We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst HOTEL ever”
Review of Hotel Rubino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rubino
Ranked #1,067 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Aviano, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst HOTEL ever”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

This Hotel was Horriable! As soon as we showed up the two Asian lady workers were really really rude. That was until they broke a bottle of my cologne. Then they were at my finger tips. They bought me a new bottle and were rude again. Every Morning we woke up and the bathroom leaked a nasty pi$$ smelling water. I would NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE. I live here in Italy and it was my second time in rome. There are way more other hotels at a cheaper price with better service. HOTEL ROBINO can EAT A ... you know what...this site wont let me say it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juskicknit36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    51
    39
    21
    74
See reviews for
26
77
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Hotel lights were dim (in fact dimmest that I have ever encountered). I was being transfered from Hotel Soggiorno Blu as they said there was something wrong with the toilets as it were leaking. (However, Hotel Soggiorno Blu wasn't good either).

There was a loud knocking on our hotel room in the middle of the night, but there were no peep holes, didn't dare open the doors as it wasn't safe at night.

Found BED BUGS on the bed. Not ONE but A FEW!!! Toilet sucked big time, wasn't at all clean, sink was located near de bed. Wasn't clean either.

Breakfast was served in a cafe opposite the road. However, one was allowed to have only one serving.

There wasn't any staff at the reception AT ALL TIMES.

Location is good though.

Terrible hotel that one should take note the most when visiting Rome.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Winstonng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providenciales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

In faireness the location for us was perfect, short walk from the Central Station - BUT - the "hotel" was a flea-pit literally - we found bugs on the sheets, and both my daughter and I caught bed-bugs and had to fumigate our home on return!

Cupboards were all sagging and warping doors would not close, mildew in the bathroom and beds were lumpy.

It should have NO Stars and i am very angry at the misrepresentation of its star rating, the Italian Authorites need to control these facilities much better

Roger
Turks & Caicos Islands

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rogmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomintoul
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

In brief -
On arrival room was unready, we were told to return 4 hours later! This was not good with a young family.
Wish we hadn't returned as we had a room with broken air con and 4 beds crawling in bed bugs.
We were moved for our second night to a double room where they'd crammed 4 beds in, one being an inflatable bed and the other a camp bed! We were unable to use cupboards as the doors were jammed shut with the beds. We had to stack our luggage and could only get about by walking on the beds. We have travelled in Africa, Asia, S. America all in budget hotels and this is by far the worst!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goidellick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

For a two-star hotel I was actually expecting alot worse. I had to swap some bulbs around as the bedside lamp had blown and use my screwdriver to stop the showerhead falling off the wall, but otherwise this was a clean and comfortable stay. The thin walls can carry noise if other guests are being rowdy and you can forget sleeping in after 9am thanks to Rome's traffic. The wifi is up on the 5th floor, this hotel is on the 2nd floor, even if you get signal it's 5 euros for 5 hours.

It's in a pretty good spot, only a block from Termini (central station) so getting around is not a problem. Lots of cheap dodgy eats around, though if you walk to the other side of the train station the quality of restaurants improves immensely. Close to several internet cafes and laundrettes. Watch out if you go a few more blocks to the north-east, that seems like a potentially unsafe area. Stick to the regular tourist zones.

The check-in staff were accommodating if not a little abrupt, and the housekeepers were friendly and helpful. Despite the small problems the room had, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superjamielol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuttgart
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2010

++ excellent location..300 meters from the ROMA Termini (Main station and city center ).... comfortably you can come back from most of the tourist spots without a lot of walk..

+ Rooms are OK.. medium size....Bathroom was clean..

+/- Breakfast OK.. can not except much more in this price ...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunny00777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, USA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

I am struggling to determine if, in 40 years of international travel, I have ever had a worse experience. As of this moment, I cannot think of any.

The help was surly, argumentative and petty. The room had furniture that you could not give away. The Internet (5 Euros for 90 minutes) could not be received by our computers. You had to be buzzed-in past security glass to get in the place. It reminded me of places that "ladies of the night" utilize. You are greeted by graffiti and garbage in the elevator well. (I stayed only because they had my credit card number, I had been up for 30 hours without sleep, it was 11 p.m., and it was raining.) We had to trudge up two flights of stairs to a door in an elevator well that said "Hotel Rubino". To get in, you had to push a button on an intercom to get in the door.

When we were finally given our room, it was actually at the "Hotel Planet", in the same building, 3 floors up. They are apparently allowned by the same people, as the "help" (if you could call it that) seemed to work in several hotels simultaneously. Our "view" was of a garbage-filled alleyway between buildings.

We got a 4-bed room. It was actually a very small double room with two other beds wedged into the room. You almost had to step over beds to get to the bathroom. In the bathroom, there was a moldy water pitcher.

When we left in the morning (as soon as we could), there was another group arguing vociferously with the "help" about the cleanliness of their room. They had actually put large dust-balls in a plastic bag to prove how gross the room was. Yet, the "help" was arguing loudly! It was a black comedy!

Go to the other side of the Termini for rooms, preferably about 3 blocks. We found a room at the "Hotel Romantica", which was cheaper, clean, and attractive. Otherwise, unless it's raining, sleep on the ground inside the Termini. It's cleaner, and people are likely nicer.

Did I mention that one of the mattresses fell through the springs, and as we were leaving another bed frame collapsed on my wife's toes?

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 407Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Luciani
Hotel Luciani
#711 of 1,261 in Rome
445 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Viennese
Hotel Viennese
#1,126 of 1,261 in Rome
235 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#721 of 1,261 in Rome
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Caput Mundi
Caput Mundi
#820 of 1,261 in Rome
89 reviews
Esquilino
Termini Accommodation
Termini Accommodation
#812 of 1,261 in Rome
69 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#1,051 of 1,261 in Rome
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rubino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rubino

Property: Hotel Rubino
Address: Via Milazzo 3, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Tiburtino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,067 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rubino 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rubino is situated in the historical centre of Rome, just a short distance from Termini Station and Bus Terminal. The reception desk is open 24 hours a day during the whole year. Our staff speak English for your convenience and can make reservations for day and night tours inside and outside the city. All rooms have bathroom and shower, satellite TV, central heating, Air Conditioning, Wi-Fi Internet Access and safety deposit box. Some of the services we provide include an elevator, nearby parking and taxi bookings. It is also in an ideal situation for visitors as any tourist attraction can be reached within a few minutes. The management and staff of Hotel Rubino warmly welcome you to Rome and hope you have a pleasant stay. WI-FI internet access Check in 24hrs Check out 12pm Breakfast included Credit Card facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rubino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rubino Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing