We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Italian Vacation”
Review of Quirinale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quirinale Hotel
Ranked #209 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This was our first of 3 hotels we booked for our stays in Rome, Florence and Venice. After the long overnight flight, we took a taxi from the airport to the hotel. We arrived well before check in and were very happy that our room was available. Our room was very clean - great space for 4 adults - with nicely appointed bathroom and dressing area. The hotel is located less than a block from the train station making commutes to all Rome/Vatican attractions extremely easy and convenient. There is a nice lounge/bar area next to the restaurant. Free breakfast buffet was extremely nice - unfortunately the courtyard areas was closed for renovations. The hotel is located in a busy business district with loud street noise and traffic - we kept the windows closed at night and were not bothered by this, though. Staff was accommodating and helpful with directions, reservations, etc..

Room Tip: Close to Republica train station, many restaurants, shops
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rbcmhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,252 - 1,258 of 3,361 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We, my husband and I spent 4 days without the kids here in Rome. The hotel Quirinale was the perfect spot for us. We had booked a superior double room and all our expectatipns were met. A big room, big bathroom, even with a big balcony where we could enjoy the sun in the morning. Breakfast out in the garden of the hotel, just a bliss.. breakfast was buffet but it had all we couldvask for. Friendly staff, clean room, nice athmosphete and the situation of the hotel is central, yet quiet! We'll come again!

Thank egls1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed here in April, and had spent a bit more and booked a suite. We had room 324, which had a very large main bedroom with large bathroom and separate lounge area. We had complimentary dressing gowns, slippers and toiletries, as well as a free room safe (collect the key from reception) and tea and coffee making facilities.

We found the room clean, with appropriate styling and furniture. Our room was cleaned each day, with a turndown service which was appreciated. The breakfast provided was plentiful, varied and the staff worked extremely hard to clean and replenish tables and the buffet. The only thing that detracted was the incredibly high cost if you wanted any eggs other than scrambled, or fresh juice. It annoyed us, and we thought it would have been better not to offer those at all rather than charge the ridiculous prices for them.

We ate at the restaurant a few times, and were pleased with the quantity and quality of the food, the price comparable to the restaurants we visited whilst in Rome.

Overall a nice place to stay - more information on what Rome has to offer would have been appreciated, especially the need to book tickets for major sites in advance and the official website addresses, plus information on the local bus and metro services - very close to the hotel and worthwhile - 1.50 euro gets you on the number 40 or 64 bus all the way to the Vatican.

We were also confused about the wifi offered, as far as we could make out you got one day free, if you wanted any more it was very expensive, although I think the computers in the lobby are free to use - again, information on this would have been helpful.

I really didn't believe the previous reviewers who described the surly concierge staff, but they really are right! However, they did answer all our questions, just weren't forthcoming with any additional information. We did have to press to receive the additional 20% off of our restaurant and drinks bill from the bar and restaurant, even having to collect the leaflet advertising it from our room upon checkout as the chap didn't believe us. He did refund us in the end though. All other staff were friendly, pleasant and quick to help.

Overall, we would recommend this hotel, although it's location on the busy Via Nazionale and lack of double glazing does mean there is a lot of noise heard in the rooms. I went to sleep one night listening to a very good band playing 80s rock and roll, I didn't mind at all! The building is old, and quite palatial so we could forgive the noise, especially as we were so exhausted each day we slept like logs anyway. We may have found our room noisier than most, as being a suite it had 4 windows and was on a corner, so other rooms may be better. It wasn't worth complaining about though, for fear of having to give up the beautiful room.

Room Tip: Pay more for a better room, our suite was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hadafabtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We had a triple room on 5th floor room 502 - it was spacious and very clean, we had a double bed plus a sofa that pulled out to a double bed for my son and a cot for my daughter, the room was spotless and the bathroom was so clean they even put a seal on the toilet to say it had been cleaned! Toiletries provided included shampoo, body wash, moisturiser, a shoe brush, cotton buds and cotton pads and a shower cap. The hotel itself was very picturesque and the gardens where beautiful unfortunately when we visited they where having work done and therefore we couldn't sit out for breakfast. Also in the room was a hairdryer and tea and coffee facilities. There was no English channels on TV unless you pay for English movies etc which was a little disappointing at night when kids where sleeping but we had wifi so just surfed the net / read books etc. Breakfast was delicious with a selection of pastries, cereals, hot foods like bacon, eggs, sausage etc as well as cold meats, fresh fruit, yoghurts and a selection of cakes, breads and spreads! Location is great with the Colosseum and Trevi Fountain as well as the Pantheon and other attractions within walking distance. The hotel will also arrange transport for you to go anywhere but I would recommend Jimmy Tours for airport transfers or tours they are superb! Staff are helpful and friendly and you can request a late check out if your flight is later on at night like ours was this comes at a cost of 50% of your last nights stay so our was an extra 120 euros but worth it as we could go back and change, pick up last minute souvenirs and pack them etc. Will be coming back to stay soon hopefully.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a family we booked a triple room and where given room 502 very spacious 1 d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xMarilyn88x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Excellent palacial hotel, beautifully decorated, situated within walking distance of most attractions, the furthest away being the Vatican.(easy taxi ride)
Helpful and friendly reception staff. Bar/restuarant staff excellent.
Breakfast very good with good choice of food, from fruit and cereal to grills.
Restruant food a bit over priced for what was on offer.
Rooms clean and tidy, with huge king sized beds.
We had to ask for the air con to be activated as this does not come into action until May/June, albeit very warm when we were there from April 9th 2014
WiFi expensive at 12euros/day
Plenty of bars/ bistros in the area.
A good choice and one we will make again.
As there were six of us, we used the hotels own mini bus service to take us to the airport at a cost of 68 euros. When we came in from the airport it cost us 90 eauros from a taxi company.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from the busy Via Nationale, with its constant 4 lanes of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were in Rome doing the tourist trail for the second year running and had picked the hotel almost at random - basically it had to be centrally placed and near to the metro line. Both boxes ticked. Previously, we had stayed in a smaller hotel and because were were with another couple we warned space to meet, have a drink and eat when done walking all day. All the boxes ticked.

The hotel is on a busy street but once inside the noise seems to disappear. The grand lobby leads off to a further grand room set out for eating and also lounging in period furniture. The bar is nearby and the staff there were excellent. Prices were not frightening and a decent bottle of Shiraz was only €22.

There were two sets of lifts. The main ones being the usual modern style but there was also a quirky 19th century looking lift that ran up the middle of a small staircase. A gate and doors to open: beware opening them too soon as the lifts stops immediately, and ropes and everything in view. Really interesting. And talking of quirky, the doors to the rooms open into the corridors not into the rooms, so you have to watch it walking along as doors can open without warning.

The menu was wide ranging but we were attracted to the sandwiches and salads. Both were excellent and the waiters advice to have one and share was spot on. Generous proportions. By the way, don't miss the breakfast. Self service with a wide range of cereals, breads, pastries, cheese, meats and hot including bacon and eggs.

We had a standard double room which was more than just standard. A nice large room which overlooked the internal courtyard / garden, so it was nice to have the windows open (though if overlooking the main road that may not be so nice). Excellent bed, crisp sheets, plenty of room for luggage and storage and a good bathroom, with windows, not a box, and a shower that worked very well.

What was unexpected was that the hotel backed into the Opera and had its own entrance into the theatre. It was so close that one could hear the performers warming up before the show! It also meant that the neighbourhood around the hotel was really interesting with a wide range of shops and restaurants all within a ten minute walk of the hotel. A very nice feature as the Via Internazionale can be a bit intimidating.

All in all an excellent find! Would definitely go there again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank CambridgeWaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Big hotel, conveniently located and professionally managed. Good breakfast. It is within walking distance from Roma Termini and bang in between the shopping areas of Via Nationale & Piazza del corso. The hop on hop off buses for first time tourists like us were available close by indeed.The surroundings has a lot of food joints to suit all tastes and budgets.
The restaurant in the hotel itself has negligible options for vegetarians like us but this was more than made up for by the friendly staff who were genuinely concerned by our predicament and tried their utmost to make us comfortable.
The rooms were big, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was especially nice and well equipped / spacious.The TV had a lot of options and wifi was working great. The only hitch was that there was no arrangement for bed tea in the room!

Room Tip: Our room on the fourth floor was quite interior and had no view whatsoever. If you like to see some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bimaltrivedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,270 in Rome
6,964 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
The Britannia Hotel
The Britannia Hotel
#128 of 1,270 in Rome
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#76 of 1,270 in Rome
2,710 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#20 of 1,270 in Rome
4,335 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#83 of 1,270 in Rome
2,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quirinale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quirinale Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 7, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#136 Family Hotel in Rome
#274 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $105 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quirinale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Quirinale, a beautiful 4-star hotel located in the heart of Rome, is near the major highlights of the city. Period furniture, valuable fabrics and original oil paintings decorate the spacious public rooms and lounges. The 209elegant rooms and suites are fully equipped with every modern comfort.Free WI-FI connection in all public areas and in each room.It is the ideal place to spend an unforgettable stay, both for families and business people. Conventions, meetings and receptions in a welcoming atmosphere – adjoining meeting rooms adaptable to any request with advanced technology and professional staff.Guests can experience the best of Italian cuisine at our Rossini Restaurant or a light snack at the Green Bar, during Spring and Summer months in the peace of our private garden.The history of the Hotel Quirinale is indissolubly linked to the adjoining Opera House, connected to the hotel by a direct passage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quirinale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Quirinale Rome
Rome Quirinale
Quirinale Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing