We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Pleasant Surprise”
Review of Quirinale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quirinale Hotel
Ranked #233 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“A Very Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We just got back from our trip to Rome where we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We booked online and while the overall reviews were ok...we were still concerned about the location and quality of the hotel. When we arrived, we realized we picked a winner. The hotel is old, but very well kept. While some have mentioned the carpets are run down, the hotel is very clean and beautiful. It was obvious that years ago, this hotel must have had some very distinguished guests (the hotel has an opera room, and an amazing courtyard in the back where you can have breakfast, coffee, read a book/newspaper or just sit and relax on the swing).

The breakfast buffet is very nice. A selection of juices, excellent coffee & tea selection, yogurts, muesli, fruits, fresh breads, cakes, croissants, jams, butter, cheeses, sliced meats, eggs, bacon, sausage...etc. The best part is the staff - they were all extremely courteous and patient. They provided great recommendations as to restaurants, cabs, directions, tours, etc. The rooms all have safes (you just need to ask for a key when you check in) as well as a fridge which has goodies for sale...but you can use it to put in water bottles, or cheese/yogurts etc. The hotel has free wifi which was working most of the time.

We loved our stay at the hotel and would certainly stay there again. It is a 5 min walk from Termini (subway stop)...but there was an even closer stop within a 2 min walk. There are a lot of great restaurants, and a small grocery store a block away (on via nationale).

This is a great hotel - enjoy:-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floors and facing the back courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    1,345
    498
    180
    102
See reviews for
745
1,235
115
350
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is an elegant hotel. For no apparent reason we were upgraded to a suite. The rooms are large with high ceilings and beautiful furnishings. It is in an excellent location for accessing all the sites in the city. Breakfast was more then adequate, with more choices than any other hotel that we stayed in while in Italy. Desk staff was very pleasant and helpful and spoke excellent English. The only downside was street noise at night...but Rome is a big city with all the noises that go with it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed for seven nights in this awesome Hotel built end of 19th century next to the Opera. You have the feeling to live in a palace. Excellent quality=price. Location is unique. Excellent facilities. The Hotel has beautiful and elegant lounges, high ceilings, beautiful furniture. The Hotel offers different kind of rooms, luxury, mini suites, superior doubles, small rooms. It's good to have your own choice according to your budget. Comfortability. Helpful staff. It's a good experience to have a glass of wine in the Green Bar after 5 o'clock when you come back tired from city touring. The garden is glorious. Surprised about the quality of the restaurant. Excellent pizzas eaten outside in the garden. Walking distance to the railway station Termini and also nice walking distance to the ancient old quarter of Roma as well as the Vila Borghese. Metro just around the corner. Highly recommended. I enjoyed this week in Roma. Unforgettable.

Room Tip: Rooms without view, quiet, spacious, large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xaloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel from March 24th 2013 till 28th March, we were celebrating our first wedding anniversary and Rome was the perfect destination. We choose the hotel from looking at trip advisor and got a good deal so for what we paid for the whole trip the hotel was worth the money.

My husband absolutely loved this hotel and won't have a bad word said about it. I personally have a few gripes but the hotel itself was good for what we wanted. It is in an excellent location, literally round the corner from the terminali station and central to the main attractions. We walked everywhere in Rome so as a guide for everyone it took 10 minutes to walk to the pantheon and 10 minutes to the colloseum, 15 minutes to the Spanish steps and 25 to the Vatican! Take comfortable shoes!!

We checked in mid afternoon,quick and painless but watch out for the city tax! The lobby is grand and has a nice porterr at the rotating doors but once you go up up a few levels, the hotel becomes quite dated. I appreciate it is going for the vintage rome look but the hall carpets looked like they need a good hoover and haven't been replaced since the hotel was built. Our room overlooked the gardens so the view was lovely but it can be quite noisy if you leave a window open on an evening. The room was lovely and big,decorated to maintain the vintage theme ( which I am a lover off as we have the same look throughout our home) but again could do with a lick of paint. The wooden floor at the doorway was loose which I cut my foot on and we couldn't have a shower, only a bath because we had a Victorian bath with no sealant which we worked out the hard way. So apart from the previous mentioned, .the room itself was lovely.

Breakfast was lovely, always got a table regArdless of the time we got there and the food and drinks were always full. The staff constantly kept the dishes cleared away and ensured New food was at the buffet table. We overheard a few people complaining about the lack of WiFi signal in there room but ours was perfect the whole time and we were on level 4.

All in all, it is a nice hotel and adds to the Roman feel of your stay, our stay was perfect for us and we had an amazing visit but don't expect the Ritz Carlton ( if my husband writes a review, his will say how fantastic it was, it's mainly the cosmetics for me )

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophie_cade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley West Midlands UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Travelled with my wife & grandchildren, aged 11 & 14. Booked 2 small twins and that is exactly what we go so no complaints. We were allocated rooms 352 & 353. Street noise was high when windows were open but when shut all noise was gone. As noted in other reviews, the location is good, near to Termini & within walking distance of most major landmarks. Breakfast was ok, plenty of choice but nothing special. Hot choices did not look very appetising but could not comment as none of us chose them. Nice lounge area to sit and enjoy a drink at the end of a full day, also enjoyed a quiet drink in the Green Bar, staff there were excellent.Overall a decent hotel. My only gripe was that reception made up the bill incorrectly. Luckily I had my original booking from Booking.com and after a quick call the error was rectified.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davetjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location with many amenities in close vicinity.Outside garden was clean tidy quiet and I must admit pleasant to sit in and have breakfast or a drink.The building has a lot of artwork, high ceilings, tasteful antique furniture and an old wrought iron elevator. It was disappointing not to find tea/coffee makers, or even complimentary water in the room. Our room was sufficient in space with hard mattresses and the bathroom had robes and slippers but shower curtain could be updated to a glass screen. The walls were thin so sounds from corridors and neighbours could easily be heard.
Overall, given that we spent little time in the hotel, we did not have any major complaints and were satisfied.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank THEMTIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at the Quirinale for 3 nights this May 2013. I had read it was close to the Termini so upon arrival in Rome we got a coach to the Termini and set out to walk to our hotel. It was a few minutes around the corner so first plus point. It was about 1.30pm when we arrived and our room was ready, we were so pleasantly surprised, we had two adjoining rooms. They were light and airy, tastefully decorated and very clean. A large, well stocked bathroom with robes, slippers and toiletries.

We set off straight away for the day, it is in a very convenient location. Walking distance to the Colosseum (20 mins), about the same to the Spanish steps. Its also opposite the Metro (which we hated) and on the no 40 bus route to and from the Vatican City.

My children would say the best thing about this hotel was the breakfast. A wide choice of coffees and juices, cereals, pastries and hot food. It really set us up for the day having a great breakfast overlooking a peaceful garden.

Friendly staff, great location, lovely rooms with a fantastic breakfast make this hotel our future stopping point whenever we return to Rome.

Room Tip: We had rooms facing the garden which made for a beautiful, peaceful view in the morning. However, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank flowerbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#164 of 1,256 in Rome
2,161 reviews
Esquilino
The Britannia Hotel
The Britannia Hotel
#125 of 1,256 in Rome
1,179 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#104 of 1,256 in Rome
3,009 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,095 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,256 in Rome
2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quirinale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quirinale Hotel

Property: Quirinale Hotel
Address: Via Nazionale 7, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#132 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#205 Family Hotel in Rome
#274 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quirinale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Quirinale, a beautiful 4-star hotel located in the heart of Rome, is near the major highlights of the city. Period furniture, valuable fabrics and original oil paintings decorate the spacious public rooms and lounges. The 209elegant rooms and suites are fully equipped with every modern comfort.Free WI-FI connection in all public areas and in each room.It is the ideal place to spend an unforgettable stay, both for families and business people. Conventions, meetings and receptions in a welcoming atmosphere – adjoining meeting rooms adaptable to any request with advanced technology and professional staff.Guests can experience the best of Italian cuisine at our Rossini Restaurant or a light snack at the Green Bar, during Spring and Summer months in the peace of our private garden.The history of the Hotel Quirinale is indissolubly linked to the adjoining Opera House, connected to the hotel by a direct passage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Quirinale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Quirinale Rome
Rome Quirinale
Quirinale Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing