We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a city break”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #514 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Excellent location. Very close to railway termini. Plenty of restaurant choices in the locality.
Bus services down to Vatican and Forum / Colliseum are also just a short walk away.
Our room was on the front of the hotel and we had to close our windows at night so that we wouldn't be woken early by traffic noise, but not a major issue.
Room was clean and spacious. King size bed. Bathroom was a decent size. Some of the grouting in the shower needed to be repaired where it had broken away and was discoloured.
WiFi worked well.
Receptionists were very helpfull.
Limited and sometimes unusual choices of items at breakfast, but adequate. Very pleasant sitting out on the roof terrace to eat breakfast.
Would we stay there again? A definite yes

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod4705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (942)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 942 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

Great place access to Termini station and many attractions are within walking distance. Breakfast on the roof terrace is very relaxing, and has more options than some standard Italian breakfasts, but still less than American breakfasts. Rooms more than adequate, staff very helpful. WiFi worked well

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaredkuper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Good points:

1.Lovely staff
2. Handy location, close to Termini and walking distance to most key sites.
3. Breakfast was limited but tasty, and for hotel price fair enough!
3. Unlike prior review had no wifi problems, and wifi worked well

Not so good points:
1. House keeping needs improving, leaving dirty mugs and general attention to detail poor (see pictures posted)
2. Of the two rooms we had one toilet refused to flush properly - plumber didn't come all day and was only fixed on chasing on our return.
3. In second room TV didn't work properly
4. Rooms tired and not so clean if you cared to look closely
5. Poor sound proofing between rooms with locked inter-connecting door

Overall nothing awful, but could have been so much better if a little money was spent freshening the place up. If staff weren't so lovely I may not have been so forgiving of it's shortcomings!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Rory76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The staff were very nice and accommodating.

My opinion is this is not a four star hotel.

However here are the problems we had.

1. Toilet wouldn't flush properly.
2. No hot water.
3. Wifi would hardly load pages most of the time.
4. 30 Minutes to get a hot chocolate.
5. A/C in room didn't work.
6. Very very limited breakfast choices.

let me break down the issues.

1 - We asked about this on the first day, apparently someone was going to look at it. No one did.

We asked again about this on the third day - someone came up and fixed it while we were out for the ay.

2. We asked about this on the first day, we were simply told the hotel is fully booked and to wait half an hour and there should be enough hot water.

3. We asked about this on the first day - The kind man behind the counter went down to restart the Access point our room would connect to, this fixed the problem for the night, but the trouble returned within a few hours.

We then asked about this again on the third day and it was resolved and fine for the rest of the trip.

4. We asked for a Coffee and a Hot Chocolate - the coffee was made within 10 minutes however it took just under 30 minutes for the Hot Chocolate.

5. This was fixed on the third day.

6. The only thing that was available was cereal or yoghurt and a basket of bread (if they remember to give it to you) the other few things that were available I wouldn't call breakfast food and a small selection of fruits (which was stated was an extra 5 euro charge in the book we were given when we checked in)

I found it funny when we sat there each day watching new people to breakfast look around with a facial expression of "Where is everything" ? There simply was not enough choices.

There was also a very bad smell when opening any windows (which we had todo for a few days while the A/C didn't work)

I've travelled extensively and have stayed in many hotels and I must say that out of every where this was my worst experience. I've never left a bad review ever, however I wish to state the facts about our visit and i'm sure not everyone's experience will be like this however with our compounding issues every other niggling thing just made the experience terrible.

While the foyer and the rest of the ground floor say 4 star - unfortunately the rest of the place isn't.

I've seen other reviews that have also complained about a subset of what i've said above so i'm not alone in my concerns

Example - http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g187791-d205129-r133427134-Hotel_Rex-Rome_Lazio.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Shayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Rex May 15th to May 18th. We walked right passed it at first! The lady at reception was lovely. Our room was a good size Room 202. The shutters were closed but we asked at the desk for them to be opened whilst we were out. The bed was so wide and I had such a good nights sleep on it. Breakfast was taken up on the roof terrace and was lovely. The waiter was so helpful. Breakfast is continental and just right. We rang out of coffee sachets and again was supplied more when asked. We did go to the breakfast room and get a cup of milk and put it in the fridge as the dried milk ran out and was not so nice. We didn't use the restaurant or lounge but it all looked fab. The Hotel is about 10 min walk to the station where we would pick up the Roma Christina hop on/off bus (Omina pass totally recommend it) and also very central for many of the sites. Just a little tip please be careful when getting the Leanadro Express train from the station. Young boys were grabbing people's suitcases and putting them on the train then hassling them for euro.

Room Tip: Room 202 didin't have a view but was large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julsmudgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Rex 13-15 May. The staff, in particular Francesca are so helpful and accommodating. The children were treated with kindness and respect and they loved the playstation! The room was clean and well laid out for a family of 4. The welcome postcard and all the little nice touches made this a great visit. The breakfast is light, but perfect. Overall a terrific stay which we all enjoyed thanks to the Hotel Rex. Thanks again Francesca you're terrific!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1965beetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

My wife, son and I stayed at the Rex for a week and loved everything about our stay - friendly service, great value, good breakfast, clean comfortable rooms, excellent dinning, great location to have as your home base to visit all of Rome.

Room Tip: Perfect location to have as a home base to walk to everything in Roma.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnwattup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#231 of 1,270 in Rome
915 reviews
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#164 of 1,270 in Rome
2,269 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#230 of 1,270 in Rome
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#187 of 1,270 in Rome
1,757 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Hotel Genova
Hotel Genova
#407 of 1,270 in Rome
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: Via Torino 149, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#260 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $80 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rex 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex is a charming and cosy histori hotel located a few steps away from the Opera House and Saint Mary Major Basilica and 15 minutes away by walking from the Colosseum. Our guests and their needs are at the centre of our work and the staff is ready to assist you 24 hours a day. All the rooms are equipped with free WiFi connection, Tea&Coffee maker, Playstation with a selection of films and games available for free at Reception, Sky, airconditioning, minibar and inroom safe. Our delicious breakfast with homemade cakes, quiche and omelettes is served every day in our cosy breakfast room. The Rex Bar tempts you with coffee, cappuccino and a good selection of wine. To enjoy yourself, use the brand new "Rex Fight Club" Fitness Centre with the possibility to exercise with the Wii on a maxi screen or sunbath on the Terrace. Great news are coming: a new Restaurant and brand new rooms are going to come! Come to the Hotel Rex and experience the best in Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing