We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be Specific As To Type Of Room”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Oxford
Ranked #335 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Be Specific As To Type Of Room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2006

Our first room offered was a very small double hardly room to move, the second was not much better. the third was what we requested when we booked a few months ago I would have thought that our booked requests should have been met. Once in an accepteble room, we found the staff very helpful and the location of the hotel ideal for siteseeing. Don't go to eat on the Via Veneto very expensive. There is a lovely wine bar down a side street from the hotel, that does lovely food, though english is not spoken or understood very much., but we made ourselves understood, very good sign language!!!

Helpful?
5 Thank Hildagard69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    544
    226
    61
    31
See reviews for
257
518
46
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2006

My family and I have recently returned home from Rome after a family wedding and we stayed at Hotel Oxford. The hotel is a home away from home and the staff were most polite, courteous and helpful. Daniel who worked at the bar was the most helpful bartender that I have ever personally come across. He was always on hand to give us directions to different places, or give us some street smart information. He also makes a great cup of tea !!! After a couple of hours walking around Rome, I needed it !!! I personally wish him all the best in life and in his career. Our room was big enough to accommodate a family of two adults and two children. The airconditioning was a god send. Most of the tourist attractions are within walking distance from this hotel but the bus and taxi service is also on its doorstep if you don't fancy walking. The hotel was that nice that even our families that were staying in other hotels all spent most of their time in our hotel because of its friendly atmosphere. I would recommend this hotel to anyone heading to Rome. Thank you Hotel Oxford for providing us with a lovely stay in Rome and giving us some great memories. The Metcalfe Family, Ireland.

  • Liked — It is a home away from home
  • Disliked — Lift and staircases were tiny and narrow
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sandra1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2006

We stayed in a triple room and it was spacious and clean. We actually had two bedrooms (one with two twin beds and one with a double bed) so we were not cramped. The air conditioning worked very well, which seemed to be a rare occurrence in Italy. The hotel staff were very polite and helpful and made us feel welcome-- they were happy to call a taxi for us and the restaurants they recommended were very good. The breakfast was excellent. The only drawback is that the hotel is not very close to ancient Rome and the Metro stop is a 15-min walk. We had to take taxis to/from most of our destinations because it was a long walk back after being on our feet all day.

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay and would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2006

I got marrid in Rome in October of 2005 and stayed in the Oxford after seeing in recommended in a few guide books. The staff were excellent, the lovely Rosalba on reception along with the rest of the staff were more than helpful and organised many things for us without question. We had 13 friends staying there also and everyone was very well looked after. A complementry bottle of champagne in our room when we returned from the church was a nice touch. Mario in the bar is an institution to himself.
The Oxford has a great location in a very safe and central area, with bus links 1 minute walk away, and all the main attractions within 20 minutes, 10 in a taxi.
Rome is not known for its great hotel accomadation - unless 5 star is an option for you - and it does cost more than most European Capitals - and although the rooms at the Oxford are small, you won't be spending much time in your room anyhow as there is so much to do and see in Rome. We found it clean with a good restaurant and bar menu.
As for some of the negative reviews I've read of the hotel and its staff on this site, it seems that maybe some people came to the hotel with greater expections than I did. For me it provided a great location, friendly staff(you have to friendly in return too you know), a bed that saw little sleep and the base for an unforgettable week.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2006

My wife and I stayed here for five days in August 2005. We thoroughly enjoyed the hotel, all very friendly and so helpful, nothing seemed too much trouble. Service and meals were good and lovely to spend a late night at the bar. Will certainly stay here again on our next trip to Rome, within easy walking distance of just about everywhere inc the Terminii. The best free book on Rome we've seen anywhere available in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andre Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2006

We have just returned from a three night stay at the Hotel Oxford in Rome.

Our room was tiny and the bathroom even smaller. We were tempted to complain but decided that as we would be spending so little time in the room there was no point. Breakfast was poor: horrible croissants and no choice of anything other than a buffet.

I would recommend staying off of the Via Del Corso, far more central.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruxpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2006

The hotel itself is actually pretty good and a good value (as far as pricing for a 3 star). The room my wife and I had was of ample size, clean, and a comfy bed. Thought the location was fine too, and as everyone else has noted many great little restaurants within walking distance. Taxi's are pretty cheap in Rome anyway if you need to get anywhere fast/further away. As for the negative (understanding that Rome is not known for its "customer service"), the front desk staff was exceptionally rude and arrogant. Do not expect any help from them for anything other then getting your room key and paying the bill.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EC_Monster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Gambrinus Hotel
#293 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Bailey's Hotel
Bailey's Hotel
#355 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#126 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Domus Romana Hotel
Domus Romana Hotel
#318 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Veneto Palace Hotel
Veneto Palace Hotel
#314 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oxford

Property: Hotel Oxford
Address: Via Boncompagni 89, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#179 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#230 Business Hotel in Rome
#274 Family Hotel in Rome
#294 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Rome's most exclusive area, Hotel Oxford is set just behind Via Veneto and the Spanish Steps. Guest rooms feature elegant furnishings and wood or carpeted floors. Experience the real Dolce Vita in this elegant setting. The rooms come with air conditioning and a private bathroom, and some have a balcony. Apartments are also available, and are located in separate buildings in nearby Via Piave or Via Flavia. At the Oxford Hotel you have free internet Wi-Fi connection! . This family-run hotel features a snack bar and a meeting room with a capacity of 30 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oxford Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing