having stayed at the Casa Howard there. We wish we had more time. The location is magnificent. The front door opens onto the best shopping street in Rome. We walked down to the Spanish Steps just as the shops were closing. Our room was adorable - the Zebra Room. The staff were friendly & helpful.

  • Liked — Location!
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TopangaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2008

It was our first trip to Italy and the connecting flight was very confusing. Two of our party missed the flight in Paris, When we arrived in Rome the arranged driver had a sign up for Potts, not our name. It took some work to convince the driver we were his prearranged pick up. The driver got the address incorrect and took us to the wrong Casa Howard. We finally arrived at our destination and our room was terrific,

Casa Howard prearranged a tour for us and the young lady was so phenominal we booked her for a second day, The second day we got our pockets picked on the train. Now I know this sounds like a disaster trip but the staff at Casa Howard were so gratious and helpful even helping to notify our credit card company that they went way beyond our expectations. It is a lovely place to stay and the staff is more caring than at the major hotels.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — street noise
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Merry122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2008

With relatives in Pescara, we fly into Rome and unwind at Casa Howard. The airport service is wonderful when we are jet lagged but so excited to enjoy that first cup of Roman espresso, then we arrive and walk the neighborhood for a few hours, nap and catch a cool restaurant recommended by the friendly professionals at Casa Howard. We were the first guests of the Zebra Room, just after Architectural Digest had photographed it, and we love to return! Many thanks for your hospitality and we look forward to trying Florence too! The Scarpettas.

  • Liked — originality, location, quality of accomodations, authentic Roman experience
  • Disliked — very small, in keeping with other places in Rome, but tight
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernestann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2008

I went to Rome for my 30th birthday with my best friend and sister. I did the research for the trip and I found the details for Casa Howard in Time Out which gave it a fantastic review.

We stayed at Casa Howard's Rome Guesthouse on Via Capo le Case and all three of us were booked into The Green Room as it slept 3. It was just as lovely as it looked in the brochure and we had a very comfortable stay. The breakfast was delicious plus the complementary toiletries were divine!
Christine was very kind to us and even loaned us a guide as I forgot mine.

The location was ideal as we were in easy walking distance of the Spanish Steps, shops, bars etc and meant we didn't have to pay a fortune for cabs. I also had my hair done in the hairdressers which was attached to the hotel.

Thanks, Beth

  • Liked — The Decor, the location the service
  • Disliked — I dont' recall any problems with the accomodation
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoopLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
booweston
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2008

We arrived at the train station to find the taxi drivers were on strike so we had to walk to the hotel.It wasnt a great start but when we arrived at Casa Howard everything changed.
Its a lovely place with friendly staff and its stunning interior is something else.You are so central to everything in Rome that we walked everywhere.
We had one of the cheaper rooms without an ensuite but couldnt have been happier as they supply beautiful dressing gowns & slippers for you to wear.The bathroom we used down the hall way was immaculate and only for us.The bedrooms themselves are beautifully designed and all different.
We really couldnt have had a better stay.
We loved it so much that we recommended it to my parents, who are very particular, and they loved it

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
Thank booweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2008

My husband, who is Italian and used to travel around the country on business had stayed at Casa Howard many years ago. He loved his stay and always remembered it. When it came time to help friends and family find places to stay while visiting Italy for our wedding celebration in June of '04 he recommended the hotel. Several of our friends stayed at the two Rome properties and LOVED them.

  • Liked — size and feel in area hotel was situated
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aaratto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Elite Hotel
#415 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Parlamento
Hotel Parlamento
#202 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Hotel Concordia
#745 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Colonna
Casa Howard Guest House
Casa Howard Guest House
#2,911 of 3,620 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Colonna
Chic & Town Luxury Rooms
Chic & Town Luxury Rooms
#54 of 3,620 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Howard Guest House Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Howard Guest House Rome

Property: Casa Howard Guest House Rome
Address: 18, Via Capo le Case, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,629 of 3,620 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Howard Guest House Rome 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decorated with luxury fabrics and antique and modern furniture, our guest-house on via Sistina 149 has often been labelled "a rare find." Our guest house on Capo le Case has parquet floors and wooden beam ceilings, a Turkish Hammam Bath and fabrics from Paris & China, making this a special place. We offer a very personal service, a prime Rome location and unique tasteful and luxurious decor to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Howard Guest House Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Howard Hotel Rome
Casa Howard Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing