We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand old hotel (shame about dreadful service ! )” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quirinale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quirinale Hotel
Ranked #250 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
West sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Grand old hotel (shame about dreadful service ! )”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We have just returned from a 4night stay at Hotel Quirinale . It was centrally located ,within walking distance to all the sights and very convenient for the termini which was 5 minute walk away . However , when we arrived we found the reception staff very rude , there were at least 3 people behind the desk and they completely ignored us , eventually checking us in but not very helpful at all , not telling us about the safe in our room or the Internet access(which didn't work in our room anyway) , just didn't seem to like us !! Our room was very spacious with a large bathroom , I found bed comfy but my husband thought mattress was too hard !, we overlooked the inner courtyard which was lovely and I imagine a lot quieter than front of the hotel ,as hotel is on a very busy noisy street . Was a shame there was no tea or coffee facilities in our room .
The lounge area was very grand and relaxing and we did find the bar staff friendly . Breakfast was very average , quite disappointing . Although we generally enjoyed our stay we would not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not facing front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise2366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    1,275
    478
    173
    101
See reviews for
703
1,161
112
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay there. Had a nice view of the garden and quite a quiet place. (no street noice)
The breakfast was good and we were over all very happy with our stay. The shower was also good - but the hotel is older, it has charm, but it's not brand new.. But still in good shape.
I would recommend it for a stay in Rome, pretty close to main attractions. On a busy road, but we didn't have ny street noice as we were facing the garden.

Room Tip: We had room 126,..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandraaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

The location is great, you're at a walking distance from many attractions in Rome. The rooms are original and cozy. The reception however was not very helpful and was very moody. This was discouraging. It is also expensive. The food was good. I don't know what to say it wasn't bad but it gave me the feeling that whenever I come back to Rome, I will look for a different hotel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Hotel Quirinale is centrally located to allow for easy walking to the major sights or Metro stop in Rome. The breakfast was very good with a nice assortment of food each morning. The front desk was not as helpful as you normally expect when you check in. They did not inform you about the code for the Internet, nor did they explain about the safe. You need to go back to the front desk to inquire on these items if you wish to use them. The beds are very hard and lumpy. We had to use blankets to lie on top of in order to try to be comfortable. The setup is two twin beds pushed together. There is not an alarm clock in the room so if you do not travel with one, you need to rely on a wake up call. The front desk was not very knowledgeable when we inquired on nearby restaurants and certain sights. Housekeeping did not refill the tissues during our stay as we ran out after the first day. Prior guests had left food, lunchmeat and yogurt, in the fridge which was old enough that you could smell it was rotten. We informed the front desk of this twice and it was not cleaned up during our stay. There was also mold in the fridge. We experienced a serious security issue as well. Twice when we returned to the hotel our room key did not work so we went to the front desk and informed them of this, they took our key asked what our room number was and reprogrammed it. They did not ask for our name or identification to make sure we were staying in that room. If we were to return to Rome, we would stay at a different hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CLG4127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russotto, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Quirinale Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Clg4127,
we regret you were dissatisfied with the service rendered and of course our clients’ satisfaction being our priority, we apologise for the inconvenience occurred.
Regarding security, we wish to assure you that our front desk employees always check clients name with the declared room number unless they fully recognize the person in front of them.
However, we thank you for bringing the matter to our attention and hope you will return to the Quirinale on some future occasion when we shall do our best to ensure that you fully enjoy our services and hospitality.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have just returned from staying at the Hotel Quirinale, excellent location, within walking distance of many sights and close to the main train station. Opulent but dated, lots of old Italian furniture. Room very clean and spacious but thin walls and hard mattresses. Large bathroom with plenty of hot water but shower curtain could be updated to a glass screen. Had to request the safe key but reception staff helpful. Free wi-fi, code available at reception on request, worked well in room but not in the courtyard/garden. Good choice at breakfast, not rushed by staff. Would recommend the hot chocolate. Would definitely stay again should we return to Rome.

Room Tip: Rooms at side and back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MummybearWisbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathdon, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have just returned from staying at the Hotel Quirinale and it was a very enjoyable stay The Hotel is full of antique furniture and lovely old type seating but I must say not as grandiose as it was once Good location on Via Nazionale so near to the Station and Metro links
Our room was very pleasant clean and typically Italian and we liked it very much . To sum up I would say yes to staying at the Hotel but be aware that it is looking just that little bit tired !!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We enjoyed the hotel very much. Yes, it has some quirks and differences from a U.S. hotel...but that was also part of the charm.

The two twin bed (acting as a double) concept was not our favorite. The beds were very hard for our comfort - but that might be a plus to others.

We booked a "standard double" room and it was plenty of room for the two of us. It wasn't gigantic - but we were in Rome to see ROME!

We thought the staff was very friendly and had no trouble asking for additional towels. They arrived within about 10 minutes.

The complimentary breakfast was plentiful and fresh.

The hotel was very clean and everything worked just fine. We never tried the safe - but that seemed to be a big complaint.

It was easy walking distance to the metro and many of the nearby sights. There were lots of friendly little restaurants nearby, too. A small grocery store was a couple blocks away for some room snacks.

The wi-fi didn't seem to work very well in the room, but we had no problem down in the lobby.

Overall, we were very pleased with our 5 night stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gryhnd-lvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,924 reviews
Esquilino
The Britannia Hotel
The Britannia Hotel
#123 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#162 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel
Dharma Hotel
#60 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quirinale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quirinale Hotel

Property: Quirinale Hotel
Address: Via Nazionale 7, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#205 Family Hotel in Rome
#274 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quirinale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Quirinale, a beautiful 4-star hotel located in the heart of Rome, is near the major highlights of the city. Period furniture, valuable fabrics and original oil paintings decorate the spacious public rooms and lounges. The 209elegant rooms and suites are fully equipped with every modern comfort.Free WI-FI connection in all public areas and in each room.It is the ideal place to spend an unforgettable stay, both for families and business people. Conventions, meetings and receptions in a welcoming atmosphere – adjoining meeting rooms adaptable to any request with advanced technology and professional staff.Guests can experience the best of Italian cuisine at our Rossini Restaurant or a light snack at the Green Bar, during Spring and Summer months in the peace of our private garden.The history of the Hotel Quirinale is indissolubly linked to the adjoining Opera House, connected to the hotel by a direct passage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Quirinale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Quirinale Rome
Rome Quirinale
Quirinale Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing