We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medium and down”
Review of Hotel King, Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel King, Rome
Ranked #708 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Medium and down”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Although location is excellent, it seems that the rooms were recently renovated at 1975 or so. The furniture is old, the matress was very-very-old, and the bathroom was poor, with mold signs everywhere, and not convenient at all.
There are nice restaurants and other shops/kiosks around the Hotel.
The corridor was sometimes noisy, mainly because of ignorant guests, that kept talking loudly.
The other facilities of the Hotel are good: the lobby, the roof terrace, the free Wi-Fi connection, the breakfast dining room.

Room Tip: Don't expect anything ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsavion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    185
    181
    79
    98
See reviews for
129
221
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I've just come back from a short stay in Rome. we stayed in the kings hotel and it did us fine, im not saying its five star, its basic, but as tourists that was all we needed. our room especially had a good shower, and all other facilities were adequate. Breakfast was great, you has the bare minimum out on display like cereals and croissants , but there was also the option to ask for eggs and other things.This hotel is right in the heart of Rome which was perfect for us as we walked everywhere! when you first arrive you don't think you'll find anything but you soon get to know the place. the staff were very friendly, and people in general, but Rome is very expensive, and you need to keep your options open and watch out for people ripping you off! Some things seem a little steep, like tours around the Vatican city, but i would recommend them if you don't really know what your doing. All in all, if your looking for one of the cheapest and easiest ways to see some of the most amazing sites, this hotel is perfect.

Room Tip: the beds are always clean , but our bathroom especially was a little grotty , and had seen better da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sl_lG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Room is very dated. No safe. No true shower - only a hand held. Maids were very loud in the hallway very early in the morning. Cannot get additional towels even if you ask for them. Rug is ancient and dirty. Amazing location at the top of the Spanish steps. You are paying for the location and sacrificing everything else.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EAtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in August 2011 and it is in a central location near barberini metro station. The staff were very helpful and breakfast was good too. The rooms were cleaned every day during the morning. Free WIFI. Check out is at 11am or 12am but there is a room in which they can keep your luggage in case your flight is in the evening so we could enjoy our last day in rome.

The only downside was that I had booked my stay four months before my stay. Later I had to extend my holiday by one night. The last night was booked only about one month before and was cheaper than the other nights.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariosal026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The staff were very friendly, and very helpful with my many enquiries. Although the rooms are quite worn looking, it was probably expected for the price. A good continental breakfast was included which included ham, cheese, cereals and fruit. I found the bar a great asset, as I was travelling alone and I met some wonderful tourists and have many great memories. It is an easy 5 minute walk to the Spanish steps and an easy 10 minute walk to the Trevi fountain. Great restaurants right near hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smeagol5482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiryat atta, israel
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

the hotel is in an old building, there is no lobby, the rooms are difrent by the size and by there condition, we had 3 rooms so we could compare, one room had balkony but not a bathtub, the other room had bathtub but not a balkony...brakefast is very simple and basic, the best thing in this hotel is the location ! it is in a short walking distance from all the main atraction and also from public transportation

Room Tip: rooms 401 and 405 have balkony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mosaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and i stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in July 2012. We were initially allocated room 205 but the staining on the walls and ceilings and the mould growth in the bathroom caused us to complain . We were then allocated room 213. This room was slightly better but the decor, furniture and fittings were all very dingy. An additional feature of room 213 were the bars on the windows!.
The breakfast area is very small and if you go at a busy time you will find groups of people gathering around the coffee dispenser . I didn't see any hot coffee being spilled in the crush but i can imagine it very easily happening.
I've posted pictures but I also took a video of the rooms and this gives a much better idea. If you want to see the video just send me your email address.
The staff were very nice but I feel the hotel lets them down
Staying here was not a pleasure.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank disgruntled01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Sistina
Hotel Sistina
#679 of 1,258 in Rome
224 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Garda
Hotel Garda
#574 of 1,258 in Rome
324 reviews
Trevi
Nuovo Hotel Quattro Fontane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#681 of 1,258 in Rome
573 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Cinquantatre
Hotel Cinquantatre
#450 of 1,258 in Rome
396 reviews
Trevi
Hotel De Petris
Hotel De Petris
#500 of 1,258 in Rome
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel King, Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel King, Rome

Property: Hotel King, Rome
Address: Via Sistina 131, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #708 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel King, Rome 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with rooftop terrace and gardens, situated in the old city center near Piazza di Spagna and exclusive shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel King, Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing