We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good for a short stay in Rome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Oxford
Ranked #341 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“good for a short stay in Rome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed with family in triple room. A bit cramped but good bathroom, clean, comfortable. Excellent breakfast - friendly & efficient staff. On a bus route and not far from metro so travelling about is not a problem - but walking is the only way to see Rome anyway really.
I'd rate this a really good 3* but 4* it isn't. Still ,for the price it represents very good value. I'll be staying here again.

Room Tip: Best away from ther main road - refuse collection and busses in the morning can be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank egregor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    537
    224
    61
    30
See reviews for
254
514
45
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just returned from a lovely few days in the Eternal City. The hotel was excellent with all the facilities needed for a good stay. We had a pleasant room overlooking the street, which could be a little noisy at times with bin-collections, but is in a quiet area so it is mostly fine.The room was bright and well-appointed and kept very clean, as was the whole of the hotel although there are no tea/coffee-making facilities in the room.The situation of the hotel is very good for several of the main attractions in Rome with the Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and the lovely Villa Borghese park all within walking distance (theTrevi a fairly longish walk though!) Walking towards the centre you pass several restaurants and we found one in particular that was very good, Ciao Bella. We also used the hotel's airport transfers both ways which took a lot of the stress out of this part of the trip. It is also possible to walk to the Termini from where all the tour buses operate and these are a great way to familiarise yourself with the city. Overall a great stay in a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I've just returned from my stay in Rome and I absolutely loved it! The hotel was clean, cute and the staff were friendly!l Its situated on a lovely road a few minutes walk for the Center, which was lovely as it was peaceful! But easy to access by walking! Overall we loved it and hopefully will return next year! The only downside was the wifi and TV didn't work properly but honestly who needs it when in Rome!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaclynOliveia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel is a gem. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The hotel is spotless, in fact we saw them hoovering up at least 4 times a day, The room was cleaned every day to a beautifully clean standard. The bed was very comfortable. Quiet area so no noise at night. The breakfast was great with everything you could want. Scrambled egg, bacon, croissants, fruit, cereals, fresh crusty bread, yogurt, boiled egg, cheese, ham, coffee and tea and even fruit teas and lots of juice. The bar has lovely coffee and was reasonably priced. And the location is great. 10 min walk to Spanish Steps and Villa Borghese. 20 min walk to train station. 30 min walk at the most to Colosseum. I am pretty fussy when it comes to hotels and I wouldn't hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MorrisT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

such a good location for a hotel in Rome. 10 mins walk to the Spanish steps. we walked everywhere (but there is a metro close by).

The hotel is clean and friendly. Little dated but it certainly has charm. Breakfast is fine buffet style - have had worse, and have had better.

We had a main street facing room which was surprisingly quiet. The lift is tiny so bare this in mind if you need a lift. 2 people max.

If you go right out the hotel towards the Spanish Steps & metro you would think there was not many places near by to eat/drink unless you head to the centre. However turn left and walk a couple of minutes you find an award winning pizza restaurant that is always full of locals ( a good sign) and an amazing family run ice cream shop. we ended up eating nearby every night.

have since recommended this hotel to others heading to Rome, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arch_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Arrived at the hotel and was checked in by Antonio. He was friendly and was kind enough to provide a basic map of Rome and marked out where the Hotel was and all other major attractions. He also marked out where the local bus stops/underground stations were and which buses we needed to take to go into town and how to get back to the hotel.
Room was a bit on the small side but adequate for me the two of us. The room was quite hot and the air con seemed to only blow warm air, and there was a strong varnish/paint smell (think the outside hallway had just been repainted) but we just opened the window and the sorted out both issues. There wasn't any tea/coffee making facilities inside the room and WiFi was a bit hit and miss. However, we didn't spend much time in the room so that did not concern us. The room was clean and comfortable.That was good enough for us for this long weekend trip.
Location of the hotel was good. It is situated in a clean and safe area of Rome. The American Embassy is on the same road and only 5 minutes walk away (so loads of security around!). The Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain are only 20minutes walk from the Hotel. Overall hotel was good value for money but just needs to modernise it slightly outdated decor.
TIp - if you need a taxi don't wait outside the hotel as it could take you a while. If you come out of the hotel, turn right and walk for about 5 minutes until you get to the major junction where the American Embassy is, there is a taxi rank to take you anywhere you want to go.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titus80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We arrived on a Friday mid afternoon, our room was not ready on arrival which was disappointing but they took our bags and we went to get something to eat. The main reception in small and so is the Barr area all of which are tired and need updating.

On the way to our room builders were in the corridors the carpets were up and we were getting a bit worried. However our room had recently been refurbished, nice simple decor, clean and tidy. Mini bar was ok but would have been nice to have some tea and coffee making facilities.

Shower was not very powerful, more of a dribble really! But overall bathroom was nice.

The bed was very hard, woke up aching each morning. Breakfasts were very simple, ham cheese, bread, eggs, yogurts, fresh though.

Not a four star and needs a major refurbishment but was good enough for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room, we had 250
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Gambrinus Hotel
#282 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Bailey's Hotel
Bailey's Hotel
#349 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Veneto Palace Hotel
Veneto Palace Hotel
#307 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#121 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Monti
Domus Romana Hotel
Domus Romana Hotel
#316 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oxford

Property: Hotel Oxford
Address: Via Boncompagni 89, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#183 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#230 Business Hotel in Rome
#274 Family Hotel in Rome
#294 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Rome's most exclusive area, Hotel Oxford is set just behind Via Veneto and the Spanish Steps. Guest rooms feature elegant furnishings and wood or carpeted floors. Experience the real Dolce Vita in this elegant setting. The rooms come with air conditioning and a private bathroom, and some have a balcony. Apartments are also available, and are located in separate buildings in nearby Via Piave or Via Flavia. At the Oxford Hotel you have free internet Wi-Fi connection! . This family-run hotel features a snack bar and a meeting room with a capacity of 30 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oxford Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing