We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel,would stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Oxford
Ranked #333 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“lovely hotel,would stay again”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

lovely hotel,not far from where all the exciting adventure starts.We walked everywhere.Nice breakfast.Very clean,friendly staff.Will go there again.Staff spoke good English and where there to assist you,with tours and tickets.We stayed at the Oxford after recommendations from friends.We went for 3 nights in early September 2012.We loved Rome and the hotel.We will get there again. Maria T .Melbourne

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    543
    226
    61
    30
See reviews for
256
518
46
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was booked through BA as part of a four day deal and it did not disappoint. It is in a safe area about a ten minute walk from Via Veneto and the Metro. The hotel is clean and welcoming and the superior room we were allocated on the second floor was spacious with good facilities including a room safe and satellite TV. Guests were quiet and there were no nocturnal comings and goings and the road outside proved no problem. Breakfasts are first rate with a wide selection on offer, served in a pleasant dining room. It wasn't cheap but I guess you get what you pay for. Don't be put off by those who say it's a little out of the way as within the city walls everywhere is within walking distance if you have the time. The Colloseum is about 45 minutes away at a reasonable pace, or six stops on the underground; the Vatican about 60 minutes stroll in the other direction. Overall a lovely little find that served our needs well.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor at the front of the hotel in a superior room. It was difficult to find f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finbar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Oxford for five nights at the end of September for our Wedding Anniversary. The Hotel was very good. It had a nice Feel to it and we both felt pleased with our choice after spending a long time searching for a Hotel for this trip. The room was excellent on the first floor with views out top the main road. The Windows where very well sound proofed, but also easily opened in the morning to give that authentic City feeling of Life and Business happening right outside. Very clean and well kept, could not fault anything in this area. Breakfast was well stocked and held in a pleasent dinning room. Wifi was ok, but only available in two common areas of the Hotel. However it was free ! Tried a Skype call , but it failed, was not a strong enough Signal or perhaps the bandwidth was the problem. The Hotel was a short walk from the Spanish Steps, and for us all Sights where within Walking distance including the Train Station where we arrived. Only at the end of the day did we occasionally get a Taxi ( 10 Euro's from the Pantheon ) and a Bus 1.5 Euro's for a 100 mins of use. There is a good restaurant just 50m or so on turning left out of the Hotel. Its a basement place. This was good food and priced ok. As far as the Hotel is concerned I would recommend it as it has all the requirements for a pleasent stay in Rome.

Room Tip: Room facing the main Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeDeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely time at this Hotel. The staff were excellent and at breakfast the waitress went out of her way to get us items not on the menu. The reception staff gave us a map of Rome and highlighted the attractions and best routes etc. room was comfortable and very clean. We will go back.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MKcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We previously stayed here 6 years ago and I gave this hotel a great review in 2006. As we did then, we stayed in the apartments. Things got off to a good start with the staff being very welcoming and arranging to take our bags up to our apartment. The apartment we stayed in was disappointing this time around for a number of reasons. Firstly there was just no information about the hotel and its facilities in the aparatment at all. The main problem, however, was that the bathroom had a very bad smell. When we arrived we were told the apartments would not be serviced (although this was included when we booked) and there was no iron/ironing board. When we enquired at reception we were told irons were a fire hazard! Once during our stay the electricity failed, when advised the hotel did send someone up immediately and they reste the cardboard that was being used in lieu of a keycard to turn the electricty on. The apartment had two air conditioners, one near the bathroom we left off due to the smell, the other one worked well but was noisy. The cutlery and crockery in the apartment had been washed but it was greasy.

Last time we visited we ate quite a few nights in the restaurant and the emals were great. This time around the menu was very limited and the staff member serving was not not particularly hospitable. This is a great pity and I think the apartments are located in a good area, quite close to the Via Veneto.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westernsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
401 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

A friend recommended this hotel....I now know that we don't have the same taste. I booked an apartment that was described as connected to the hotel. It sounded like a larger comfortable living arrangement. It was four blocks away from the main building!!!! The apt. was in a residential building, second floor with three locked doors to get in and out of each time. We didn't use the "kitchen" and the washing machine in the bathroom was a bit much to walk around. While the price was right, it was clean and not convenient at all. A 20 minute walk to the closest Metro station, down hill in the morning was OK but up hill after a day of walking Rome was exhausting. Taxi was the clear choice at the end of the day. We received one towel each with no linen service (I found out later that it was a extra charge). The staff at the desk were OK but I really cannot comment on the hotel itself because we weren't in it or near it!!! Be careful if you book "the apartment". For two nights we stayed and endured it. We would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy011351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We booked through BA and stayed 4 nights. Room was modern with a quiet courtyard. Aircon was great. Breakfasts were excellant with lots of choice but were busy when we went after 9:00. Barstaff were friendly. As for location it is a 15 walk from the first sights although there are cabs a plenty. Would possibly stay again in the future.

Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Gambrinus Hotel
#281 of 1,291 in Rome
1,324 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Bailey's Hotel
Bailey's Hotel
#348 of 1,291 in Rome
693 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#123 of 1,291 in Rome
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Veneto Palace Hotel
Veneto Palace Hotel
#307 of 1,291 in Rome
736 reviews
Monti
Domus Romana Hotel
Domus Romana Hotel
#310 of 1,291 in Rome
788 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oxford

Property: Hotel Oxford
Address: Via Boncompagni 89, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#178 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#230 Business Hotel in Rome
#274 Family Hotel in Rome
#294 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Rome's most exclusive area, Hotel Oxford is set just behind Via Veneto and the Spanish Steps. Guest rooms feature elegant furnishings and wood or carpeted floors. Experience the real Dolce Vita in this elegant setting. The rooms come with air conditioning and a private bathroom, and some have a balcony. Apartments are also available, and are located in separate buildings in nearby Via Piave or Via Flavia. At the Oxford Hotel you have free internet Wi-Fi connection! . This family-run hotel features a snack bar and a meeting room with a capacity of 30 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oxford Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing