We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel for a week in Rome”
Review of La Residenza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Residenza
Ranked #318 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“excellent hotel for a week in Rome”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Excellent hotel for a visit to Rome. Very comfortable and clean room. Service excellent, very polite and helpful. Huge, comfortable bed. Up a hill and a flight of steps from Barberini Metro but just off main bus route. Buses 63 and 83 really saved our legs! Alternatively a 10 minute walk from Spagna metro. Best to use the buses as they are very convenient and run regularly. Good selection of hot and cold food for breakfast and can be taken until 10.30. Umbrella came in handy!

Very convenient to get into the centre. Also lots of local restaurants nearby on Via Veneto. Mainly Italian but also Hard Rock Cafe.

Barberini wine bar Enotica highly recommended - just two stops on the bus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    142
    45
    13
    14
See reviews for
115
197
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We approached our arrival with trepidation , having booked a non refundable 3 night stay after reviewing trip advisor, only to see a new, terrible review one day before our arrival. We are pleased to say that review was unfair and inaccurate.
Hotel staff has been welcoming and accommodating , our triple room spacious and well equipped, and the famed breakfast , with eggs cooked to order, delightful. Yes, there is a problem with wi fi, but don't let that turn you away from this gem. Unplug, instead, and enjoy this affordable, congenial and very well located gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have been traveling for over 30 years and have never written a negative review, but felt compelled to write one of this snooty, pompous, and stuck-up hotel. The front desk staff are arrogant, pretentious and snobbish. The Hotel itself was pretty and well kept, except for bathroom which was in need of obvious repair. The major problem was the from the moment I walked into the hotel and on an ongoing daily basis, instead of making our family feel welcome, they have the attitude that they are doing you a favor to even let you stay there. Who needs that, especially with such a high daily rate? By the way, although they advertise that they have internet access, we had it for about 3 hours our entire stay. They were rude about that issue also, and merely brushed us off saying that they have "technical problems" and so what? So, if you need internet access, you will have to visit one of the friendlier hotels or restaurants and try your luck there. When we got a chance to walk around the area, we found so many other nicer hotels in the area, and therefore I don't know why anyone would want to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CommackCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Neighborhood gem. Nice and quaint location. Decent rooms and clean. Great value for the money. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone. They also have a nice breakfast with eggs to order which is hard to find in Italy. Perfect for families or a couple with a balcony room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchNY123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this beautiful little hotel. The desk staff were extremely helpful for our first trip to Rome. Our room was lovely with a king size bed and large bathroom with a bath. The decor of the hotel is delightful and the breakfast with the linen tablecloths and sterling silver teapots was another delightful surprise. We also had dinner across the road both nights which we could highly recommend. We enjoy walking when on holidays and wandered to the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and Pantheon from our accommodation. When we return to Rome we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargH56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I would highly recommend La Residenza which is near the Barberini Metro Station. My husband and I stayed for one night on our honeymoon before we left for the port of Civitavecchia. It's a beautiful hotel and we loved our clean, large comfortable room and bathroom. They provided a delicious, traditional Italian breakfast the next morning. It's right in the heart of the historic city of Rome so you can walk the cobblestone streets in search of the Trevi Fountain or stroll through Villa Borghese park. Will definitely stay here when we visit Rome again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Tucked away just off the Via Veneto, La Residenza is in a great location to visit the sights.
Found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Room decent size by European standards and although not perfect (The bathroom ceiling had some flaky paint), it was spotlessly clean and had huge, comfy bed. Hotel also provided complimentary bowl of fruit. There are coffee/tea making facilities in the room but you do need to pay for the drinks.
A great breakfast buffet with large selection of both hot and cold food - really sets you up for the day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minijools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Albergo Ottocento
Albergo Ottocento
#263 of 1,257 in Rome
609 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Ludovisi Palace
Hotel Ludovisi Palace
#348 of 1,257 in Rome
604 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#274 of 1,257 in Rome
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#165 of 1,257 in Rome
1,299 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Imperiale
Hotel Imperiale
#264 of 1,257 in Rome
954 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#177 of 1,257 in Rome
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residenza

Property: La Residenza
Address: Via Emilia 22-24, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#172 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#174 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#185 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Residenza 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Residenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residenza Hotel Rome
La Residenza Rome
Residenza Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing