We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Hotel - good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Oxford
Ranked #338 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly Hotel - good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2008

Me and my partner stayed in the Oxford hotel on a short 2 night city break, have always wanted to go to Rome and was not disappointed!

This hotel is lovely, great location, really close to the metro, Trevi Fountain and spanish steps!

The staff are friendly, the hotel rooms are very small but clean....we found our bathroom behind a sliding door which i thought was a wardrobe! Breakfast was plentiful if you like cold meats and cheese in the mornings my partner just opted for coffee!!
The bar staff are so friendly bringing over drinks and completmentry crisps/nuts.

All in all had a lovely but tiring break!

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — View from room and the tiny lift
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    545
    226
    61
    31
See reviews for
257
519
46
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2008

Stayed at the Hotel Oxford for the Italy V England 6 Nations Game!

Firstly, if you are a fan of Rugby it has to be one of the best atmospheres you can experience. Rome welcomes Rugby supporters with arms open, and is an amazing experience.

The hotel is located a stones throw away from some of the nicest restaurants in the city, and has a small and cosy feel to it.

The rooms are, in some cases, tiny! And I mean tiny! However if it is just a base to dump the bags and have a sleep then it's fine. It is also a quiet place, so little disturbance from outside.

The rooms are clean, neat as is the hotel. The staff are friendly, and it has a great bar to have a drink in.

All in all, a good base to stay and explore from.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SDJames1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2008

We have just returned from Rome . Having stayed at the
Oxford Hotel . The hotel was clean and whilst the food was
modest the restaraunt was clean and the breakfast plenty .
Although we did ask for bacon and eggs [sooo English ] however
the bacon was smoked and the eggs greasy !
The bedrooms were a little small but the beds were larger than a
king, possibly a queen .
The staff were all very helpfull and pleasant .
On the whole the Oxford made a great base and we would stay there again .

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank newtravellerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2007

The Hotel Oxford was brilliant - the minute we walked in we were treated like stars. While they processed our booking we were invited to sit and have drinks at the bar - with a complimentary bowl of nuts. The room itself had a nice view, had internet and tv (for a price, but good value if you're on the internet most of the time, like my husband). The breakfast was nice and we had dinner one night in the restaurant. It's not particularly close to transport but we did manage to walk there from the central train station with 12kg backpacks.
I would highly recommend it.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kath19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, NSW
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2007

This would have to be the smallest hotel room on record but we could not fault the cleanliness or comfort and how long do you really spend in your hotel room. The hotel is in a very quiet part of the city and it is a decent walk to anywhere but Rome is a very easy city to get around on foot. The staff were very helpful at all times and breakfast was good. We would highly recommend the hop-on, hop-off bus tour you can catch quite close to the hotel. There are quite a few good restaurants close by without paying the top prices on the via Veneto.

  • Disliked — Tiny room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CLL040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2007

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel and were very impressed by the standard on offer. There were three of us in our room, which although quite small and did not have a view, was very clean.

The hotel staff themselves were very friendly and only happy to assist you whether it be at breakfast, over a drink in the bar or whilst dining in the evening. Via veneto is most expensive for food so be careful. We tended to eat at the hotel as the food was excellent and very reasonably priced. The hotel is about 20 minutes from the trevi fountian and the spanish steps, but within the city it is very easy to access all attractions whether it be by taking a long walk or using the buses or metro. We purchased a metro day pass for 4 euros.

I would definitely stay at the hotel Oxford again, one tip I would like to pass on is that rooms do not have a kettle so bring your own coffee and t bags and simply ask at the bar for a jug of hot water and some milk, they will even provide the cups, this is completely free and you can take it to your room and enjoy that well deserved cuppa

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandJoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Oxford August 2007. We walked from the main Train Station and it only took us about 15 minutes.
When we checked into the hotel the man at the front desk was very helpful. He gave us maps and Tour options Etc.
After check in we decided to use the elevator. We all barely fit.
The three of us with are luggage squeezed in this elevator and had a good laugh on the way up.
The rooms was nice. Because there was three of us we did have a larger room than other people in the hotel. I found that all rooms in Europe were pretty small no matter where you were.
The rooms were clean, comfortable and had a full bath.
It was perfect.
The hotel Location was great. It was just down the road from the main street, where there was lost of restaurants and shopping.
It was very safe. We walked everywhere in Rome and we never encountered any problems.
I definitly recommned this hotel.

  • Liked — Location and great service
  • Disliked — Small elevator
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank spiritk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Gambrinus Hotel
#297 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Bailey's Hotel
Bailey's Hotel
#357 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#124 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Domus Romana Hotel
Domus Romana Hotel
#317 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Veneto Palace Hotel
Veneto Palace Hotel
#315 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oxford

Property: Hotel Oxford
Address: Via Boncompagni 89, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#180 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#230 Business Hotel in Rome
#274 Family Hotel in Rome
#294 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Rome's most exclusive area, Hotel Oxford is set just behind Via Veneto and the Spanish Steps. Guest rooms feature elegant furnishings and wood or carpeted floors. Experience the real Dolce Vita in this elegant setting. The rooms come with air conditioning and a private bathroom, and some have a balcony. Apartments are also available, and are located in separate buildings in nearby Via Piave or Via Flavia. At the Oxford Hotel you have free internet Wi-Fi connection! . This family-run hotel features a snack bar and a meeting room with a capacity of 30 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oxford Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing