We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family run hotel Rome”
Review of La Residenza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Residenza
Ranked #313 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations, the staff spoke English and were very helpful. The receptionist / manager was very helpful when one of our tours was cancelled. The location is very central for all the main attractions of Rome. Our room was spacious and airy very comfortable for sleeping. Breakfast was generous and varied. Overall a thoroughly stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeggyClonlara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
There are newer reviews for La Residenza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 465 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here whilst in Rome last October and are hoping to return again this year. Lovely hotel, friendly, helpful staff and beautiful breakfasts included in the price. Also very close to all the sights of Rome. Wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at La Residenza and have thoroughly enjoyed both visits. The hotel is neat and clean with comfortable beds. The breakfasts were included in our rate and the food was very good with a variety of choices. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful and know the city well offering good tips on how to avoid the long lines. The hotel also has a full service bar and we used it one night to have some wine in the comfortable lobby while planning our evening events. The hotel is in a good location within walking distance to Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, and Bourghese Gardins. There are also a number of good restaurants close by on Via Vittorio Veneto. It is also close to the Barbareni station so you can take the subway to the Coloseum and Vatican. According to the manager, the hotel started as a private residence around 1914 and became a hotel around 1936, The decor is old world charming. The only drawback which is not their fault is that there are a couple of clubs on the same street and the patrons can become a bit loud at closing time if your room faces the street and you have the window open. A/C is not usually turned on until mid-May. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Loved our recent stay at La Residenza in Rome.

Location; Important when you go to Rome. 20 min walk to landmarks like the Colosseum, Forum, Pantheon, and the main Termini Train Station. 10 min walk to Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, and Bourgese Gardens/Museum. It's a much farther walk (30-40 mins) to the Vatican, but it's 5 mins to the nearest metro/subway stop. For 1.50 Euro, the metro takes you outside the Vatican.

Hotel: Huge, lobby including several off-shoot rooms each with comfy sofas and chairs to entertain or chat at the end of the day. Large reception desk for checkin/checkout.

Staff: Friendly, helpful, and English-speaking of course.

Room: We paid a little extra to get a Jr Suite and we were not disappointed. We may have been given a full suite instead. Either way, the room was huge. Many Jr and Full suites have balconies (ours did). Internet is free in the lobby, but in the room, you need to pay a fee to get a router in the room. It's a one-time fee for your stay, not a daily fee. With the router, internet worked great. Jr/Full suites all have large modern bathrooms, with plenty of amenities: soaps, shampoos, hair dryer, robes, etc.

Breakfast: Best breakfast I've ever seen! Largest of any I've been to, the most options, and the entire display is jaw-dropping. The main breakfast room is off the lobby down a few steps into a large room. As you head down the stairs, you see this amazing canopy'd table of cold and hot foods, juices, fruits, pastries. As you walk in, you see a huge grill where they cook up all kinds of hot foods and keep the coffee warm. The whole setup is stunning.

Nice Touch: The room key is attached to a very heavy brass key ring. But it's okay, because they prefer that you leave the heavy key with them when you leave for the day. That's how they know you're out and have the maids tidy up the room. When we'd go out for the evenings, we'd come back to find the beds turned down with chocolates on the pillows. First class.

Only negative is that it's on a small sidestreet. Not on a main drag, but easy enough to find if you map it out ahead of time. Because it's not immediately near any of the main landmarks, don't expect views of the famous landmarks. But the hotel itself is top-notch.

We loved it and we'll definitely stay here again if/when we return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Jr Suite ... not much more expensive, and you'll appreciate the size.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SD-Traveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

This is the third time we have been to the La Residenza. It still has its old world charm. The public sitting rooms are beautiful. The breakfast is outstanding, with a choice of many meats and cheeses. If you ask, they will make you fresh eggs. The staff is very personable and accommodating.

I got the feel that the hotel may be run by MBA's from the chain. The quality of the soap and shampoo is inferior. One of two lightbulbs were missing from a lighting fixture, which was quiclly rectified by the front desk. The cups in the bathroom were plastic, and were not replaced when we discarded the used cups. These are little things that we did not notice when we stayed there twice before.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room in the back of the hotel, where it is absolutely quiet. The rooms in fr...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

the location is great
breakfast is good
all the rest was not good - to say the least
room is old, the bathroom is terrible- mold all over
A/C is not working properly
staff - some were not helpful at all

Room Tip: as high as posible
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eran m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We spent 4 nights at La Residenza April 19-23, 2014. We had also stayed there in 2010, which was the main reason we went back and didn't even think twice about looking for another hotel. We had a Junior Suite on the second floor. Large room, even by U.S. standards, with a large bathroom (tub/shower, large sink, toilet, heated towel racks, robes, nice towels, hair dryer and even a bidet). The room also had a separate sitting area with a large couch and chair. The bed was huge. I would say it was two standard beds pushed together but it was longer than a standard and definitely bigger than a king! Good lighting in the room for reading. And everything worked. I know everything should work but how often do you get a room and the shower drains slow, or the wifi doesn't work, or other things that aren't quite right. At La Residenza everyting was right! The shower was a great big, round rain type shower head that was wonderful to stand under. I did feel a bit wasteful since it put out a bunch of water but I still thoroughly enjoyed it. The room had plenty of power outlets available to charge all your electronics, camera batteries, ipad phones, etc. So the room itself gets a 10.
The morning breakfast was outstanding. You could get fried or scrambled eggs cooked to order. There was fresh fruit, assorted meats, pastries, cereal, juice, coffee, espresso, breads, a whole, huge center table that should satisfy any appetite.
Now the above and beyond part of our stay. The hotel staff was absolutely, positively wonderful. I can't say enough about their professionalism, responses to any request, and their personal service that made our stay, and the two other couples we were with, more than we could have ever hoped for. We were given dining suggestions and when we said, "Yes, we'll try them" our reservations were made and the restaurant's name and address were written down on a little form for us to have. If the suggested restaurant was not within easy walking distance a cab was called for us at the appropriate time so we could easily make our reservation. This personal service went on each and every day and the person at the front desk during the day (unfortunately I forgot to get his name before we left) was always very gracious and seemed to genuinely want to help us and make our stay the best it could be. One afternoon after a guided tour of the Vatican, we came back to the hotel and asked about going to the Catacombs. Since we had six people he said he had a friend, a licensed driver that could take us but he would have to see if he was available. It turned out he was available and Valentino, the driver, had a very nice van large enough for all six of us. He even took us to a couple places on the way to the Catacombs that were very interesting but probably few tourists ever see. These extra stops were done at no extra charge. Valentino waited for us while we toured the Catacombs and returned us to the hotel. The trip to and from the Catacombs ended up being less expensive than taking two separate taxis plus we didn't have to call for a taxi when we wanted to return. Valentino was there waiting. This is just one example of how La Residenza went above and beyond to make our visit the best ever.
And we did make use of the very nice common areas which were like several individual rooms that made a nice visiting area for our group.
Thank you La Residenza, we shall return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigODallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#165 of 1,267 in Rome
1,336 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Ottocento
Albergo Ottocento
#263 of 1,267 in Rome
621 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#267 of 1,267 in Rome
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Degli Artisti
Hotel Degli Artisti
#33 of 1,267 in Rome
187 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Berg Luxury Hotel
Berg Luxury Hotel
#258 of 1,267 in Rome
603 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Ludovisi Palace
Hotel Ludovisi Palace
#354 of 1,267 in Rome
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residenza

Address: Via Emilia 22-24, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#169 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#174 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#185 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $141 - $646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Residenza 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your La Residenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residenza Hotel Rome
La Residenza Rome
Residenza Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing