We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“satisfying”
Review of Hotel King, Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel King, Roma
Ranked #693 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I got later from local that 3 stars in Italy means 2 stars :) it's true. Location is great-just few steps till Spanish steps, 3 minutes till metro station Barberini.Walking distance Trevi Fontain, via de corso and many other places.Personal -nice, in the beginning they seemed rude, but later-very lovely, not very helpful sometimes with some information, but i survived.Well i must say again negative thing-about breakfast(but everyone tells me it typical for Italian hotels like this)-very poor , only bread cheese, bacon, tea, coffee, honey and some jams, croissant, some dry cake, milk 2 kind of cereal. Well in other 3 star hotels i had much richer breakfasts :)
It was very clean! they were cleaning daily :)
generally i'm satisfied, i don't regret

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ekatérina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 646 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed in the Hotel King in mid-November 2012. For the cost, I thought it was a real bargain, especially given the cost of lodging in Rome. My room was clean and comfortable (and Euro-small). The staff generally spoke English, and were friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were better than I expected. Of course, the real attraction of this place is the wonderful location. I like to walk in any city, and I never felt unsafe anywhere around the hotel. There are many easily walkable places nearby, such as the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Via Venetto. And the subway is really close. The bottom line is that I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel is located in a very touristy area of Rome. It is a few steps away from the Tivoli fountain and is about a 30 second walk from the Metro stop Barberini which is also the stop for the Trevi fountain. The area is well lit, and the cafes seem be open 24/7 as there is a constant flow of tourists to keep them going. Buses run through the area 24 hours a day and taxis are abundant around the fountain if needed.
The restaurants that I tried in the area were a bit pricey but the food was excellent.
The staff at the hotel were friendly, and even though the entrance to the hotel is not grand it is a well kept modern hotel. The elevator works, the hallways were clean and the carpeted areas were not worn out. The bar on the first floor had spacious sofas and the barman was happy to allow me to stay in there sending emails on my laptop long after he had closed the bar and left. I didn't eat in the bar as the restaurants of Rome were too tempting. However the breakfast was continental - croissants or toast and excellent coffee. Cereal and juices were available too.
The single room I stayed in was clean with a working A/c and heating. The windows had external blinds which were easy to operate. The toilet was cleaned daily, the shower had hot water, and the bed was comfortable. There was a safe in the room and a closet. The free WiFi Internet worked in my room on the fourth floor even though I was told it might not, the connection was good.
Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel is located near Spanish steps. Excellent location. Rome is an expensive city. This place is not cheap but decent value for the location. But the room is very dirty and old. I would pay a little more for a better place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alanhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Although location is excellent, it seems that the rooms were recently renovated at 1975 or so. The furniture is old, the matress was very-very-old, and the bathroom was poor, with mold signs everywhere, and not convenient at all.
There are nice restaurants and other shops/kiosks around the Hotel.
The corridor was sometimes noisy, mainly because of ignorant guests, that kept talking loudly.
The other facilities of the Hotel are good: the lobby, the roof terrace, the free Wi-Fi connection, the breakfast dining room.

Room Tip: Don't expect anything ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsavion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I've just come back from a short stay in Rome. we stayed in the kings hotel and it did us fine, im not saying its five star, its basic, but as tourists that was all we needed. our room especially had a good shower, and all other facilities were adequate. Breakfast was great, you has the bare minimum out on display like cereals and croissants , but there was also the option to ask for eggs and other things.This hotel is right in the heart of Rome which was perfect for us as we walked everywhere! when you first arrive you don't think you'll find anything but you soon get to know the place. the staff were very friendly, and people in general, but Rome is very expensive, and you need to keep your options open and watch out for people ripping you off! Some things seem a little steep, like tours around the Vatican city, but i would recommend them if you don't really know what your doing. All in all, if your looking for one of the cheapest and easiest ways to see some of the most amazing sites, this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sl_lG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Room is very dated. No safe. No true shower - only a hand held. Maids were very loud in the hallway very early in the morning. Cannot get additional towels even if you ask for them. Rug is ancient and dirty. Amazing location at the top of the Spanish steps. You are paying for the location and sacrificing everything else.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EAtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Elite Hotel
#385 of 1,272 in Rome
172 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Sistina
Hotel Sistina
#695 of 1,272 in Rome
242 reviews
Colonna
City Hotel
City Hotel
#507 of 1,272 in Rome
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#604 of 1,272 in Rome
595 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Cinquantatre
Hotel Cinquantatre
#461 of 1,272 in Rome
412 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#342 of 1,272 in Rome
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel King, Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel King, Roma

Address: Via Sistina 131, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #693 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $82 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel King, Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with rooftop terrace and gardens, situated in the old city center near Piazza di Spagna and exclusive shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel King, Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing