We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #558 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is quite a late review as I took my husband here for his birthday in Nov 11 so sorry for the delay but not quite into this review stuff yet, the hotel is set close by the main railway station so easy access from airport, on entering the hotel I have to admit it looked lovely nice and clean we were given a room on the 2nd floor and although on the small side it was very nice inside the bathroom was rather small and i could imagine someone on the stocky side struggling in the shower but it was clean. The view from our window wasnt good but we weren't there to look out of the window so wasn't too bothered. there was a roof terrace which I can imagine is lovely to sit on in the summer but as it was November we didnt bother. We had breakfast included but it was just continental the only dissapointing thing was where breakfast was served it was like it was in the basement of the hotel and rather basic. Other than this issue the hotel was lovely and i would definatly stay here again if we go back to Rome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinalyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    366
    158
    79
    43
See reviews for
183
423
29
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for a long weekend (4nights), the first night was a bit iffy as there was one person on the desk and he was rushed off his feet. A few things went wrong like our electric cut off, the milk in our room was out of date (that's me being picky) and we didn't have the relevant adapters for our lamps and kettle so we had to constantly keep going up and down the stairs to get stuff... but once we were past this the hotel was great.

Information on the desk of where to go, train times etc is really good, breakfast is lovely, rooms are comfortable, close to everything. It was a very nice stay and I would go back.
You don't need to pay for transfers, you can get a train/bus from the airport to termini station and walk to the hotel from there, same again going home. (Hotel can give you all this info)

Its everything you need to get the best experience from Rome.

Room Tip: Have an upgraded room, ours was a little small and the view was a wall. But as this is a city break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Rex for 4 nights during our trip to Italy in April 2013. It was really close to the Roma Termini train station (maybe about a 5 minute walk). The lady that checked us in was very nice and gave us a lot of good information. Also we were able to leave our bags as we arrived in the early afternoon and our room was not yet ready. When we got back later that evening our bags had been taken up to our room for us... which was nice and something we aren't used to. The room was very small (we got the smallest room you could get), but we didn't really spend a lot of time there so it was okay. It was very hot and the window was difficult to open. Also, we went up to the rooftop patio to have a drink and noticed a lot of trash... empty coke and beer bottles everywhere. We went twice and the same litter was there the second time... so who know how long its been there. It made the hotel feel kind of dirty. Breakfast was good.. it was down in the basement and they have a good variety of food. However, for certain items like pastries they only have so many so if you come down to breakfast late, you might miss out. Overall it was pretty average. Good location and friendly staff, but small rooms and some of the common areas were a little dirty.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tress85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I wasn't a guest at this hotel but my friends were staying there. My phone wasn't working so I was desperately trying to contact my friends to meet them in another part of the city. The hotel staff were absolutely lovely--let me use the phone to call my friends, helped me to figure out exactly where my friends were, walked me to a taxi stand, even gave me a bottle of water! I would recommend this hotel to anyone for a delightful stay in Rome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This place was a dump!!!! The carpet leading to our room was filthy with stains, ALOT of stains! The room it's self was even worse. If you don't mind stained carpet, wallpaper falling of the walls, cigarette burns on the furniture and stained sheets than this is your place. We asked for another room and they showed us a bigger room with the same problems. I told them I wanted "clean" not "bigger". They showed us the Jr. Suite which was better but not great. This place needs a major updating!!!!! The ONLY plus was location but there are many other options I would investigate.

Room Tip: Ask for room 103 which was the cleanest most updated room we saw out of 3 different rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel is a great base to explore Rome.The rooms are clean, comfortable and well decorated although the bathroom, and I can only speak for ours was beginning to look tired and in need of a refurbishment, that said it was clean and well stocked. The breakfast was OK however I would avoid the coffee,something that's hard to believe in Italy. If your offered a cappuccino take them up on the offer, it's slightly better, either that or stick to tea. The rest of the breakfast was no different to any other in Italy.
Whinge over, the hotel staff were welcoming and informative and we were supplied with a street map with directions to all the attractions around Rome and details of surrounding restaurants of which there are many.
Considering the average Roman's love of using their car horn whenever there's an obstruction in the road the rooms are surprisingly quiet so all said apart from the bathroom and the coffee, I'd certainly return to Hotel Rex.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel is located very near from the Train Station, in a calm street that ends directly in the beautiful Santa Maria Maggiore Church. Outside the hotel has the charm from the 20 century, (there´s also a plaque with the hotel history outside), but it as been submitted to several renewals inside. A staircase leads you to a small reception, this access is totally inadequate to low mobility persons and very difficult to carry your luggage. The general style is very peculiar, mixing old and new, so there´s some antiques scattered (like old office stuff \ toys) next to flat screen monitors and designer pieces. Friendly and helpful staff at the front desk, makes the check-in and general information very easy. In this floor there´s also a sophisticated living room with computer and printer with free internet, also a collection of DVDs and playstation games that you can take freely to your room. We stayed in the 2º floor, and again the access though narrow stairs and corridors, which made carrying luggage a difficult task. The room was spacious with a antique style and some used \ worn out furniture, however comfortable and cosy (comfortable beds), plasma Tv with excellent choice of tv channels, there was also a playstation-DVD player. Good Bathroom with general amenities and generally large (despite not for a 4 star hotel).
Breakfast is served in a clear, new room in the lower floors (again more narrow and twisted stairs…). A fair selection of breads, cheeses, cereals and yogurts, but only a small bottle of juice per-person…
Overall it’s a fair 4 star hotel with a good location from main train station and about 10 minutes from Coliseum, however it wood be nice some room renewal like the style in the living rooms.

Room Tip: ask for a room near the elevator if you have low mobility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroMelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#167 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Esquilino
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#159 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#124 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#180 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Esquilino
Demetra Hotel
Demetra Hotel
#318 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: Via Torino 149, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#269 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rex 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex is a charming and cosy histori hotel located a few steps away from the Opera House and Saint Mary Major Basilica and 15 minutes away by walking from the Colosseum. Our guests and their needs are at the centre of our work and the staff is ready to assist you 24 hours a day. All the rooms are equipped with free WiFi connection, Tea&Coffee maker, Playstation with a selection of films and games available for free at Reception, Sky, airconditioning, minibar and inroom safe. Our delicious breakfast with homemade cakes, quiche and omelettes is served every day in our cosy breakfast room. The Rex Bar tempts you with coffee, cappuccino and a good selection of wine. To enjoy yourself, use the brand new "Rex Fight Club" Fitness Centre with the possibility to exercise with the Wii on a maxi screen or sunbath on the Terrace. Great news are coming: a new Restaurant and brand new rooms are going to come! Come to the Hotel Rex and experience the best in Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing