We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position in the centar of Rome”
Review of Hotel Picasso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Picasso
Ranked #475 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed February 6, 2013

If you are looking a hotel for a short stay close to the centar of Rome, I reccomend it. It is situated 15 minute walk from Colloseum and there are buses that pass regulary if u do not fancy walking. The staff is nice and the hotel room is clean

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Mirna_Matic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcello834, Responsabile reception at Hotel Picasso, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guests, we are grateful for your nice review about our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 300 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had found out about the Picasso from a friend who had visited Rome in April. He is well -traveled and enjoyed his stay there and was very keen on the breakfasts that are served each morning. We stayed for 4 nights and were not disappointed. The walk from the termini station was about 10 minutes, and we checked in around the corner at the Caravaggio (this might be confusing for a first time visitor, but we had been fore-warned) Nino, the desk clerk, was very helpful and escorted us to the Picasso and showed us how to operate the elevator (which we never really understood) and showed us to our room on the 2nd floor. The room was clean, nicely furnished, and bright.The tiled bathroom was also updated with newer fixtures. We arose the next morning and had breakfast down the hall a few steps. Unfortunately the dining room was not very large and we had to wait for a table to become available. (We solved this problem on subsequent days by arriving a bit later and avoiding the early rush) We did enjoy all that was offered: hard-boiled eggs, fresh yogurt, fresh fruit, toast and butter and jam, sweet rolls, coffee, juice, and cereal. The room key drop off at the Caravaggio was not a problem (less than a 100 yards or so down via Palermo) Since the hotel is only one block off Via Nazionale and centrally located, getting out and seeing the sights is very easy.There were several good restaurants in the nearby area that we visited each night. Our final night Nino arranged for a wake-up call at 5:30 in the morning and a taxi to get us to the airport by 6:30. Promptly at 5:25a.m. there was a knock on our door...he had walked over from the Caravaggio to personally waken us. Our car arrived at 5:50 and it was not a taxi but a Mercedes sedan from a car service the hotel uses (for the same 48 Euro fare as a taxi). The only negative I found with the Picasso was the bed. I have a bad back and need a firm mattress to sleep on and our bed was much too soft. After 4 nights I was having problems sleeping and standing. Luckily I take a back support belt with me on my travels. However I still suffered for a few weeks after we returned. That said, I would still return to the Picasso when I visit the Eternal City.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Comfortable and cosy, near Piazza Venezia is equipped with all necessary facilities, including a lounge wifi at the hotel reception. Friendly staff and tasty breakfast buffet complete a perfect stay for a walking tour in the center of Rome, where are also located the major congress centers.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clara_c88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcello834, Responsabile reception at Hotel Picasso, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guests, we would like to say thank you for your really nice review. We will be happy if you will choose us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Tiny room, but you don't go to Rome to spend time in a hotel! Otherwise, great in all respects: just a short walk from Termini station. Good restaurants on adjacent streets. Very friendly and helpful staff. Happy hour in the partner hotel was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for three nights. We arrived late afternoon and checked in via the Hotel Cavaggio - the Hotel Picasso was about 200 yards away. I did wonder what our hotel would be like as we only paid £120 for three nights, I have to say it was great. The rooms were small and basic but very clean, we didn't experience any problems with mildew in the bathroom. This hotel is perfectly situated off the Nationale, all the attractions are in walkable distance. The only downside, the breakfast room was far too small we only ate once in there and chose to eat else where for the other two mornings. I would stay here again

Room Tip: if your disabled I wouldnt recommend this hotel as there are alot of steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piwicarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed for 2 nites the end of June. Clean with small bathroom in the room. 15 min walk from Termani A (train station) and about a 10 min walk from Coloseum, Roman Forum. Very close to a metro stop which makes getting to the Vatican about 15 min as well, Trevi fountain and Spanish steps also 10 min by metro. A/C was key and worked well.
Cons: We could not access internet in our room with their code(the hotel is a few buildings away from the lobby which has the router). You can access slow internet in their hotel lobby.
Would recommend to anyone travelling Rome who wants to see the sights and doesn't care about a luxurious stay

(tip: Download free Rick Steve's podcasts for Coloseum, roman forum and listen on your phone)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tennis82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcello834, Responsabile reception at Hotel Picasso, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Clients, thank you for your contribution. We are pleased that you liked our hotel, its position and that you recommend us. What the internet concerns we provide a standard wifi connection at the reception. For this moment we don´t have internet in the rooms. At the reception there is an charge free internet point too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The service was terrible, I connected my Ipad with my electricity converter and it blow out the electricity in my room. They gave us a room in an adyacent building were you have to use an elevator with coins, the bathroom had mildew and the smell of mold was terrible. We decided to leave early and not stay there any more. You can find a lot of hotels for the same price and a lot better; this hotel is not cheap at all, the room they gave to us was not the same as the pictures and the bathroom was very tiny. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank olga2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#248 of 1,271 in Rome
550 reviews
Esquilino
Nardizzi Americana
Nardizzi Americana
#268 of 1,271 in Rome
728 reviews
Monti
Clarin Hotel
Clarin Hotel
#434 of 1,271 in Rome
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#208 of 1,271 in Rome
1,071 reviews
Monti
Conte House I
Conte House I
#747 of 1,271 in Rome
176 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fiori
Hotel Fiori
#711 of 1,271 in Rome
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Picasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Picasso

Address: Via Venezia 25, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #475 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $45 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Picasso 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Picasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picasso Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing