We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of the Rome...”
Review of Hotel Picasso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Picasso
Ranked #476 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“In the middle of the Rome...”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is the second time i stayed in Hotel Picasso. The location of the hotel is great. You can walk almost all attractions of Rome. Moreover hotel is close to Termini which is central station and subway stops. The staff of the hotel is very helpful. The breakfast is enough and the coffee served in the breakfast is tasty. The rooms are clean. Prices are good for a hotel in the middle of Rome. Before coming Hotel Picasso, keep in mind that this is a budget hotel. Benefit price ratio is good. According to me if there was wifi in the rooms it would be much better. As a result i can recommend this hotel to tourists who need a clean place to sleep and spend most of the time in city in Rome.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C_E_1161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    115
    71
    19
    13
See reviews for
43
131
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here as a new couple and settled of Hotel Picasso after reading reviews.
I was pleasantly surprised! We had a lovely little room, but the size didn't bother me at all! The decor was so fitting for Rome and completely suited the building and surroundings. We were lucky enough to be in the same building where breakfast was so didn't have to walk very far to eat. The lady serving tea or coffee made sure we always had a drink and re-stocked all the food straight away. Typical continental breakfast but yummy regardless! It was slightly awkward though as the breakfast room was quite small and was filled to the brim with tables, maybe a bit of calming Italian music would help create a warmer atmosphere?
Fantastic location, although google maps did take us a long way around even though it was minutes away from the train station! Hotel is perfectly situated, down the road from the Coliseum, and not too far from the Trevvi Fountain! We walked everywhere and were surprised at how close everything was, and to the hotel too. Maybe get the metro a couple of times to find your bearings but after that you'll be walking everywhere to and from this hotel!
Complimentary small bottle of Red Wine was great too. This hotel played a great part in making us feel welcome in our first trip to Rome, we had a lovely experience there! (Travelled December 2011)

Room Tip: Both hotels are situated on side streets so there's no noise anywhere really. Try to get the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Little_Rowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Rooms all very small and located on one full level of an apartment block. Rooms although small, were clean and comfortable. No internet. Breakfast very basic with only sweet style servings such as biscuits and one croissant (yes you are given only one person person!), coffee and eggs, in a very small room that's packed and no room to move. And breakfast before 9.30 am! Location was great, close to everything including transport.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in September, check in is around the corner which was fine. The room was fine- for a budget hotel it was just what we needed - road wasn't too noisy or busy. Location was good! Able to walk from train station, not necessarily recommended but manageable. City bus stops were around the corner if your feet needed a break like ours did! Walkable to coliseum, Spanish steps and Trevi Fountain. Overall great value, location wasn't bad for price, and breakfast was included. Also computer and wifi available at sister hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura37CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked for 3 nights at Picasso Hotel. The majority of the hotels in Rome are of similar type. We checked-in at the "sister hotel" Caravaggio but that was not a problem at all. Upon our arrival the receptionist - very friendly - informed us that there is a problem with our room and that we will stay for one night at the hotel opposite the street (Morpheus Rooms). We did not really bother since we did not visit Rome for the hotel facilities. Both new Morpheus Rooms (stayed night 1) and Picasso Hotel were clean and refurbished.
Cold Breakfast was average and the dining room very small. Bed mattress at Morpheus was perfect but average at Picasso.
If you plan to visit Rome for short break, save your money to enjoy a nice pasta at piazza Delle Copelle or a tasty Gelato at Fontana di Trevi. Make sure that you stay in a clean place within your budget. If you are looking for luxury, simply do not visit Rome.
P.S. It would have been better if there was an English language channel on the TV for those few hours you spend in your room.
I would definitely return to Picasso. Excellent location!

Room Tip: Ask for room 106 at Picasso. Corner room with view of the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demetris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Not too bad considering it is a budget hotel. Stay at the sister hotel if you can Hotel Caravaggio. Both hotels are clean, the staff is really helpful, they have a nice breakfast of rolls and café. Night reception with wine and snacks. .The window overlooked a scary mechanical area, that looked and smelled bad. You also need to cut through an unsightly area to get to some of the rooms. That being said, it was a good location., centrally located. The price was right.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katb530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The biggest problem was that you check in at a different hotel around the corner. The signage is very minimal. We had to ask 4 people on the street before we found where to check-in. The Hotel Carrivagio front desk handed us our key and said our room is down the street. We looked perplexed and he said in a very exasperated tone: "You don't know how this works!" and took off out the door and down the street. We had to run with our luggage so as not to lose him. He handed us our keys and we put our 10 cents in the ancient elevator and heard electrical pops and clicks. Once on the 4th floor we could find no signage to help us find what door to go in, so we tried our keys in different doors till we got a door to open. The hallways are dirty and smell of mildew.

Once in the room, however, the rooms were cute and clean. We stayed in two rooms while there. Because we had another couple join us so we moved to a bigger room.

The a/c worked so-so on the 4th floor. The a/c worked great in our larger room on the first floor.

Breakfast was free and decent, but the dining room is about 12 x 12 feet square and you must tangle your legs with the other guests in order to sit at the table. Way way too small of a room to be hosting breakfast!

Big bummer that there is no internet access from anywhere in the hotel Picasso. You must go down the street to the hotel Carrivagio lobby for internet access.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#222 of 1,256 in Rome
529 reviews
Monti
Clarin Hotel
Clarin Hotel
#408 of 1,256 in Rome
331 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fiori
Hotel Fiori
#658 of 1,256 in Rome
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Galatea
Hotel Galatea
#537 of 1,256 in Rome
511 reviews
Monti
Esposizione Hotel
Esposizione Hotel
#751 of 1,256 in Rome
505 reviews
Esquilino
Corona Hotel
Corona Hotel
#390 of 1,256 in Rome
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Picasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Picasso

Property: Hotel Picasso
Address: Via Venezia 25, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #476 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Picasso 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Picasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picasso Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing