We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Hotel Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Oxford
Ranked #340 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

After walking Rome this would be the last bed you'd want to sleep in, Hard as a rock. Don't stay In the "apartment" or you'll find yourself 3 Blocks from the actual Hotel. Trust me it was not a sight to see, thankfully they let us stay at the Hotel. You may have to carry your luggage up stairs to your room. Hotel was clean.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vonny911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

429 - 435 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Oxford hotel for 4 nights in June we had a fantastic time, room was very good. Breakfast always hot and fresh , we love walking and spent 4 days doing just that. If you get the chance north of the hotel there 's a great park with fantastic views over Rome .

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I found this hotel to be correctly priced,our room was small but then again that size is typical in Europe.The room was very clean and I fact all areas of the hotel was clean.All staff were very polite and helpful and most could speak English.The breakfast consisted of hot and cold self serve buffet with a reasonable section.
It is located in a quiet area and is about a fifteen minute walk to Barberini metro although you could get the 63 or 83 bus which will get you there in five minutes.
The building and most internal fittings are quite old but if you ask me this adds to the charm.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel when in rome.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for,you want a better room then pay the brass and you will get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

When we got to the Oxford our room wasn't ready so it was nice to be able to sit down and order drinks and food while we waited. The location was convient for walking to some sights and for the taxi stand 2 blocks away because when a cab was called it was at the hotel in under 5 minutes. The breakfast was great; scrambled eggs, bacon, breads, pastries, yogurt, fruit, cereal, hot and cold drinks. Our quad room was tight with a double and two single beds. Probably the most modern hotel we stayed at in Italy but the smallest room. This hotel had an elevator. It also has free Wifi but it was not working for 3 of the 4 days we were there. Not too much noise on the street at night. Our room was one of the few with a balcony and it was nice to go out there sometimes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheri-inAcworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The oxford hotel with very small but nicely decorated corridors and nice rooms won us. We enjoyed our stay,

The hotel location is ideal for walking to most of the tourist attraction. From 15 minutes to 30 minutes walk you can cover most of the local tourist attractions.

Over all, a good hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed for 3 days and 2 nights and the staff and hotel was lovely. The staff did everything they could for us, ie booked our cabs and our tours on our behalf. It is in a great location wi the trevi fountain and the Spain steps just around the corner. The breakfast was lovely as well.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Zoe_Critchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I spent 5 nights at the Hotel Oxford in May. It is well located - slightly further away from some of the sights than some hotels but very easy to walk to them. An advantage is it is located in a quieter part of town - with some wonderful nearby local restaurants. It is also fairly close to the central station for the airport train.

It is worth noting that although this hotel is rated four star, it is more of a "European four star" meaning that it is more three star English standards. It is looking slightly dated - but that is more cosmetic. That's not to say that it isn't a comfortable place to stay (which it is) but do not let your expectations get too high. It is perfectly pleasant for a few nights - as other reviewers have said, the rooms are small and relatively basic, but they are comfortable and the rooms are clean, with good bathrooms. The bed was also quite comfortable - although it was on rollers so moved about quite a lot if you were sat up in bed trying to read. The rooms also became very warm at night - and whilst there is air conditioning available, it is quite loud - so a balance to be struck.

The really good thing about this hotel is the members of staff. They are really good: they speak fantastic English if your Italian isn't quite up to it and are very friendly and helpful and smiley. Even at breakfast time, when things get rather busy in the breakfast room - they really do their best to make sure everyone has an enjoyable time, despite it being a little chaotic. Staff aside, the breakfast is buffet style and there are a number of options to choose from - continental, eggs and bacon, pastries, cereal and yoghurts - everything you could expect. The quality is fairly average - but for the price you pay for this hotel, it is not a bad thing.

So overall, I would say this is a good hotel and worth staying at. The staff members are the real highlight. Don't get overexcited by the four stars (I was slightly disappointed to start with) - it is not a four star hotel but if you go in expecting three stars then you will not be disappointed. And it is good value for money - and a great place to explore this brilliant city. After all, you shouldn't be spending too long in the rooms!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Darren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Gambrinus Hotel
#316 of 1,272 in Rome
1,394 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Veneto Palace Hotel
Veneto Palace Hotel
#270 of 1,272 in Rome
810 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Marcella Royal Hotel
Marcella Royal Hotel
#93 of 1,272 in Rome
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Empire Palace Hotel
Empire Palace Hotel
#273 of 1,272 in Rome
1,089 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Regno
Hotel Regno
#153 of 1,272 in Rome
1,757 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel delle Province
Hotel delle Province
#287 of 1,272 in Rome
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oxford

Address: Via Boncompagni 89, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#169 Family Hotel in Rome
#186 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#230 Business Hotel in Rome
#293 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $70 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Rome's most exclusive area, Hotel Oxford is set just behind Via Veneto and the Spanish Steps. Guest rooms feature elegant furnishings and wood or carpeted floors. Experience the real Dolce Vita in this elegant setting. The rooms come with air conditioning and a private bathroom, and some have a balcony. Apartments are also available, and are located in separate buildings in nearby Via Piave or Via Flavia. At the Oxford Hotel you have free internet Wi-Fi connection! . This family-run hotel features a snack bar and a meeting room with a capacity of 30 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oxford Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing